Queenstown Retreat

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:01 pm
Post subject: Queenstown RetreatReply with quote

Very Happy just watched the Goldy's report on the Queenstown "escape". Luxury pools, scenic countryside, spa pools, grassed training fields, no altitude, and he kept saying that it wasn't a holiday, now if there were some nice sorts in the pictures I for one wouldn't believe him! Actually they look like they were in for some cold weather must be simulating Melbourne. Could even be the calm before the storm or maybe they haven't met the locals down at the local pubs yet Wink Anyway looking forward to more picture from across the Tasman or my case on the antipodal point of the planet!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 12:29 am

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2015-02-01/its-definitely-not-a-holiday

Last edited by watt price tully on Tue Feb 03, 2015 12:30 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 12:30 am

Wow, Keefe has put on some muscle:

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2015-02-02/exciting-times-ahead-as-boys-wrestle-for-spots

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:54 pm

Pies attack preseason headfirst

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2015-02-03/pies-attack-pre-season-head-first

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:36 am

Pies attack preseason headfirst

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2015-02-03/pies-attack-pre-season-head-first

Given our luck with injuries not so sure bungy jumping is the safest idea.

I can see it now, Adams jumps off and all that is hauled back are a pair of legs.

Adams Dismemberment 6 weeks.

Thankfully though not a calf.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:02 pm

I reckon the tide may have turned for the Pie's re injuries.

Now that Rocket Eade has left the injury hex he afflicted on our club seems to have travelled with him.

http://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/sport/afl/suns-defender-steven-may-to-consult-specialist-over-knee-injury-as-gold-coast-injury-list-soars/story-fnj9yd7s-1227200601483

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:47 pm

Flashman wrote:
I reckon the tide may have turned for the Pie's re injuries.

Now that Rocket Eade has left the injury hex he afflicted on our club seems to have travelled with him.

http://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/sport/afl/suns-defender-steven-may-to-consult-specialist-over-knee-injury-as-gold-coast-injury-list-soars/story-fnj9yd7s-1227200601483

Part of the sponsorship deal he had was to maintain a full and vibrant injury listing to ensure maximum product exposure...
Drafted 

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:45 pm

The amount of times they have all tried to state "it's not a holiday" says they are trying to convince themselves. One of the tweets from Marcus Wagner (football manager) today said something about "second training session" and they've been there for a week so they did an "amazing race game" and they've had time to bond the biggest issue they had last year was ranking 15th or 16th in many statistical categories - like disposal accuracy can't see that improving without actually using footballs on a daily basis
Absolute HOLIDAY from where I sit!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:29 pm

Drafted wrote:
The amount of times they have all tried to state "it's not a holiday" says they are trying to convince themselves. One of the tweets from Marcus Wagner (football manager) today said something about "second training session" and they've been there for a week so they did an "amazing race game" and they've had time to bond the biggest issue they had last year was ranking 15th or 16th in many statistical categories - like disposal accuracy can't see that improving without actually using footballs on a daily basis

I think you'll find they're doing multiple training sessions each day. What they choose to do in their own time is their own affair, we just have to hope they don't hurt themselves or embarrass the club doing it. None of us are owned 24/7 by our employers.
Fatui Attata 

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:45 pm

I think Queenstown is a great idea and cleverly timed. It's a looooong pre season, so why not mix it up and manage the squad's spirits and keep them fresh? Going by the training reports, there's been plenty of running, kicking, physical & strategical work done. This is about spending time together doing surprising things. How can that hurt? Other than Swoop's Taylor Adams bungee jump scenario of course.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:39 am

Drafted wrote:

Try changing seats. Sounds like a great way to: train, bond, problem solve as a group, break the monotony of usual training, identify leaders, & have fun at the same time.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:26 am

Drafted wrote:

With all due respect, I think that unless you are there, you CANNOT be really accurate from where you sit!! You just can't accuse the players of having a club sponsored holiday without evidencing the facts. That is utter bloody nonsense. Rolling Eyes

Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:33 pm

Looks like they had a pretty solid session yesterday.

See: http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2015-02-06/photos-main-training-in-queenstown

(includes a classic pic of Swan moving well)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:08 pm

Should have sent them to that little village in Russia where rocky went.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:45 pm

Drafted wrote:

It's a camp aimed at team bonding, which is just as important as training. They're still doing heaps of activities to maintain fitness, so big fat deal if they only have a couple of actual footy training sessions for the week.

Seriously, if they were going to just work on skills non stop the whole week they would have been better off staying in Melbourne.

Pull your head out of your arse and realise there's more to making a successful team than just skills sessions.