Dane Swan - a little respect

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 9, 10, 11  Next

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 11:59 pm

Rumours of Swans return to form have been greatly exaggerated
Monco Matt Aries

Do it to THEM before THEY do it to YOU

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:17 am

Swanny is in a strange place these days. It appears that he has become rather selective with his performances, either week to week and also qtr to qtr. His consistency level has dropped right off. Has clearly lost a few yards of pace and fitness levels look down on the man we used to rely on as a key midfield driver. He is unreliable now. As we saw tonight.

matrix10 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:20 am

Still our barometer for mine.

When he switched on halfway through the second to almost halfway in the last- we ignited.

His running makes the world of difference

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:24 am

Monco Matt wrote:
Swanny is in a strange place these days. It appears that he has become rather selective with his performances, either week to week and also qtr to qtr. His consistency level has dropped right off. Has clearly lost a few yards of pace and fitness levels look down on the man we used to rely on as a key midfield driver. He is unreliable now. As we saw tonight.

His problem is his kicking has never been great so now he has lost some fitness and pace, he is a liability. He lost what set him apart and that was the ability to win it in tight and burst away, now he cant do that so he rushes his kicks even more and it just gets more ugly

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:26 am

matrix10 wrote:

When he switched on halfway through the second to almost halfway in the last- we ignited.

Sorry mate, reckon we saw the writing on the wall last year: his days as a mid are over. Hurried woomerbanger clearance kicks out of the centre square ball-up, that go nowhere but sideways end on end, is simply schoolyard stuff.

But he might last another season or two as a permanent forward, where he can do some damage on the scoreboard. But his constant turnovers in the midfield are no longer acceptable.

Little Wonder 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:27 am

He's not fit, wasn't right against the scum with his ankle and is still clearly struggling. Trouble is, even when wounded he's still better than half of the side

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:30 am

Little Wonder wrote:
He's not fit, wasn't right against the scum with his ankle and is still clearly struggling. Trouble is, even when wounded he's still better than half of the side

If he can't run, then don't select him, simple.
It's his disposal I have anger-management issues with, not his endeavour to get to the contest.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:36 am

Little Wonder wrote:

If he can't run, then don't select him, simple.
It's his disposal I have anger-management issues with, not his endeavour to get to the contest.

I reckon his buggered wrists are as much the cause of his errant kicking as anything else. It also explains his fumbling. Terrible to see a champ in physical decline. Hopefully he's got some good footy left, but we certainly can't rely on him any more.
matrix10 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:37 am

matrix10 wrote:

Sorry mate, reckon we saw the writing on the wall last year: his days as a mid are over. Hurried woomerbanger clearance kicks out of the centre square ball-up, that go nowhere but sideways end on end, is simply schoolyard stuff.

But he might last another season or two as a permanent forward, where he can do some damage on the scoreboard. But his constant turnovers in the midfield are no longer acceptable.

Fair enough-agree with most- yet still reckon its hard to deny that when he's up and about- the whole team seems to lift.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:41 am

And then what happened?
Greeny2968 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 12:55 am

2 or 3 shocking turnovers that cost us goals.

Play him on forward line where his disposal can't hurt us - but his footy smarts are still worth something...

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 1:05 am

matrix10 wrote:
yet still reckon its hard to deny that when he's up and about- the whole team seems to lift.

Oh, no question. But very frustrating when the difference between his good games, and turn-over games, are so vast and influential.
And you don't know from one week to the next which Swan is going to show up to play. Some weeks I feel crook in the guts every time he gets the ball, because I can see it getting slaughtered over to the opposition.
And other weeks he turns up back in Brownlow form.
Doing my f*cking head in, I tell ya.

cressyg 

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 1:08 am

Father time appears to be catching up with him big time as he seems to be labouring hard when running and he no longer has sure hands below his knees because of his wrists.

Unfortunately a half hearted attempt to bend down to pick the ball up last week cost us a goal when Bell knocked him off the ball and poor disposal in the backline tonight cost us goals.

Having said that he is still in our best 22 and it will take a good player to pick him up regardless where he plays. Yes..I would play him in the forward line as well but to say play him there because his poor disposal won't hurt us..is not correct..as evidenced by Cloke and White time after time. Cloke's poor kicking knocked the stuffing out of us.

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 8:23 am

The great games are now the exception.

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 9:02 am

Yesterday, Dane played a 30 or more disposal game for the 100th time. He is behind only Robert Harvey on the all-time list of such games.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 5 of 11