Harry for Mitch: how it would effect us

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:48 pm

I've warmed to the idea of Watts to be honest after initially dismissing the notion entirely.

If and it's a very big if I know we could unlock the potential he obviously showed at U18 level that saw him go at pick 1 then it would be a massive win.

For me the one thing Watts desperately needs to do is put 10kg of muscle on to his undersized 88kg frame which I'm sure would not only allow him to hold his ground more easily in contested situations it would boost his confidence.

Right now he is very much soft of body, soft of mind.

He was drafted at 82.5kg so has only managed to put on 5.5kg during his time at Melbourne.

Ben Reid was equally skinny when he was drafted but he would have put on 20kg during his time at the pies.

So either Watts is genetically not able to put much weight on or the player development and conditioning at Melbourne is utter crap.

He might of course also need a good kick up the arse and made to work harder in the gym.

Happy to have either of Watts or Clark in a straight swap for O'Brien.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:55 pm

Good observations by all.

It could be win/win loss/loss or win/loss.

Risky for all parties but we need a quality big forward and Clark at his best provides that. Go for it I say. Age is on his side.

Dr Pie 

Dr Pie

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:57 pm

If Mitch Clark has recovered from depression and various physical injuries he would be a valuable addition but IMO it is a big if. I would hate to see H go but a tall forward/ruckman to play the role that White seems incapable of playing would be a huge step towards returning to the eight and eventually the four.

Albert Parker, you must be joking. Why would we want Mitch Robinson whose off field behaviour and dishonesty undermines whatever there is to be gained from his football skills.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:58 pm

Swap for Watts could be good.
More upside than downside.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:14 pm

Both Watts and Clark has massive upside potential….more than H, so a swap is a good idea.

Of course, there are no guarantees and both could turn out as great as Princess Snow "Jessie" White.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:26 pm

Mate, it's looking more and more like we have nothing to lose, so why not?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:19 pm

Lots of 'if H goes' sentiment in this thread. As far as I'm concerned he's gone already wether he likes it or not. Too many chances. I Remember when Nick Davis was humming and haahing years ago. Ed came out on the back page and said if you don't wanna be here your free to go. It still applies in my book. The likes of Maxy and Bally saying in recent days that it might be time to move on just confirms it. They are two of his biggest supporters and it speaks volumes that a great career in the black and white has concluded. Good luck to H and he'd always be welcomed back with open arms as far as I'm concerned. He's off so let's make it happen and get the best deal possible.
Breadcrawl 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:34 pm

H for Clark is a great trade - for Melbourne.

I want Watts.

We should try to get both for Harry and Young

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 pm

axl13 wrote:
I believe they would need to give us another pick or player. Clarke is a huge risk for the pies but could very well pay off. Moving Cloke to CHF would be awesome and he would play better footy there.

Clarke at FF and Cloke at CHF as the Potential of being a Scary Forward Line.

Agree Cloke is a CHF not a FF

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

Joel wrote:
1. H is a required player at Collingwood.

Is he? He's form has been terrible. He isn't what he used to be...and even then, he only offered that form for a couple of seasons. He's replaceable.

Marsh could take Lumumba’s spot in the Team

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:04 pm

Breadcrawl wrote:

I want Watts.

Don't think the Dees are that stupid. Here's hoping though.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:12 pm

Breadcrawl wrote:

I want Watts.

Don't think the Dees are that stupid. Here's hoping though.

Just have to see how they Drafted and Trade over the last 2 years Wink

Albert Parker 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:35 pm

For me the one thing Watts desperately needs to do is put 10kg of muscle on to his undersized 88kg frame which I'm sure would not only allow him to hold his ground more easily in contested situations it would boost his confidence.

Right now he is very much soft of body, soft of mind.

He was drafted at 82.5kg so has only managed to put on 5.5kg during his time at Melbourne.

So either Watts is genetically not able to put much weight on or the player development and conditioning at Melbourne is utter crap.

He might of course also need a good kick up the arse and made to work harder in the gym.

I have heard he is prone to goofing off and playing pokies etc with his time.
I think he is lazy and not worth chasing.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:59 pm

What has Watts done to warrant us chasing him? If he was a pick 38, nobody would even mention him as a potential trade. He has done bugger all since debuting in the big time. Too soft & that wont change regardless of jumper. Clark might be a bomb out, I don't know. But at least he wont shit himself when a contest is to be won.
BEAMER09 

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:04 am

Worst pick 1 I have ever seen...
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum All times are GMT + 11 Hours