Queenstown Retreat

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:17 pm

Stupied wrote:
Drafted wrote:
The amount of times they have all tried to state "it's not a holiday" says they are trying to convince themselves…. One of the tweets from Marcus Wagner (football manager) today said something about "second training session" … and they've been there for a week… so they did an "amazing race game" and they've had time to bond… the biggest issue they had last year was ranking 15th or 16th in many statistical categories - like disposal accuracy… can't see that improving without actually using footballs on a daily basis…
Absolute HOLIDAY from where I sit!

It's a camp aimed at team bonding, which is just as important as training. They're still doing heaps of activities to maintain fitness, so big fat deal if they only have a couple of actual footy training sessions for the week.

Seriously, if they were going to just work on skills non stop the whole week they would have been better off staying in Melbourne.

Pull your head out of your arse and realise there's more to making a successful team than just skills sessions.

They can "bond" in the shower for all I care, as for us improving in statistical categories then you know what they say, practice makes perfect.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:13 pm

Flashman wrote:
I reckon the tide may have turned for the Pie's re injuries.

Now that Rocket Eade has left the injury hex he afflicted on our club seems to have travelled with him.

http://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/sport/afl/suns-defender-steven-may-to-consult-specialist-over-knee-injury-as-gold-coast-injury-list-soars/story-fnj9yd7s-1227200601483

Part of the sponsorship deal he had was to maintain a full and vibrant injury listing to ensure maximum product exposure...

Hahahahaahahaha gold!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:17 pm

Woods wrote:
Looks like they had a pretty solid session yesterday.

See: http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2015-02-06/photos-main-training-in-queenstown

(includes a classic pic of Swan moving well)

Great link, gees they look good, love the arse on brown.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:40 am

Bonding in showers... arse on Brown... mmm this is what happens when you holiday in Queenstown?
sem Scorpio

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:44 pm
Post subject: QueenstownReply with quote

I am in QUeenstown and I have not seen any of the boys .
Great town ,,,, gees it is a shame the wife came ,,, lot of nice chick here from all over the world.
It is a great place for a holiday and also great place for kids .
I hope the boys put in for increased fitness here and we're diverted by the nay attractions.

Higher levels of FITNESS must be reached and each minute. And each day must bring another higher level .

The aim is to be fitter and faster than the rest .

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:56 pm

Final day reveals our secret weapon ---morse code with hand signals
And stacking piles of rocks to block attack on our goals lol
Lot ,o,fun i guess but one thing that i wish is they form a bond of comaradry
to carry thru the season

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 8:21 pm

barrybc41 wrote:
to carry thru the season

Spot on Baz.

The last few years the team has looked to be not as united nor passionate towards their teammates (in a footballing sense) than in previous years. It's just been little things like a failure of someone running over to tap a teammate on the bum for a great effort, or rallying around a guy who's head is sagging a bit or even not flying the flag when a teammate cops something untoward from some mongrel from another club.

If we can develop a new closeness, commitment and sense of team as we enter this new era (and I think with all the personal changes the club has made onfield and off, that is exactly what we are entering into) it will serve the club well and give us fans something to rally around and unify over.

In this day of tactic speak, systems, brands, KPI's etc etc the value of the unquantifiable team spirit gets forgotten about when in my view it trumps everything else.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:25 am

Flashman wrote:
barrybc41 wrote:
to carry thru the season

Spot on Baz.

The last few years the team has looked to be not as united nor passionate towards their teammates (in a footballing sense) than in previous years. It's just been little things like a failure of someone running over to tap a teammate on the bum for a great effort, or rallying around a guy who's head is sagging a bit or even not flying the flag when a teammate cops something untoward from some mongrel from another club.

If we can develop a new closeness, commitment and sense of team as we enter this new era (and I think with all the personal changes the club has made onfield and off, that is exactly what we are entering into) it will serve the club well and give us fans something to rally around and unify over.

In this day of tactic speak, systems, brands, KPI's etc etc the value of the unquantifiable team spirit gets forgotten about when in my view it trumps everything else.

Spot on. No doubt we need to have the players broadly stick to team structures, processes etc, but it's a fine line between managing and over-managing a team. It's a game after all, not brain surgery, so players must be able to genuinely feel that team spirit and camaraderie. Furthermore, it needs to be something developed from below, not from coaches, consultants, psychologists or managers. It's why I always loved the ratpack of Swanny, Dids, Heater, Johnno, Taz and Daisy. When they were all at their physical peak, they represented the spirit of the whole team. You knew they'd go into battle for one another and not leave anything on the park. It was the living embodiment of 'side by side' or 'one in all in'. Let's hope our young guns soon develop that same sort of bonding.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:35 pm

All great posts by Barry, Flashman and RudeBoy!

I think team unity and bonding is massive for any successful side out there. The 1990 and 2010 teams demonstrate this whole idea of team unity being crucial and it really give sides an edge over other good sides around them. I think that unity also existed in 2002 and 2003 but sadly we came up against a side more talented and stronger than us in Brisbane in the two Grand Finals we participated during those years.

I think the unity from the team has been missing since 2011 to be honest. Firstly I think after winning a flag in 2010 we lost a small bit of motivation to do it all again and we were purely winning games in 2011 through experience and talent but we weren't necessarily as united as we were in the previous years and I think this got worse in 2012 when Bucks took over and some players started to fall out of favour with him pretty quickly.

It's only now since an exodus of experienced players that team unity and bonding has started to become more evident in training videos I've seen on the club's website. I think it takes years of playing with one another for players to trust each other and to understand each other with their playing styles and habits. This is a team in development and rebuild but it'll get there one day soon enough and when it does I hope it's something special and memorable for supporters of this club.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 6:18 pm

Flashman wrote:
barrybc41 wrote:
to carry thru the season

Spot on Baz.

Spot on. No doubt we need to have the players broadly stick to team structures, processes etc, but it's a fine line between managing and over-managing a team. It's a game after all, not brain surgery, so players must be able to genuinely feel that team spirit and camaraderie. Furthermore, it needs to be something developed from below, not from coaches, consultants, psychologists or managers. It's why I always loved the ratpack of Swanny, Dids, Heater, Johnno, Taz and Daisy. When they were all at their physical peak, they represented the spirit of the whole team. You knew they'd go into battle for one another and not leave anything on the park. It was the living embodiment of 'side by side' or 'one in all in'. Let's hope our young guns soon develop that same sort of bonding.

Spot on Rudeboy and Baz, You can love having the Rat pack around, but as the Hawks or Cats have shown over the years, there is no substitute for a great understanding between players which also means putting one body on line for the team and as you say it is something you can't coach but is built within the group and it takes time. These camps are designed to stimulate team building, but it's still a "holiday" contrary to the Kabota trail hike the Hawks took on a few years back!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:26 pm

Can anybody let me know when the next training session at the Westpac Centre will be? I was hoping to go down on Monday morning but can't find any info regarding this week's agenda.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:39 pm

Neil Appleby wrote:
Can anybody let me know when the next training session at the Westpac Centre will be? I was hoping to go down on Monday morning but can't find any info regarding this week's agenda.

Don’t Know. The Monday they Comeback I guess

duggieboy 

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:41 pm

Was down in Queenstown and miraculouosly spotted the boys out on the track - I think on the Wednesday - geez it got cold on the Friday - snow on the peaks even. Good thinking by the pies to give em such a different/great environment to train in