How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 1:10 am

Was asleep at 6:30 last night.
Up at 4am and back to work. A cool change has come through, 30 top with 4mm of rain, heaps less flies at last. You wouldn't believe how thick tbey get here.

Had cereal on the plane and have eaten various salads, 3 boiled eggs and some silverside.

8k moderate pace run and an Alcohol Free Day. It's 7:30 and I'm in bed watching the footy.

Going to try and string a few of these AFD's together.

Cheers! Those oysters sound good Smile

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:33 pm

15k run....... it's fugen hard not to have a drink after that game today.

But I'm sticking, AFD #2.

Diet is easy on-site. 2 poached eggs, mushrooms & fried tomatoes for breakfast. Some cold meat and salads for smoko/lunch. Couple of apples, a banana & a mandarine.
Dinner was a big pile of veges with a lamb shank & a pork chop. Good 10+ litres of water and a couple of litres of aqualyte.

In bed soon, asleep by 8:30, up at 4 and do it all again tomorrow.

12 weeks to GC16.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:30 am

Well, AFD #4 is here...... i don't feel any different?

Slow 6k last night. Doing a 15k moderate pace tonight. Eating slipped a bit yesterday, had 4 shortbread cream biscuits at smoko & a can of coke with the BBQ lunch. Only had a banana for dinner though.
Have run 70k so far this month, target is 210k minimum.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:18 am

AFD #5...... I must say, I am sleeping better (not getting up for a piss).

Eating was excellent yesterday, the usual eggs, mushrooms & tomato breakfast. Smoko/lunch (why do we call it smoko? I haven't had a ciggy for almost 9 years) was the usual green salads and cold meat plus a small pasta salad. Dinner was a plate of veg with 2 little slices of roast lamb. Apples, banana & Orange.

Punched out the 15k at a solid pace and was in bed at 8:30.
3 sleeps til fly out day.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:06 am

Well done, I find my sleep and mood improve heaps when I'm not drinking. As for the running, a 2k run leaves my knees screaming at me so I'll just have to admire those accomplisments from afar Laughing

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:14 am

Cheers mate.

I used to have a bit of trouble with my knees and tennis elbow. Got on the fish oil & glucosamine supplements and they're as good as new.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:36 pm

Wink

Last edited by think positive on Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:37 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:57 am

I weakend. They legs were a bit sore after 5 straight days of running soI decided to have a rest night.
After my shower I wandered down to the wetty to play the Batman pinny (I still love these things & the old pinball wizard has still got it Smile).
Had 4 stubs of Coopers Mild & a bag of pork crackle.
I feel fantastic this morning.

It's an 8km run with 8 400m efforts tonight and back to AFD #1.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:32 pm

Wokko wrote:
Well done, I find my sleep and mood improve heaps when I'm not drinking. As for the running, a 2k run leaves my knees screaming at me so I'll just have to admire those accomplisments from afar Laughing

I find my sleep and mood improves heaps when I AM drinking. Razz

As far as running goes, I used to be able to do pretty good middle distance running when I was young but only when I zoned out while I was doing it. Same as undergoing a root canal. Wink

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:35 pm

Yes, it is much the same.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:37 pm

Did the 8k with 8 x 400's. Eaten really well today, screw the AFD, I'm having a few tonight.
If I can have 2-3 days off the beer a week I'll be happy.... it's just too yummy Smile

partypie 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:05 pm

Did the 8k with 8 x 400's. Eaten really well today, screw the AFD, I'm having a few tonight.
If I can have 2-3 days off the beer a week I'll be happy.... it's just too yummy Smile

Before she got dementia my mum told me that her colleagues at St Vincent's recommended at least two afds a week (her dementia wasn't alcohol related by the way).

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:13 pm

Did an awesome 12k run tonight. Included my fastest 10k since y back injury & I feel as strong as a bull!..... Could it be the 4 alcohol free days this week or is it just the fact that I'm a big powerful machine? ....... hmmmm, time will tell.

No BBQ tonight, we had some live music at the wetty, some chick who sounded like one of the chipmunks..... she let loose with a Taylor Swift song and that was enough for me.... watching blokes in their 20's sing along to the chorus almost made me puke!

6 Coopers Mild, some finger food for dinner and I'm ready to hit the hay.

Outa here tomorrow. ... BOOM😊 30K run Monday, I'm on fire rite now!!!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 1:23 pm

The last few weeks have been good without being great.
Had a bit of a niggle in my left knee when I was home for R & R so skipped the 30k run and just did a couple (5k & 10k) soft sand runs on the beach. A 14k medium pace road run rounded out what pretty much ended up being a recovery week. AFDs?? Well I've struggled in that department lately, 3 cartons plus numerous pints and schooners during the break.

Back at work since Friday & it's been a good swing so far, except for the bull!

Sunday after work I decided to do a slow 8k, stopping after 4 and doing my breathing excercises. I was getting right into it as the sun set into the red dirt distance.
Now I can make some pretty weird noises when I'm doing this breathing and sometimes have a few kangaroos, emus or dingoes as an audience. Tonight was going to be slightly different.

I had heard cattle in this low lying area before, must be a bit of water still laying around. Just as I was on the last exhale a louder than usual moo boomed from the scrub. I turned and saw a calf that could of only been weeks, if not days old then, from behind the little fella, a giant beast with massive horns came charging towardds me..... SHIT!
I started running and after about 100m, looked back to see this monster gainning on me!
I don't know how much longer he chased me as I dodged through the scrub at almost 20km/h (GPS watch check after) because I didn't look back for another kilometre!

One of the scariest moments I've ever had! I won't be running that section anymore.

Just over 9 weeks to GCM16.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:53 pm

Hahahaha

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 11 of 17