Ban on Cage Fighting

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:44 am

Wokko wrote:
Disclosure: Big MMA fan and martial artist myself.

First, the sport isn't banned, what's banned is the chainlink fence enclosure that is used to ensure the safety of the fighters. MMA includes a large element of grappling; fighting on the ground using wrestling and submission holds. When fights hit the ground near the edge of the 'arena' in the cage the fighters are kept secure, in the ring that is used in Victoria currently they can fall out and cause significant injuries either to themselves or ringside viewers.

The sport is not 'brutal' or whatever other 'think of the children' handwringing phrase you want to use. It is a contest between two consenting adults using various martial arts styles. The rules are very strict and fighter safety is paramount. There is less risk of acquired brain injury than in boxing as once a fighter is knocked out or incapable of 'intelligently defending oneself' the fight is stopped. In boxing there is a 10 count to regain enough faculty to continue fighting.

On the issue of thuggery, anyone who has been around martial arts or MMA knows the fighters are the very antithesis of the bogan street fighter. Martial arts is always about respect, looking after your opponent and not being a douchebag in the gym. I would feel far safer in a bar full of MMA fighters than footballers. This ties in to the 'violence in the community' theme. Anyone interested in MMA fighting isn't going out to king hit people outside a strip joint, they're joining a martial arts gym/dojo/school and learning the techniques and philosophies of martial arts.

I am tired of the constant ignorance surrounding this sport, if it's not your cup of tea then that's fine. Don't participate, don't watch and leave those of us who do alone. Before making that judgement I would suggest two things, watch a complete UFC event from start to finish. Particularly if you are a boxing fan already or interested in the martial arts. Secondly go to an MMA gym or even a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, judo or Muai Thai school. Meet the people engaged in this sport and see that by and large they are brave, respectable and honourable people.

Woko, I too was a martial arts participant for many years - a student under Barry Bradshaw of the Federation of Instructors of Judo, Jui Jitsui & Chinese boxing. The TV cage fighting is not martial arts. The TV stuff is thuggery & brutality most of the time. It doesn't show Art, it shows brutality most of the time.

More than happy for others to particpate in it: go for it. For me don't bring the circus to Victoria.

Generally speaking, Martial Arts can be a good way for working class males (mostly) to learn about discipline, ritual, submission, & respect in an authoritarian "old fashioned" manner. The Japanese way was through endless repetition to make the conscious unconscious. Got great core strength through the Judo especially (too many years ago)

For me it was learning to fall (hopefully with grace) yielding & trying not to use strength. It was a world apart from the vulgarity of UFC.

Last edited by watt price tully on Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:46 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:45 am

Maybe you should get some sleep now, watt price tully.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:52 am

Thing is WPT, it's already in Victoria but they are using unsafe equipment to appease those who don't like the 'look' of the cage. That's the only actual issue here. Wowsers are using the issue of the cage 'unbanning' to take pot shots at the sport itself, in particular that most Liberal of Police Commissioners.

The sport is legal, currently practiced and shows are put on frequently. The only issue should be the safety of the participants and for that safety the cage is a necessity.

As for UFC being vulgar and not about respect...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PeW-LNv6Vds
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:13 pm

Last edited by 3.14159 on Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:18 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:14 pm

Additionally to those who think it's 'no holds barred' 'no rules' kind of shit, then please, please watch this all the way through. It's a referee explaining rules to the fighters. Very educational for those who don't know the sport that well. Also goes into sportsmanship and MMA as a 'gentleman's sport'.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HGpSp8aS30

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:18 pm

Wokko wrote:
Thing is WPT, it's already in Victoria but they are using unsafe equipment to appease those who don't like the 'look' of the cage. That's the only actual issue here. Wowsers are using the issue of the cage 'unbanning' to take pot shots at the sport itself, in particular that most Liberal of Police Commissioners.

The sport is legal, currently practiced and shows are put on frequently. The only issue should be the safety of the participants and for that safety the cage is a necessity.

keeping it lea\gal means its regulated too, so that's a big plus.

truth is, any kind of contact sport has risks, and that's a fact that wont change, a calculated risk has to be the best result, so yeah I can see your and stuis point.

it certainly more interesting and exciting to watch than boxing, or fake wrestling! and makes for awesome action scenes in movies!!

I personally wouldn't choose to watch any kind of fair dinkum fight, much as I love action movies, not keen on the real thing!! but until they ban boxing, cant see why tthis should be banned, no difference

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:55 pm

It's political correctness gone mad! Wink

Seriously, though, this is one of those things where you tend to wonder what the real purpose of the ban is. Is it:

a) to protect the health and wellbeing of potential fighters?; or

b) to protect the morality of impressionable viewers?

If the former, then I see it like prostitution (sorry for the analogy, Wokko, lol). Regulate it to make sure people aren't being exploited, but keep it legal so that it doesn't go underground.

If the latter, then I think it's a concept based on disputed psychology: that is, does watching violent sports actually make viewers more predisposed to violence, or is it possible that watching this sort of thing is actually a healthy outlet for existing violent urges? I don't know if that question has actually been satisfactorily resolved yet. Certainly, any push to ban violent movies seems to have failed.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:13 pm

Firstly +1 on David's post.

Also, this is the difference between drunken bogan and 'Cage Fighters':

http://news.sky.com/story/730656/yobs-floored-by-cage-fighters-in-drag

No MMA fighter is going out picking fights, and the odd bad apple who might do that is going to jail very quickly... just like anybody who randomly assaults people would.
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:16 pm

Agree 1,000,000% with Wokko.

Difference being, that I'm a massive boxing fan rather than the "multi-style" nature of MMA/UFC, and I don't enjoy fighters being attacked after they've been grounded. But I don't begrudge anyone that does enjoy it, and nobody is actually forced to participate.

Love the technical aspects of a boxing match - give me a 12 round "chess match" style fight anyday, over a brutal 3 round war without any displays of competent defence ending in an eye-catching KO.

I love the sweet science of Boxing, love the fact that you are equipped with exactly the same means to win or lose as your opponent; 2 gloves and nothing else to attack & defend with, love the technicalities of the rules (when officiated properly, incompetent referees get weeded out pretty quickly), love the discipline and respect of being in and around a boxing gym (as opposed to a "fitness" gym where roided up wankers prance around looking at themselves in the mirror), love the fact that a bloke (R.I.P. Mr. Brockton, and kudos to others like you) can gather troubled local youths and teach them values that will stop them going down the "wrong" path............

Complete ignorance from anyone who advocates banning any of these pursuits because someone (who knows what they're getting into by the way), has a chance of getting hurt. The benefits outweigh the drawbacks by that far that you can't quantify it.

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:28 pm

Wokko wrote:

Quite an emotive video with music highlights. That's glitz & shmulz.

Respect bro:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBKk1McBLxM

I put the UFC or what ever it's called on the same level as cock fighting & dog fighting with dedicated men who are trained in combat. It is far from the grace martial arts can be & should be IMO.

Like gambling I don't thing it should be banned just don't have it here, have it in NSW: As a society we Vics were better off when the Pokies were in NSW not here.

In terms of the rules with respect to the cage etc & wanting a change to a boxing ring, this is patently stupid.

Respect:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FOUqQt3Kg0

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:29 pm

3.14159 wrote:

to the quote that is!! Laughing Laughing

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:41 pm

Absurd notion to bring back this legalised brutality. WTF was Andrews thinking? Calling this a "sport" doesn't disguise the fact that it is naked brutality porn. No excuse for it. Andrews is a dickhead.

Good line that is, naked brutality porn: Nail Hit Head.

I described how in martial arts, especially the Japanese & Chinese forms, part of it is making the conscious unconscious through repetition.

However caged fighting or whatever the franchise is called & the way it is glamourised (naked brutal porn) is making the unconscious conscious through sublimation of latent homosexual urges. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Personally I blame the Greeks but that's another matter.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:45 pm

I never call this a sport doesn't disguise [b]the fact that it is naked brutality porn[b], that would be impolite.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:51 pm

However caged fighting or whatever the franchise is called & the way it is glamourised (naked brutal porn) is making the unconscious conscious through sublimation of latent homosexual urges.

You say that like it's a bad thing! Razz

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:56 pm

However caged fighting or whatever the franchise is called & the way it is glamourised (naked brutal porn) is making the unconscious conscious through sublimation of latent homosexual urges.

You say that like it's a bad thing! Razz

Not at all. Although sometimes a zucchini is just a zucchini. Wink I've always loved this parody

http://muscle.iuhu.org/2012/12/funniest-video-with-little-britain-mocking-american-bodybuilders/

Page 2 of 7