Ban on Cage Fighting

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:30 pm
Post subject: Ban on Cage FightingReply with quote

is ridiculous , as are the reasons for it. It's all about the aesthetics of the 'cage"

Rolling Eyes

Seriously? The sport of Mixed Martial Arts is legal in Victoria, as long as they fight in a boxing ring which is actually unsafe compared to the fenced in octagon that MMA normally use.

When you hear the pollies and others talk about why cage fighting should stay banned they talk about it as though it's the sport they've banned not the arena it's fought in. Way to utterly miss the point.

Apparently it might encourage the antisocial behaviour we see in some young people punching and licking people for no reason. Well if those people can't distinguish between participating in a sport and belting someone at maccas just take them out of society and the gene pool.

I'm not a big fan of the sport personally but it's a legit, regulated sport. It does have rules, it's not just a free for all. So memo to the chief cop and all the Pollies, get over yourselves.

If you think the current status quo should remain, I'd be really interested in your logic why fighting inside a chain link fence is somehow more viscous and brutal than doing exactly the same thing in a boxing ring.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:28 pm

I don't think we should ban but disallow it in Victoria. It's brutal, violent, & I can't see any redeeming qualities what so ever.

If we have it then the violent show should be paying money to the Acquired Brain Injury Foundation.

Should take the grand prix with it

5150 Sagittarius

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:35 pm

I fought a cage once, lost by TKO
Cagey bastard he was.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:38 pm

I don't think we should ban but disallow it in Victoria. It's brutal, violent, & I can't see any redeeming qualities what so ever.

If we have it then the violent show should be paying money to the Acquired Brain Injury Foundation.

Yeah, but it's exactly the same whether fought inside a cage or a ring. It's the cage part that's banned, which is fkn stupid IMHO.

5150 Sagittarius

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:42 pm

Yeah, but it's exactly the same whether fought inside a cage or a ring. It's the cage part that's banned, which is fkn stupid IMHO.

Maybe lower the "cage" and make the octagon a 1400mm high post and wire fence.

Maybe electrify just the top wire only.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:45 pm

That could work. 240 volts, none of this 12 volt stuff. Wink

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:50 pm

5150 wrote:
I fought a cage once, lost by TKO
Cagey bastard he was.

Welcome to the "dad joke association" Wink

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 8:12 pm

Crying or Very sad Hey we love the GP and MotoGP especially!

I know they spend heaps of taxpayers money but us bogan rev heads ( who pay shiploads of tax btw) must be entitled to some enjoyment

When they stop spending mega taxpayer dollars on boring useless sculptures and fancy nancy prancing dancing thingys then we will give up the GPs

Signed

UMB Wink Razz

King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 8:15 pm

Don't like the sport myself (I've always held the principle that once someone hits the deck then you back off) - but "bans" and the like are just plain stupidity.

All it is, is political posturing; pandering to people that know nothing about it.

All that bans and the like achieve, is to help "spread the word" of the sport. UFC should be paying the State Government for advertising!! - it's only a matter of time before they put on a card here regardless of the current "cage ban". (Remembering the sport is legal, just that the "cage" isn't.)

I'd love someone to explain to me why a fenced in octagonal shaped ring (or a "cage" if you will), is more dangerous to stage a bout in than a "squared circle" with 3 ropes.
Please.

Basically the state Liberals are banking on the fact that there are more people worried about the "image" of a cage fight in Victoria, than there are people who follow and enjoy the sport. Labor is banking on the opposite.
Simple as that. Any other argument is just plain bullshit.

"It will lead to more violence on the street"........ Seriously??????? (Not sure who I'm quoting, but that was an argument from someone on a news grab on the radio, I presume a Liberal politician). Seriously?????
Ban it from being shown live on Main Event, ban the sport and not just the ring the most popular organisation use to stage bouts in, and ban it from being taught in gyms & dojos - if you truly believe that.......

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 8:23 pm

Morrigu wrote:

Crying or Very sad Hey we love the GP and MotoGP especially!

I know they spend heaps of taxpayers money but us bogan rev heads ( who pay shiploads of tax btw) must be entitled to some enjoyment

When they stop spending mega taxpayer dollars on boring useless sculptures and fancy nancy prancing dancing thingys then we will give up the GPs

Signed

UMB Wink Razz

Keep the bikes. However handing over millions of public monies without public accountability is just wrong. CCCC. Confidentiality in Confidence for Corrupt Crooks.

At least it wasn't BBBB Ban the Burka Backflip by Bronny (but that's an entirely other alliteration let alone thread)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:28 am

Absurd notion to bring back this legalised brutality. WTF was Andrews thinking? Calling this a "sport" doesn't disguise the fact that it is naked brutality porn. No excuse for it. Andrews is a dickhead.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:45 am

im sure a lot say the same thing about AFL, rugby, (not gridiron, all that padding)

I don't know why anyone would submit themselves to it, but hey, its more a sport than lawn bowls, darts or synchronized swimming!!

don't get the grand prix comments at all.

but yes, all sports should pay a premium towards the medical conditions they enhance. AFL pay anything towards the Duckwood brain injury wave thast will come in Geeeelong soon?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:00 am

but hey, its more a sport than lawn bowls, darts or synchronized swimming!!

Tell that to the participants of the sports you just discriminated against. I don't think much of Netball but it's a sport and the people playing it enjoy it as a sport.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:38 am

Well that's okay. I thought it was too.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:00 am

Disclosure: Big MMA fan and martial artist myself.

First, the sport isn't banned, what's banned is the chainlink fence enclosure that is used to ensure the safety of the fighters. MMA includes a large element of grappling; fighting on the ground using wrestling and submission holds. When fights hit the ground near the edge of the 'arena' in the cage the fighters are kept secure, in the ring that is used in Victoria currently they can fall out and cause significant injuries either to themselves or ringside viewers.

The sport is not 'brutal' or whatever other 'think of the children' handwringing phrase you want to use. It is a contest between two consenting adults using various martial arts styles. The rules are very strict and fighter safety is paramount. There is less risk of acquired brain injury than in boxing as once a fighter is knocked out or incapable of 'intelligently defending oneself' the fight is stopped. In boxing there is a 10 count to regain enough faculty to continue fighting.

On the issue of thuggery, anyone who has been around martial arts or MMA knows the fighters are the very antithesis of the bogan street fighter. Martial arts is always about respect, looking after your opponent and not being a douchebag in the gym. I would feel far safer in a bar full of MMA fighters than footballers. This ties in to the 'violence in the community' theme. Anyone interested in MMA fighting isn't going out to king hit people outside a strip joint, they're joining a martial arts gym/dojo/school and learning the techniques and philosophies of martial arts.

I am tired of the constant ignorance surrounding this sport, if it's not your cup of tea then that's fine. Don't participate, don't watch and leave those of us who do alone. Before making that judgement I would suggest two things, watch a complete UFC event from start to finish. Particularly if you are a boxing fan already or interested in the martial arts. Secondly go to an MMA gym or even a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, judo or Muai Thai school. Meet the people engaged in this sport and see that by and large they are brave, respectable and honourable people.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 1 of 7