Good Books read!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:58 am

Dark Emu should be read by everyone.

Latest highlights:

Damascus by Christos Tsiolkas. Book about St Paul that is truly brilliant. If you have any interest in the creator of the catholic church or just that period of time, it's a must read.

There was Still Love by Favel Parret. Beautiful story of a girl brought up by her Czech grandparents in the 80s.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2023 4:15 pm

Dark Emu is a very clever work of Fiction.

I just finished reading all of the Game of Thrones books, only problem, the bastard hasn't finished the series yet. There's 2 more books to come. Mad

Just started reading The Lives of Brian, the Autobiography of Brian Johnson, lead singer of ACDC. It's actually a ripping read, a lot devoted to his years growing up well before ACDC. Bloody interesting life and a real view into post WWII England. Into the early 70's now.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2023 3:35 am

The tattooist of auschwitz & Cilka's Journey

2 great books I read a while back.

100 Top selling books of all time....

https://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2012/aug/09/best-selling-books-all-time-fifty-shades-grey-compare

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2023 9:20 am

Limberlost by Robbie Arnott. Ripper novel set in post-war Tasmania. In fact any of Robbie Arnott's books (The Flames, The Rain Heron) are brilliant and will appeal to all sorts of readers. Can't recommend highly enough.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2023 10:55 pm

Some books I recently repurchased after an old friend never returned them

Savages by Shirley Conrad, just an amazing i a woman book, read it 3 times already!

Penmarric and Cashelmara by Susan Howarth.

Brilliant!

I don’t read too many books because I just can’t stop!

I read Stuart divers book the day it came out, sat outside in the spa till3 in the morning, I just had to finish it!

partypie 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2023 1:44 am

Dark Emu is a very clever work of Fiction.

I just finished reading all of the Game of Thrones books, only problem, the bastard hasn't finished the series yet. There's 2 more books to come. Mad

Just started reading The Lives of Brian, the Autobiography of Brian Johnson, lead singer of ACDC. It's actually a ripping read, a lot devoted to his years growing up well before ACDC. Bloody interesting life and a real view into post WWII England. Into the early 70's now.

Stui, if you like Game of Thrones, it’s well worth reading the Accursed Kings series by Maurice Druon, it inspired the series. It covers mainly French history starting with the annihilation of the Knights Templar by King Phillip iv (and the Pope) in in the early 1300s. It follows the demise of his dynasty

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2023 12:00 pm

Cheers mate, I'll have a look for it.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2023 6:07 pm

Currently reading Matthew Reilly's new book, "Mr Einsteins secretary".

Geez he's good. So fast paced but so much detail jammed in, and he does his research. I pre ordered it, was waiting for me when I got home Thursday, started it Friday arvo. First 20-30 pages were a bit slow but I'm 300 pages in now and loving it.

Do yourself a favour, read anything of his work.

The Scarecrow series, the Jack West series is brilliant, Contest, Hover car Racer (David, get that for your son and read it yourself), The Tournament, geez just get on him. Brilliant Australian author.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2023 6:20 pm

I seem to be reading a lot on anthropology, Celtic Britain and Soviet history. Nothing formal, just reading through articles and Wikipedia-type sources, but I can get lost for hours on topics like that.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2023 8:53 am

Hover car Racer (David, get that for your son and read it yourself)

Thanks for the tip! Smile

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 11:49 am

"I'd Rather Not" is a hilarious memoir by local lad, Robert Skinner. Lauded as the "Funniest book ever written in this country". It will only take you an afternoon to read but it will be a most entertaining afternoon.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 5:00 pm

Hover car Racer (David, get that for your son and read it yourself)

Thanks for the tip! Smile

No dramas, it was originally written for some program aimed at getting boys to read more and distributed free to schools. It's a cracking read, my Mum even loved it. The heroes of the story are 2 young brothers.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2024 6:10 pm

I'm back working through Matthew Reilly's Jack West series. 7 books, started just before Christmas, currently on book 6

It's a cracking read, raiders of he lost ark meets ancient super civilizations, a nod to Dan Brown and science thrown in. Fast paced, full on action adventure with a great tone of family/friends and loyalty.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2024 4:57 pm

The happiest man on earth

This should be required school reading.

Brilliant, inspiring, heartbreaking, hopeful …..

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2024 12:48 pm

Who's it about?

I've lost count of how many books I've read this year, averaging about 1 a week. Finished off all the Matthew Reilly Jack West series, again, back over a few of his others, read Matt Preston's memoir (quite liked it), now I'm going through Luc Longley's account of his first championship with the Bulls.