What made you sad today?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 68, 69, 70  Next

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:08 pm

Hope the treatment for that stubborn boil was successful.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:51 pm

No more bacon, no more pork for me......

http://www.animalsaustralia.org/if-bacon-was-advertised-truthfully?ua_s=facebook

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:28 am

Funeral this afternoon, no 4 this year, should be 5 but 2 clashed

2 mothers, (the son of one died suddenly 2 weeks later but I didn't go to his, hence the clash), a father, and a friend.

You know your getting old when you have 5 funerals in one year.

The mother this afternoon, went to emergency three times, was sent home, and died the day after the last visit when she was finally admitted, from a lung infection. She wasn't that old. I never met her, but her son is a good friend, and a workmate of hubbies.

One mother had had dementia for years, could no longer speak, or do anything for herself, she'd been that way for 2 years, hell on earth. Her sn had a massive heart attack.

The father lost his wife last year, they were in a nursing home together, had lunch with them there a couple of years ago, they were still so happy, in their 90's.

And sweet Kevin, felt crook for a couple of weeks, too busy to go to the doc, and he just died....52.

Look after yourselves people. You only get one go (that you remember anyway!). Enjoy it. Cheers

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:24 pm

There's been a few deaths up this way as well (4 in one day during last weaks heat-wave).

The Missus aunt went this morning.
She had a stroke 2 nights ago.
We were told yesterday she wasn't expected to make through the night.
I suspect they delayed pulling the plug tihl Dieter (her son) got there, he did last night.
The missus mother is taking it hard, they were twins but Barb is a tower of (I was going to say strength) but stoicism is a better word.
I've been keeping her busy the last 2 daes to take her mind off it but it wasn't really nessesary.
Oh well, I was asked to go to 2 of the 4 but I didn't know either of them that well and it looks were off to Bairnsdale Monday (we think).

Rest in Peace Barbra Morgan.

Last edited by 3.14159 on Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:17 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:27 pm

What happened to them?
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:37 pm

HAL wrote:
What happened to them?

EXT CUBE - FIRST LESSON

They are still a hundred yards from the New Rock when the
sound begins.
It is quite soft, and it stops them in their tracks, so that they
stand paralyzed on the trail with their jaws hanging.
Presently the hominids begin to move forward like sleep-walkers, towards
the source of that magnetic sound.
Totally entranced, they gather around the obelisk.
Now, spinning wheels of light begin to merge, and the spokes
fuse into luminous bars that slowly recede into the distance,
rotating on their axes as they do; and the hominids watch, wide-
eyed, mesmerized captives of the black obelisk.
Then by some magic - though it was no more magical than all
that had gone on before - a perfectly normal scene appears. It
is as if a cubical block had been carved out of the day and
shifted into the night.
Inside that block is a group of four hominids, who might have been members of Moonwatcher's
own tribe.
The carcass of a wart-hog lies near them.
~~~
Such is carbon-based life HAL!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:29 pm

No more bacon, no more pork for me......

http://www.animalsaustralia.org/if-bacon-was-advertised-truthfully?ua_s=facebook

I have a mate who works at a piggery in Corowa who is a sparky. They electrocute them.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:01 pm

Twice!

Do they feel it either time or is it quicker than gas?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:54 pm

If you've ever smelt a pigs fart you'd know a 12 volt battery would be quicker than gas.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:27 pm

There is no excuse for killing any food animal inhumanely. If we cannot afford to eat meat that's been slaughtered in a way that minimizes pain and fear,then there are lots of good vegetarian options.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:47 pm

There is no excuse for killing any food animal inhumanely. If we cannot afford to eat meat that's been slaughtered in a way that minimizes pain and fear,then there are lots of good vegetarian options.

Yep that's why I've given up pork, and, ugh, bacon Sad
I love bacon, it's the gift of the gods

I buy cruelty free only.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:30 pm

Correct!

Last edited by Morrigu on Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:39 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:31 pm

Yep that's why I've given up pork, and, ugh, bacon Sad
I love bacon, it's the gift of the gods

I buy cruelty free only.

You know vegetables scream when you harvest them?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:32 pm

Morrigu wrote:
[quote="Mugwump"]There is no excuse for killing any food animal inhumanely. If we cannot afford to eat meat that's been slaughtered in a way that minimizes pain and fear,then there are lots of good vegetarian options.[/quote]

Correct! Never been a massive fan of veggies ( except tattles - love me tattles) at all to be honest ( and as for fruit yuk yuk yuk) and I so miss eating meat - but when my ideology collided with my dietary choices and my ideology meant I couldn't chew or swallow meat and gagged to the point of chucking well... that was that!

Every so often I will have chicken - but every time I do - I am sick afterwards - self imposed guilt!

And now I find the more I see of fish farming etc - I am starting to feel the same revulsion and I'm not tasting and enjoying it as I always have!

If I didn't substitute red wine for food I would be a stick insect Razz

Yep I know - NQR - but what can you do!
That is interesting. I can chat with people on the web for you.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:03 am

I was told that a friend of mine, who has dubbed herself my adopted grandmother is battling stomach cancer. She's a beautiful lady, she calls me the golden boy in a circle of friends we have. We had a big meetup last year, and seeing how excited she was to meet me, and a few others was a highlight of my time in Melbourne last year.

Fast forward to now, and being told stories from her family, and seeing a photo she put up with her granddaughter, it's so sad she's sad, she looks like she's given up the fight. Her cancer has spread, and they did some scans today and they have to wait.

It's sad also that my grandmother died last year from cancer, and this lady has been more of a grandmother then my grandmother who is still alive. She's been a great support of everything I've done, my radio work, my writing, my poetry, my photography everything.

Compared to many people in their 80's she was so full of life, now it just seems that's been sucked out of her, and she's just waiting for the end to come. It's heartbreaking.

Crying or Very sad

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 68, 69, 70  Next
Page 10 of 70