What can we do about FoxFooty?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:43 pm

I watched it on my iPad, and it was great vision, easy to see who was who.

Possibly when the ball was on the commentary side, but too often the camera work was hopeless. It's not as if I don't know the players. I've watched them all summer; it was the wide angle camera shots. The director's switching is also hopeless but so is channel 7's. If this team had been on duty in 1971 the famous Jezza mark would have been missed or at least viewed in wide angle.

I like to know who is getting every kick. I want to see the shepherds, the bumps and the one percenters. Last night we didn't get it and we didn't get it last year or the year before.

Channel 7 is marginally better and at the MCG the coverage is generally good. Elsewhere though the coverage is poor. Bottom line is that we shouldn't have to guess who gets the fast ball out of a pack. Last night we were guessing.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:36 am

My hatred is reserved for when they show the crowd while the game is being played.
As for the commentators they are still better than Tim Lame and Bruce.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:01 am

A picture paints a thousand words they say. And this pic demonstrates my point. The ball has been cleared to the wing by Collingwood. Levi Greenwood takes a chest mark. Instead of a quick switch to close up just before he takes the mark, as most would agree if the way to go, the Fox director leaves the shot on wide angle. Dwayne Russell (using binoculars) tells us that it is Levi Greenwood. Nobody could pick that it was Levi unless they were just having a guess.

I found plenty of other examples like this. Bottom line it is just poor camera work being controlled by the director. This new breed of directors is taking the easy option of the wide angle, which right here provides a meaningless snapshot of the action.

Levi mark.png

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:02 am

Sorry about the pic size; tried for 30 minutes to get a bigger pic but the system won't allow it. But anyway, you'll get the idea.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:20 am

Maybe trying to get the sponsors' logo on screen as often as possible?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:39 am

Another try
https://www.flickr.com/photos/98725876@N02/16479097718/

mark (13 11 89 ) 

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:20 pm

Spot on Frankie. The wide shots are to get sponsors signs in shot! Fox, and 7 for that matter WILL and DO put the sponsor before the viewer every time. I wouldn't be surprised if they are payed for accumulated time on screen.

The viewer and the paying public mean nothing. Fox is Murdoch ya know.

DT56 

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:04 am

Cmon people the commentary wasn't that bad .. there was a moment when Brown joked about a certain defector and how Eddie would have reacted it but hey, water of a ducks back, we're made of more solid stuff than that.

As far as the wide angle shots may I suggest a pair of binoculars as standard equipment when watching Fox lol

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:18 am

Neil Appleby wrote:
Another try

Ok that's shocking! Good thing he has white shorts on!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 6:46 pm

Neil Appleby wrote:
Another try

Ok that's shocking! Good thing he has white shorts on!

However, what that shot does tell me is that there are several Hawks players who have probably lost their opponents in transition. I assume our boys have run hard and are providing options elsewhere for the next kick unmanned. Not a flattering look for the Dawks.

Lone Ranger 

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 8:47 am

Couldnt disagree more. I want MORE wide angle shots. I want them to stop zooming in all the time. When they go in close, you cant see whats unfolding outside of the tight camera shot. Its why being at the game is FAR better than watching on television

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:29 am

Really Lone Ranger? You want those shots of empty space and Hawthorn players running through the middle? I don't. I want to see who has the ball. I want to see the skills up close. Later I don't mind the analysis and the ground view, but when the heat is on and the excitement is there I want to see what's going on like I could in the 60's, 70's, 80s broadcasts.

The current view is akin to sitting in the back levels of Level 4 in the Ponsford; I hate it.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:38 pm

Being at the game you get to see things unfold on the field that you just don't see with tight close up camera shots.

My ideal would be that they pan back on the camera a bit when the ball is in motion and zoom in when it's not. That way you get the best of both.

Being constantly zoomed in to the ball is like watching through blinders that limit you to tunnel vision. Don't like it.

Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:44 pm

Woods wrote:
Didn't see the live broadcast but watched the highlights package on the CFC website.

With fewer and smaller stands at the Launceston oval there's possibly limited elevation available for the camera shots that we're used to seeing in the home & away games broadcast from the big mainland grounds.

FOX may have relied on local Tassie camera people and there might be few who are used to covering live AFL (it is a top flight skill both for cameramen and directors to capture the pictures as fluidly as we have all become used to - they are a rarely acknowledged talent behind the scenes).

FOX may also have cut back on gear and personnel given it was perceived as a small viewing audience. Eg. in the past I've seen rent-a-crane type cherry-pickers situated outside the ground used as a camera locations.

I'm reposting my previous response to the OP because it is apparent that he and many others do not know how television is made. My first post assumed they did, but I now know they don't.

To explain it more simply - its is not the same camera that takes the wide shot at the opening bounce that also takes the tight close up shot of the same scene. They are two (or three) separate cameras.

Its not like your pocket video camera where you zoom in and out on a scene using the one camera. THat's why your home movies look shit and professional TV looks polished. The vision of a footy match that we viewers see on TV are fluid cuts between different cameras taking different shots of the same scene. All co-ordinated by the director who calls to switch from camera to camera as play unfolds. With AFL footy it is probably the most skilled job in TV production.

Evidently there were insufficient cameras in operation at the Tassie game to provide the fluid cuts between long and tight shots.

By all means criticise Foxtel for not putting more cameras on duty. But as I said earlier there may be good reasons for the limited number in operation on the day - like insufficient suitable camera locations due to lack of highpoints at the ground. I offered the idea that cherry pickers could be used (at extra cost for Foxtel) but after watching the replay I'm now aware that the windy conditions might have made for shaky vision or even unsafe conditions for the crew.

So I think all the slagging off against cameramen and directors is unfounded and these people deserve an apology from the ignorant twats who have criticised them. They were doing the best they could with what they had.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:52 pm

Neil, you are getting old mate. Do yourself a favour and visit an optometrist for some suitable glasses. Or, if you already know your prescription and are lucky enough to have both eyes roughly the same, you can get excellent reading glasses for $20 at the chemist.

I'm not having a go at you here, I seriously reckon you need glasses for the TV if you are having trouble picking up players on shots like the one illustrated. If I can do it with my vastly smaller knowledge of the game and our players, you should be able to do it blindfold.

Roll on the wide shots! If I want close-up shots of someone's hairy nostrils, I'll get some gay porn. I want to see the game! I want to know who is running where; I want to be able to see for myself that Goldsack gave that hospital handpass to Swanny because there was no-one running to make space up the ground for him; I want to know what options Fasolo has to pass it when he has a ping from 55; I want to see who drops off on the rebound and who chases hard anyway. I hate the friggin close-up stuff when they overdo it. There is a proper way to mix close-up footage into a telecast and it's the same way you mix sauce and pie: you always want some, but there should always be a lot more pie than sauce!