Post match. Pies down to Cats - All comments please.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:14 pm

I'll get shot down for it but the selection of Ramsay was seemingly an indicator of the collective mindset we took into this game.

Pure hubris and we didn't give a yelp for a quarter and a half.

Bucks has to take a slap for starting Frost on Hawkins I'm afraid.

That was never going to be the correct match up on a guy like Hawkins.

Frost has been great but at 89kgs is far to light. Brown at 101kg was always going to be the better match up.

Stupid decision and Hawkins was very influential early.

Much better effort in the second half but we like most sides are dead ordinary unless we bring the correct intensity.

Reality check and we need to bounce right back next week.

Armstrong for Ramsay was probably the ultra conservative option but can't lament Armstrong's lack of physicality when he's shown he can bring it at this level in his games last season.

Don't know why people are focusing on the performances of the defense. Inability of forwards and midfield to have any impact for significant periods was the issue. Too much standing back while allowing your direct opponent run free. Totally bruise free footy.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:18 pm

It's probably just a reflection of our early lack of intensity, but our inability to lay effective tackles made the Cats players look bigger and stronger than us. To my eye, they looked bigger and stronger than us. Did we perhaps have too many small players - Dwyer, Armstrong, Blair, Adams and Elliott?

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:26 pm

Witts did OK for his first game back but did miss some critical marks. White has no second effort and is a waste of space. He is a NAB cup goal kicking specialist. We are better off putting games into younger players with potential than spend time on this dud.

Cloke is a disgrace. When is this guy going to get his act together and grow up. The boys work their arses off time and time again so as to give him an opportunity in front of goals and he just throws it all away.

Geelong started the game with a plan last night that worked. It was a very good tactic against such a young team. That said they were very lucky in front of goal and seemed to do nothing wrong in the first quarter. The umpires stamped their mark on the game from the start for giving a very soft and incorrect free against Frost that resulted in their first goal. In contrast Jamie was taken out of the contest time and time again with no support from the umpires. How about that free that was taken back when the ball should have been given to Jamie virtually in front of goal. How do umpires get it so wrong. The free should have been paid down field.

The boys worked hard to get themselves back into the game. If you kicking in front of goal had been accurate we may not have won the game but we could have led at different times.

A disappointing night but the guys battled to the end, showed some good spirit and displayed some of the traits you would expect from such a young and developing team.

Progress has been made this year and lets hope it continues so as to form the foundation of a great team in the future.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:31 pm

Collingwood Crackerjack wrote:
Might I just add that we changed a winning structure by dropping Gault and playing Witts, and we payed a terrible price.

Broomhead wasn't ready to come back in either, and although Armstrong should good signs in the 2nd half, I'd have preferred De Goey and Marsh as the ins, for structure if nothing else

Actually the changes were were pretty close to like for like to maintain almost the exact same structure as the week before.

Thought Witts was good and probably gave us more than Gault has. Strange that numbers of people (not suggesting you were, just a general observation) were calling for Wiits to replace Gault all last week then when it happens and we get improved performance as a consequence, we now see people lamenting Gaults demotion.

Broomhead was in the side and only missed due to illness, only fair he gets a chance. Didn't have a major impact but 12 disposals in a half isn't a bad effort.

Bigger issue for me is they've got control of the footy, why are our forwards and mids just dawdling 20-30 meters behind their opponent allowing them time and space.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:33 pm

Blair hasn't got a very good record against the cats.

Just the 3 goals from 8 games against them at an average of 13.25 disposals which is his lowest average overall.

Enright has gone to him in the past if my memory serves me correct and he's just to big and mobile.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:49 pm

MAJOR reality check. Kicking the crap out trash the past month created a false economy. We have done nothing yet.

In the plus column, we get another trash team next week, so all will be right again next Sunday.

White can piss off back to Sydney. Or at least, he could, if we had something in reserve. Corey Gault, welcome back.

Oh, and where have all the Armstrong cheerleaders gone? How nice of the boys to help him fatten his stats. Lord knows, he can't fatten them himself! First one out when the team sheets are lodged next week.

That being said, he wasn't alone. A fair number of VFL players in that team tonight, some who will still get a game because Davoren keeps finding ways to put them in casualty. Still, we should get Seedsman, Sidey and Ramsay back next week, so a couple will make way.

Next...

I'll put my hand up as one who defended Armstrong. I was wrong. He tried, but is simply not physically strong enough for AFL footy. I'm also a bit worried about Broomhead, who seems to go missing when the heat is really on. Hopefully he'll learn and get better, as he has heaps of talent. We really needed some bigger bodies around the ball tonight. Surely we must now bring in De Goey and possibly Marsh. Witts was poor, but he should be given a couple more weeks to find his form.

how can you say we need to bring in bigger bodies and in the next breath call for de goey's inclusion? Confused

we missed seedo's run and carry. i don't think ramsay would have done much better. we were simply off for most of the night. lots of fumbling and from those who are usually quite sure with the ball. we also played dumb football.

at least we eventually had a crack and got on top at various stages in the second half. shame she many players went missing early in the game.

Don't think Ramsay would have so easily conceded F50 marks, at a minimum his opponent would have earned his mark.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:50 pm

I'll get shot down for it but the selection of Ramsay was seemingly an indicator of the collective mindset we took into this game.

Pure hubris and we didn't give a yelp for a quarter and a half.

Bucks has to take a slap for starting Frost on Hawkins I'm afraid.

That was never going to be the correct match up on a guy like Hawkins.

Frost has been great but at 89kgs is far to light. Brown at 101kg was always going to be the better match up.

Stupid decision and Hawkins was very influential early.

Much better effort in the second half but we like most sides are dead ordinary unless we bring the correct intensity.

Reality check and we need to bounce right back next week.

So very true Swoop i saw this match up and couldn't believe it. I had been waiting ages for Brown to take on Baby Head and he actually shut the big sook down.

We really missed Ramsay and Seedy. Our aggression and counterability were shocking. Armstrong is not good enough. De Goey would have brought something new to the table and would have gave us more dimension.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:52 pm

selkevh wrote:
So what's the story with Clarke?

Delisted at the end of last year. Apparently Clark had some post match issue though.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:55 pm

matrix10 wrote:
[quick pop in amongst the inevitable vents]

Our young players should have learned a hell of a lot from that game, it was like an accelerated learning module which was always at risk of happening after the last two weeks of poor opposition and now up against a proud team fighting for respect.

{translation} we got took to school. Big time.

Take out the first quarter and that 3 minute burst in th last and we can put together some positives. Good time for that to happen, I'm tipping it wont happen again this season.

Agreed-

yet did say the same thing after Adelaide game Wink

Losing two attacking backmen killed us-lack of cohesion in defense.

Cats palyed out of their arse and had luck on their side in the first q and a bit. Everything they touched turned to gold and we just shat ourselves.

Elliot is just a bit off this year- but is pushing mcuh more through midfield.

Cloke and White are momentum killers- sucking out all the energy of teammates hard work.

Crisp is a ripper. As is Grundy.
Adams a bit off- but still played his heart out.

Pendles did his best to get us back into it. Swanny too inconsistent.

Tooves, Browny and the boys down back worked their bums off.

Broomhead will be a star.

Tone decision backfired.

The year will be filled with a few more games like that- just need to ride the wave and hopefully sneak some finals experience into the young'uns

Well said.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 4:18 pm

MAJOR reality check. Kicking the crap out trash the past month created a false economy. We have done nothing yet.

In the plus column, we get another trash team next week, so all will be right again next Sunday.

White can piss off back to Sydney. Or at least, he could, if we had something in reserve. Corey Gault, welcome back.

Oh, and where have all the Armstrong cheerleaders gone? How nice of the boys to help him fatten his stats. Lord knows, he can't fatten them himself! First one out when the team sheets are lodged next week.

That being said, he wasn't alone. A fair number of VFL players in that team tonight, some who will still get a game because Davoren keeps finding ways to put them in casualty. Still, we should get Seedsman, Sidey and Ramsay back next week, so a couple will make way.

Next...

I'll put my hand up as one who defended Armstrong. I was wrong. He tried, but is simply not physically strong enough for AFL footy. I'm also a bit worried about Broomhead, who seems to go missing when the heat is really on. Hopefully he'll learn and get better, as he has heaps of talent. We really needed some bigger bodies around the ball tonight. Surely we must now bring in De Goey and possibly Marsh. Witts was poor, but he should be given a couple more weeks to find his form.

how can you say we need to bring in bigger bodies and in the next breath call for de goey's inclusion? Confused

If you've seen him up close you'll discover that De Goey is quite a big midfielder. He's certainly much bigger than Adams, Blair, Dwyer or Armstrong. Not only that, but he plays a very physical game, which is just what we need. I'm not suggesting he's the answer to our problems, but I'm one who would like to see him back in our side.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 4:20 pm

I dare say we could all tell we were off after the first few minutes.

Such a disappointment as I know we are much better than that and was hoping we would be able to put it together and win against a side that would garner us more credibility in the eyes of the wider football public.

Still I liked the character we showed in the second half when we lifted our intensity to a level we were all expecting from the opening bounce and finally got to play a style of football we've witnessed in the opening rounds.

Make no mistake we were coming in that final term and if not for the misfortune of inaccuracy would have ended up a lot closer.

We still got the next goal after the infamous Cloke miss but it was 8 minutes later and by then the moment had passed.

GreekLunatic 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 4:21 pm

why didnt someone step on duckwoods hand. The first half killed us that was as pathetic as the adelaide game

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 4:24 pm

Next...

If you've seen him up close you'll discover that De Goey is quite a big midfielder. He's certainly much bigger than Adams, Blair, Dwyer or Armstrong. Not only that, but he plays a very physical game, which is just what we need. I'm not suggesting he's the answer to our problems, but I'm one who would like to see him back in our side.

I'd love to see him playing in place of Adams, too. Wink
MagpiesTheGreat 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 4:30 pm

Next Sunday, we will smash the living daylight out of pussy Tigers...All will be fine, everyone!
In the mean time, my weekend is ruined... ...

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 4:34 pm

Couldn't help think last night that geelong have a way to niggle, scratch, hold, whing, duck, smother, collar us, push, find someone at the drop of the ball by themselves and get all the free kicks to gain momentum. That shit needs to stop iwhen we play them in the futurewe're because it's what gives that shitstain of a club ownership of us.

Page 8 of 10