Post Match. NAB Challenge - Pies smash Hawks

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:08 pm

Loved the spread of goal kickers! DeGoey showed why he's going to be a star in that last qtr. The kid is something special.

Happy with so many of our kids tonight, I know it's only NAB cup, but gee there's a lot there to like.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:10 pm

Looks like we're on track for round 1, round 1 is all that matters, then we move to round 2.

Remember guys, we had 5 weeks on the Hawks in our PS so please don't read much into tonight.
\

yep, glorified practice match, as all nab cup games are, but we have at least scored a nice win, finally, against these arrogant piss and poo shits, so we will take that. and from all reports our kids did really well, so far, so good, least dawks cannot now with the nab cup. Very Happy Very Happy

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:12 pm

Don't worry I will remember.
kymbo5@yahoo.com.au 

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:15 pm

Being a Collingwood supporter in Tassie hasn't been easy for the last few years, especially when you hate the dawks as much as I do. Pre-season is the only chance I get for us to beat them at York Park so I am loving it.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:21 pm

One of the positives is that players like Greenwood and Varcoe hardly killed it tonight and young players like De Goey, Kennedy Freeman and Broomhead didn't have a lot of the ball but they kept on having a crack and had improved second halves.

It was a pretty even contribution across the board.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:25 pm

Not much to not like and plenty there to be really pleased about.

Only a first run hit out but we played with good intensity and hardness, we ran it our well and there was a lot of desperation from the lads to secure their slot for the next hit out.

Was plenty to like from almost all of the young blokes really.

I liked the look of Crisp, Paddy put his hand up, Gault showed some really good signs. Kennedy got amongst it, De Goey showed real talent. Grundy was very good in the ruck. Langdon is a ripper, looks set for an even better year. Ramsay did a few nice things. Freeman got involved when he got his chance.

Steele did very well, White attacked it hard, Fasolo reminded us he has plenty of talent and is a forward who can push up the ground, never a backman. Josh Thomas had a good hit out and did some good work. Taylor Adams did well.

Of the more senior guys I thought Varcoe looked a bit rusty but got going late, Frost looked a bit off his game, Greenwood didn't impress me much however, he seemed to spend a lot of time up forward when he really is an inside mid. Broomy cruised but its not always easy to get in and stay in the game on a HFF.

Of the others, it was a good hit out for most and all will be better for the run.
Darkstranger 

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:31 pm

Yeah only a NAB game but a 50 pt win ( don't count super goals as 9 pts ) with no really stars tonight against the Dorks is better than the reverse.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:46 pm

That wasn't too bad, not too bad at all Smile
BJ Aquarius

Harry C - The champion of the Harrys

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:52 pm

The thing that stood out for me was Degoey. I honestly thought he was a natural left footer until he had a set shot for goal in the last quarter, and he kicked it on his right. Skillfull kid

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:56 pm

how good does the score board look!!!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:58 pm

Everyone keeps talking about the stars the hawks have to bring back in - there are a few more than our boys but they're no better than Pendles, Swan, Cloke, Reid, Keefe, Witts, and Seedsman.

Hodge, Lewis, Roughhead, Suckling, Gibson, Burgoyne, Hill, Birchall, Lake, Pupolo, Hale, Schoenmakers, Spanger, Rioli would come into the team, but in reality they don't make 50 points when you put our players in as well.

I understand we had 4 weeks on them (although it is a long preseason due to the late stars, so I'm not sure how much that matters) in preparation but I reckon we did good, and there are definitely some good early signs.

BJ Aquarius

Harry C - The champion of the Harrys

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:03 pm

Please, Puopolo? Take that joe the goose receiver out of the mix. He is an over-rated, poor man's Milne.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Happy with that. Scoreboard irrelevant but lots of good signs.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:38 pm

Fact is tonight proved that we've had a decent pre season, game plan looked good considering it was the first decent hit out for a heap of our players in the b&W, pressure was up there, comradery looked good, all the boxes we could've ticked were ticked IMO, the guys will get a bit a bit out of tonight atleast for the short term, hopefully it slingshot us to a good start to the season.

winpies Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:50 am

Good game from the boys and a win is a win is good for confidence. Really loved our handballing in tight tonight. Mostly clean hands and found a target. Greenwood showed glimpses of why we targeted him - ferocious in a pack fighting for the ball. Kicking wasn't too bad either but still room for improvement. Corey Gault looked good also. Like him in the ruck. Jumps!!

Page 2 of 10