I think we have a player in Ramsay

TimetoFly 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:12 pm
Post subject: I think we have a player in RamsayReply with quote

I was not sold on this kid, but after seeing him play last night, I think we have found one here.

He is tough, fast & most of all can use the footy out of defense. That play were he dashed away from the young hawthorn speedstar and then had the composure to look inside and hit fasolo lace out in 50 was all class.

I am not a fan of williams & to a lesser extant sinclair due to there height and lack of polish. So if we can unearth Ramsay here then I think it will help solve our issues down back.

With Langdon Brown (he will come good), Reid Toovey & Frost we will have a much settled and strong backline.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:18 pm

i like Ramsay's mongrel and pace, but also rate Williams and Sinclair both will be important. Ramsay's kicking still needs work, he has a lot of character and likes to stir up trouble against his opponent.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:26 pm

I reckon he has a bit of a point to prove, after being ill and kept out of the side for such a very long time. Now that he has finally had the chance to taste senior football, he's very determined to stay there.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:36 pm

I think you're right TTF, the boy has worked hard all summer. After watching him use his pace and kicking skills in the training drills it was interesting to see him last week in the intra-club and again last night. I like him because he never takes a backwards step, he has pace and can use the ball.

In the first half last night, every time Marley got the ball my heart was in my mouth; Jackson on the other hand was sure with his hands and feet.

Sinclair is the unknown in my opinion. Last night he was good and used the ball well. Let's hope he can continue. I'd like him to succeed. There are plenty waiting in the wings to grab his spot if he doesn't grab it with both hands.

TimetoFly 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:42 pm

Yep agree Neil, but you would certainly know more than I do, as you have been to training.

I am pleased for that reason you share the same view.

good times ahead I think!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:17 pm

I was impressed with all three short defenders last night, particularly Ramsay, but I thought Williams and Sinclair played well also. All three are good ball carriers who hit their targets by foot. Wonder if all three can play in the same side. By contrast both tall defenders in Brown and Frost looked rusty to me. Reid is needed back in my opinion.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:20 pm

Will that accomplish your objective?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:23 pm

Ramsay is the tip of the ice berg so to speak as there appears to be a feeling
amongst the youth that its their destiny to be a part of future sucsess
He along with Gault ,Kennedy ,Sinclaire ,Oxley ,Thomas and Adams have belief
Throw in Freeman who sat out last year and the scintillating first up De Goey
And there are more yet to get a crack which has me excited and believing we
are heading down the right path

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:57 pm

last night i thought we were watching the core of our next premiership team.

ramma is not one to take a backward step. i don't think many of these young guys are. attitude and belief is so important.

i think we'll see white take that next step we all see is capable of. he looked like someone who believed he could crash through, that he could use his body to influence contests.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:17 pm

We certainly lack good users of the footy coming out of the backline so he certainly has a spot. He just needs to secure it before Maynard and Manteit come through.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 5:18 pm

Roar thats it --give the players assistance in all facets both on and off field and
when any one not prepeared to prepare in the manner coaching staff require
or behavior off field that affects them and the club indulged in then they forfiet
the right to a spot
As you say Maynard ,Mateit or people sticking to team practices take their spot

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 5:33 pm

Ramsay looked like he belonged, but the stand out defender for me was Sinclair. Seems he may be our designated kicker from full-back as well. Unlike others, I also thought Williams played well. Langdon looks set to take off from where he left off last year. As noted by someone else, both Brown and Frost were rusty, making it more important than ever that we get Reid back at CHB.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:28 pm

Agree, Rudey. I like Ramsay although he's a little rough around the edges but the stand out for me was Sinclair. He was composed all night and one of the few defenders I actually felt really comfortable with, with ball in hands. No way I thought I'd be saying that a year or two ago.
TimetoFly 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:48 pm

Sinclair played very well & I have less concerns about him than I do williams.
Williams had a shocker, he pulled out of a contest made error after error & turned it over with poor decision & skill.

Hopefully sharenberg lives up to the hype because we lack skill and poise out of defence.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:50 pm

I'm glad to see Sinclair getting some love as I thought he was terrific and his ball use first rate (and I reckon it was very good last year as well mostly).

For mine though Langdon was the general down back. His ability to anticipate, fill holes and read the play is amazing for such a young kid and his composure in close is a stand out. The kid is a ripper and an inspired piece of recruiting.