How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:37 pm

Well I've been smashin' the k's out trendsetters. Did almost 200km last month and tonight, my last (11th) night on site I pushed out a 22k in just over 2hrs. A pretty average pace 5:48 per k, but considering it got to 40 here today and was still hovering around 38 when I set off, I'm pretty happy with that.

Beer wise, well I'm on my 6th stubby now, that'll be it, I'm stuffed.
Have probably drunk a carton and a half this swing. Tomorrow is guna be messy, I've only got 3 days at home before coming back and I'll be crackin' a jacks at 8am.

Dangles 

Balmey Army

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:02 pm

Sounds like you're burning the candle at both ends, Skids. Although your journal makes for an amusing and interesting read, I hope you don't have a heart attack.
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:25 pm

Sounds like the candle ain't alone either......! Wink Very Happy
Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 9:51 am

Dangles wrote:
Sounds like you're burning the candle at both ends, Skids. Although your journal makes for an amusing and interesting read, I hope you don't have a heart attack.

I reckon the blokes who are 20+kg overweight, smoke, eat shit and go straight to the wetty every night are more likely to have one.
I'm a finely tuned machine and alcohol is a part of my fuel.

Yesterday was a blow out. I drank three Jacks on the plane on the way home. Landed in Perth at 9:20am. The missus was waiting in the carpark with 2 Rogers on ice.
Straight out to the shed for a couple of cones. Was in the pool and just chillin' with the puppy all day.
Had around 15 beers and finished the day with a porterhouse, 2 lamb chops and salad for dinner.

In bed at 6:30pm.

Having a coffe now, I feel great! Tipping the scales at just over 93kg.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:15 pm

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2014/apr/23/how-does-alcohol-affect-athletic-performance

or even the basics

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-term_effects_of_alcohol_consumption

hey, anyone of us could get hit by a bus tomorrow,

but if you really do consume that much alcohol, and run all those kilometres, don't kid yourself, your health is on borrowed time

I admit, I don't read these posts often now, because they make me cringe. I think your marathon aspirations, and your self discipline to run in the heat, is awesome.

I took Life for granted, I still drank a bit too much sometimes, pushed myself to hit a PB even when my knees were screaming at me. and then the last year was one long mystery illness for me. some days I dragged myself out of bed, I needed nanna naps, I crawled up the stairs far too many times, I sat in the shower and cried my eyes out, I thought I was dying for a while it was that bad. im lucky, turns out it was just peri menopause, easily fixed with the right meds til I get through it. and every day now I wake up and thank the lord (actually a decent doctor, instead of the quacks at the free clinic) the overwhelming fatigue has not come back. I never really took my health for granted, but now, oh man its precious. I really hope you don't get a wake up call like so many close to me have had.

I know its none of my business, but well, please don't let me say I told you so. be kind to your body, its the only one you get. cheers (now that seems wrong!)

Last edited by think positive on Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:13 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:37 pm

Same as you TP I'm equally amazed and cringing at these posts. Skids, you're an inspiration and it's your life and body to do with as you will, I'm not judging (you wouldn't care anyway haha), but yeah you're walking a dangerous line I'd think. Exercise needs recovery and alcohol screws with that, I'm an athlete too albeit a totally different one and drinking totally screws with my performance and recovery, if I wait a day between training and drinking it's usually ok, but the muscle pain when I drink on training days lasts twice as long compared to having a protein shake and long sleep.

Anyway, keep it up and enjoy yourself however you see fit, better to drink and exercise than to just drink Laughing

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:53 pm

If you drink enough your body compensates for it.

Goodonya Skids, do what makes you happy as long as it doesn't hurt anyone else.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:15 pm

Exclamation

Last edited by think positive on Wed Apr 06, 2016 9:08 pm; edited 2 times in total
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 9:00 pm

The Porterhouse and the candle's mate is all that's required for recovery! Very Happy
Don't listen to these negative nellies mate.... Laughing Laughing

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."
5150 Sagittarius

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:31 pm

I tips me lids that he got 2 Rodgers at the airport car park.

I usually have to wait to get home before any action let alone kick again!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:31 pm

6k soft sand run done.
Bowl of Nutrigrain and deciding where to go for lunch and a few quiet ones.
Up at 4 tomorrow to fly back to work.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:58 pm

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2014/apr/23/how-does-alcohol-affect-athletic-performance

or even the basics

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-term_effects_of_alcohol_consumption

Some interesting reading there TP Shocked

I don't really think I drink that much... not compared to most people I know anyway.

I have 2 AFD's a week, the 7 nights I'm on site a fortnight I usually have 2 - 4 mids except for fly out night BBQ, that can be up to 9 or 10.

The week home can have a few blow out days where i'll drink the best part of a slab and have a few cones.

I drink 2-4 litres of water a day when it's cool. 10-20 litres a day in the heat at work and on long runs. My diet is pretty good, might eat take away once a month and have the odd chocolate binge. Generally though, lotsa, fish, chicken, meat, veges & fruit.

Got heaps of longevity in my genes; Nans 89 and Grandads 93. No history of heart disease or any major health problems.

hey, if I do drop dead running, so be it. Dying doesn't worry me at all. My kids are grown up and turned out ok. I've had a fat time Cool

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:09 pm

Ended up being a place called 'White Salt' on the beachfront just south if Hillarys.
Had oysters 3 different ways, a herb & parmasen coated piece of veal and 3 pints Little Creatures pale Ale...... scrumbolicious.
Having my last 3 stubbies of Coopers before a very early night... i need my sleep and always get plenty.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:36 pm

Was asleep at 6:30 last night.
Up at 4am and back to work. A cool change has come through, 30 top with 4mm of rain, heaps less flies at last. You wouldn't believe how thick tbey get here.

Had cereal on the plane and have eaten various salads, 3 boiled eggs and some silverside.

8k moderate pace run and an Alcohol Free Day. It's 7:30 and I'm in bed watching the footy.

Going to try and string a few of these AFD's together.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 12:23 am

These AFD's you speak of, I've tried them.

At least 3 times in the last 12 months.

Not a fan. Wink

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 10 of 17