Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index
 The RulesThe Rules FAQFAQ
   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch 

What to do?

Users browsing this topic:0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 0 Guests
Registered Users: None

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 9:46 pm
Post subject: What to do?Reply with quote

I am a small business owner, I put on a person who was out of work on a full time position 2 years ago ( a relative I didn't have have enough hours of work to give him) I paid him 40 hours a week for 1 and 1/2 years average of probably 28 hours work a week. About 6 months ago business had picked up and offered him a pay rise and he said no as it would affect his benefits from the government. So I said okay, now 6 months later he asks for a pay rise because his other part time work earned him too much and he will now lose the benefits he had. Should I now give him an increase or not?
Nick - Pie Man 

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:11 pm
Post subject: Reply with quote

I would look at it on its merits. Does he deserve one? You seemed to think so six months ago.

His benefits aren't really your issue.

But it is a bit odd, offering a pay increase and having that offer rejected. Seriously?
Mugwump 

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:15 pm

^ agreed, if he was worth a pay rise then, why not now ?

Whether a benefits system which provides a disincentive to pay rises (and the associated tax revenue) is rational is another question....

KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:18 pm

Nick - Pie Man wrote:
I would look at it on its merits. Does he deserve one? You seemed to think so six months ago.

His benefits aren't really your issue.

But it is a bit odd, offering a pay increase and having that offer rejected. Seriously?