replacement or discount?

Replacement door or take the discount?
Get the new door
9%
 9%  [ 1 ]
take the discount
90%
 90%  [ 10 ]
Total Votes : 11

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 1:19 pm
Post subject: replacement or discount?Reply with quote

Question for the taverners.

A few weeks back I had a roller door installed. It's bit over 4m wide, going across between my house and next door. It basically works as a gate into the back yard.

So it's a nice size and when they installed it they put a fascia around both sides and the top so it looks for all the world as if it's part of a garage. Looks real schmick.

Cost me $2800 installed, half up front the rest on installation.

So when they installed it, the bloke doing the installation noticed a very small imperfection. You can't see it unless you get up close (nose touching door close) and look sideways along the door. Then you can see a tiny indentation on a couple of spots. If you get on the right angle on the inside it looks like maybe a forklift picked it up when it was rolled and left blade marks. Anyway, it's barely noticeable but the bloke took photos of it and said he wouldn't charge me for the balance, he'd go back to the office and they could follow up with the factory first and get a replacement.

Fairy nuff.

So a couple of days ago I get the call. They've gone back to the manufacturers, shown them the photos and they wanted to know if I'd accept a discount rather than have the door replaced. Keep the door, they'll knock $200 off the price.

Now me, I figure you can't see the bloody marks anyway and I can't be arsed having to organise time off work so I can sit around here while someone pulls one door down and puts another up, so I'll take the $200 discount.

What would you do and why?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 1:52 pm

I'd go discount. If the damage doesn't bother you, take the extra $200 as a bonus and go buy yourself a few beers/potplants/lapdances. Cool

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:03 pm

Funny you should mention lapdances, considering where we're playing today and it's proximity to King St. Razz Cool

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:03 pm

The discount - the door's in place and there's a whole heap of bother in getting a replacement. In any event, if you did replace it, some idiot would dent it properly for you 15 minutes after the new door was on.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:06 pm

Funny you should mention lapdances, considering where we're playing today and it's proximity to King St. Razz Cool

I'm in Chambers, not far from King St, as I write. You could get a couple of minutes of my time for your $200. Wink

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:40 pm

I'm in Chambers, not far from King St, as I write. You could get a couple of minutes of my time for your $200. Wink

Thanks heaps but I'll take a rain check if you don't mind. Razz

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:26 pm

A few thoughts come to mind, Stui.

1: Depending on the construction of the door, those small dents may make it vulnerable to early corrosion. (Or may not - you'll have a good idea of this already.) Obviously, you'd want a replacement in that instance.

2: The manufacturer really, really really hopes you go for the discount. Cost to them of a $200 discount: $200. Cost to them of a replacement: four figures easy. Could be pushing $2000 if they have to pay the installer again. What will they do with the damaged door? Probably just throw it away. By the time they spend time (= money) mucking about with it and finding a customer for it who doesn't mind the marks, never mind it being second-hand, they are probably better off keeping their eyes on the main game and just writing it off, or flogging it for small change to some reseller. They'd probably rather just pay $500 and be done with it.

3: On the other hand, you'd have to buggerise about endlessly to screw the $500 out of them. Why would you want to do that? You could just do a day's overtime instead, which would be quicker and easier. (If your job has overtime. If not, think of it as leave protection - you are saving wasting lots of precious free time.)

Obviously, I'd go for the $200 discount. All else aside, it never hurts to maintain good relationships with tradies and suppliers. And who is ever going to see the difference anyway? Take the $200, buy some beer.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:28 pm

This is with pole? And are you wearing knickers?

Err .. feel free not to answer that.

KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:10 pm

Same as you take the $200 and spend it wisely or not!
5150 Sagittarius

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:31 pm

Take the $200 - put it on the Pies under 39 1/2 @ $3.50

Head to King Street with $700

Spend $600 on .... whatever you fancy, save $80 for the cab home and $20 for a late night lamb sandwich and coke (cola)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:56 am

Lap dance.

Pffft.

Poor mans brothel visit.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:16 pm

Got home from the footy this morning, that $200 well and truly gone.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:03 pm

Geewhiz, P4S really does charge a steep rate...

Wink

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:43 pm

BBBJ and CIM was included in the price.

Bargain.

P.S- I think that might be a little to rude even for me.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:45 pm

DATY was up for offer but I'm not a big fan of parmesan. Razz