Collingwood v Brisbane in 2015...who wins?

Sir Alan of Didak Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:27 pm
Post subject: Collingwood v Brisbane in 2015...who wins?Reply with quote

With the addition of one D.Beams and Christiensen from Geelong, as well as players like Rich, Reddan and Luenberger returning from long layoffs, you would have to be pretty bullish about making the 8 if you were a Brions supporter.

Take a look at this for a best 22 + next best 10 depth players:

B, Harwood Merret McGuire
HB Hanley Clarke Adcock
C. Reddan D.Beams Christiensen
HF. Zorko Close Mayes
F. Green Freeman Staker

Rucks: Martin, Rockliff, Rich

Inter: Aish, Taylor, Luenberger

Sub: Paparone

Emerg: C.Beams, Golby, Bewick, Gardiner, Lester, Robertson, Cutler, O’Brien, West, Paine

Now compare it to ours:

B. Williams N.Brown Toovey
HB. Seedsman Frost Langdon
C. Sidebottom J.Thomas Freeman
HF. Swan Cloke Adams
F. Elliot Reid Goldsack

Rucks: Witts, Pendlebury, Greenwood

Inter: Varcoe, Broomhead, Grundy

Sub: Fasolo

Emer: Keefe, Macaffer, Dwyer, Crisp, Sinclair, Blair, White, Moore, Scharanberg, Pick #5

Not much in it…if anything, Brisbane’s best looks a little bit stronger than ours. A lot will rest on the shoulders of Freeman/Close…if they kick 60-70 goals between them, Brisbane are all of a sudden a top 4 side. Not a bad effort, considering the exodus of young players from the year before.

For us, will Pick #5-Freeman-Scharenberg-Moore become A-Graders? If "yes" then we will enjoy sustained success, if not next year, then from 2016 onwards. At this stage, I've only placed one of them (Freeman) in the starting 22 for Round 1.

The Round 1 game is going to be one of the most anticipated opening games we’ve had in a long, long time. I reckon we will start slight underdogs and traditionally, we play very well in those circumstances…particularly when travelling interstate. Have a feeling though we will be better placed against them later on in the season than at the beginning...a stark contrast to this year.

Regardless, would love to start the season by thumping the mongrels by 10 goals, although 1 point may be even sweeter...

Last edited by Sir Alan of Didak on Sun Oct 19, 2014 5:01 pm; edited 10 times in total

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:46 pm

Heaps of second year blues in that Lions list. Predict a massive fail and missing the finals.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:49 pm

Unfortunately, there's no such thing as a certainty going into 2015.

That and history tells us that we've always had trouble with the Lions since they merged with Brisbane. (Even in 2010, we couldn't beat them).

The last time we met, there were unusual circumstances. Jamie Elliott was pulled out before the game, we lost Pendles in the warm up, Reid subbed out 4 minutes into the game,we had a guy that played a full VFL game in Geelong come in as the sub in the first quarter. Then we lost Cloke 10 mins into the second quarter before Beams was also taken out. All this before half time.

But we lost by 10 goals. And that's the bottom line.

The humiliated us. It was one of the worst moments I can remember as a Collingwood supporter.

And they will pay the price in round 1.

Having the chance to right a wrong in round 1 is rare. We'll find out a lot about this group when round one is over.

JC Hartley Cancer

16 premierships now in the history books. Let's be the first club to 17 premierships.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:57 pm

Presti35 wrote:
Unfortunately, there's no such thing as a certainty going into 2015.

That and history tells us that we've always had trouble with the Lions since they merged with Brisbane. (Even in 2010, we couldn't beat them).

The last time we met, there were unusual circumstances. Jamie Elliott was pulled out before the game, we lost Pendles in the warm up, Reid subbed out 4 minutes into the game,we had a guy that played a full VFL game in Geelong come in as the sub in the first quarter. Then we lost Cloke 10 mins into the second quarter before Beams was also taken out. All this before half time.

But we lost by 10 goals. And that's the bottom line.

The humiliated us. It was one of the worst moments I can remember as a Collingwood supporter.

And they will pay the price in round 1.

Having the chance to right a wrong in round 1 is rare. We'll find out a lot about this group when round one is over.

That happened in the 3rd term.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:23 pm

They have a very good young midfield, not so great on other lines.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:24 pm

Pies by 65 points. Wink
Darkstranger 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:20 pm

But didn't the media say they could have the best midfield in the AFL now? Didn't realise Christenson was that good?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:28 pm

^^They'll be very close to having the best midfield.
Az 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 5:21 pm

Reminds of the sort of mix we had back in 2011. It's the classic case sides had against us of who do you tag? You've got Rockliff who gets an absolute stack of the ball and drives it forward ala Swanny , Beams who can also find a lot of the footy and uses it with class ala Pendles, Zorko who is pacy and uses it better than most ala traitor Thomas. We are going to have to either have a very capable midfield ourselves or be very accountable when we play these bastards.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 5:43 pm

Tough one. We have a better forward line only because of Cloke, but we could struggle with supply as I expect Brisbane to win the clearances 80% of the time.

If we have a new forward line tactic (not kick it onto Trav's head), then we're probably 0.01% favourite

Pies 50.01%
Brisbane 49.99%

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:22 pm

Tough one. We have a better forward line only because of Cloke, but we could struggle with supply as I expect Brisbane to win the clearances 80% of the time.

If we have a new forward line tactic (not kick it onto Trav's head), then we're probably 0.01% favourite

Pies 50.01%
Brisbane 49.99%

We will win the clearances easily with Pendles, Swanny (back to his best), Adams and Greenwood. I expect Adams and Greenwood to physically smash the Lions mids.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:23 pm

Inter: Aish, Taylor, Luenberger

C. Sidebottom J.Thomas Freeman
HF. Swan Cloke Adams
F. Elliot Reid Goldsack

Fair line up on that Brissy bench.

Geez we look slow!

Be a highly anticipated contest.
I still have the Fremantle disaster ringing on my eyes !

Fast Track: Lions by 40+
Slippery, and we show up: We're a sniff !
Sir Alan of Didak Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:59 pm

Freeman's lightening quick Cigar, as is Varcoe on the bench. Seedsman's no slouch either. Agreed though, we ain't as quick as Brisbane. Then again, neither are Hawthorn who - Hill and Smith aside - prove that fast of mind is more important than fast of body.

Last edited by Sir Alan of Didak on Sun Oct 19, 2014 9:08 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:07 pm

The Lions midfield is actually quite slow. Depending on who we pick, we could be quicker.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:43 am

TIME we tore Leperdryreech and his skint mob a new one, we owe these pricks, revenge is a dish best served cold.