Mitch Clark

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum

bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:21 pm

Has played 15 Games in 3 Years. Has lower foot problems (not good for big men) & has mental issues. Given he is only 27 years of age.

Would I trade for him? No. I would be very surprised if a club picked him up in a trade.
If he makes it to Pre Season draft and we have a pick, then maybe.

Jock McHale

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:41 pm

Will get a bit of interest. You'd imagine that the Doggies and the Saints would be keen but they don't quite meet his "successful club" criteria. Doggies could advance pretty quickly with a quality KPF though. Cats might be interested, have a couple of developing key forwards but might prefer a more immediate outcome. Bumbers if Ryder goes could also be in the market.

Not sure he meets a need at the Pies.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:56 pm

Big T wrote:
Word on the street is he wants to go to Queensland

Which street is that? The word on the radio this morning is that he wants to stay in Melbourne, but does not want to play with Melbourne.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 3:29 pm

North have shown interest as well.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:07 pm

Joel wrote:
Big T wrote:

Which street is that? The word on the radio this morning is that he wants to stay in Melbourne, but does not want to play with Melbourne.

90% of 'word' 'whispers' 'mail' 'sources' is Bigfooty, Facebook or Twitter.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 6:13 pm

Wokko wrote:
90% of 'word' 'whispers' 'mail' 'sources' is Bigfooty, Facebook or Twitter.

And our own minds.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 6:17 pm

Joel wrote:
Big T wrote:

It (the word) has merit for a range of reasons, but I wouldn't touch this bloke with a 10 foot bargepole, and I doubt the Lions or Suns will either.

In racing parlance; others preferred

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 6:44 pm

Demons will play hard ball with him as he is still a listed player. He indicated to them he was done with AFL so they will feel a bit bitter if they get nothing for him since they actually paid him a settlement.
At his best he would be a great foil for Cloke and White leaving Reid free to play back for us.
I doubt we will be offering up anything substantial but if he became available for nothing and didn't command a huge pay packet then why not. He played some good footy at Brisbane so his best is good enough.
How he is mentally is a other issue for the club to sort through.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 7:38 pm

No. Not worth the risk. Mid 20s pick for H and then use it in the Draft. We'll pick up better in the Draft. Beams, Elliott, Broomy& Grundy are all around the pick 20s. That is the quality we could Draft that will then match our current list profile peak. I reckon next year is when we'll start make a play for more senior talent. This year should be about the Draft.

The risk of Clarke going off the rails again is too high. I would have thought he would want go home to Perth for more stability anyway.
Wolf 

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 7:43 pm

Pros:

Sticks marks, kicks goals from anywhere inside the 50
Makes the other tall(s) a bit more accountable, but more-so confident
Would be Gung-ho at repaying the people that gave him a second chance

Cons:

Soft tissue injuries, and injury management
And the obvious:

What we do know about clinical depression is that its not just feeling 'sad' or flat and lazy, its more a range of ups and downs and maybe confidence and then self-confinement, a line graph as big as your TV screen, bigger than the waves on the south coast this week. Everybody is different, but if I've heard people describe it like your emotions are 'screamed over a megaphone'.

There are very effective ways to deal with these things now, if you just ask. So that is what my best mate who goes through that reckons.

I think the man needs a second chance and I would like to see him in the Black and White

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:28 pm

Hopefully he does the right thing by the dees and allows them to get the best deal for him they can.

He owes them that.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:29 pm

Just watching On the Couch. Discussing Clark, MS said Clarke was seen at the Westpac Centre. He wasn't there admiring the bobby Rose statue.

Not sure if he was getting Chicken Parma or having a meeting. But the inclination was the the Pies are a chance at getting him.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:38 pm

melliot wrote:
Just watching On the Couch. Discussing Clark, MS said Clarke was seen at the Westpac Centre. He wasn't there admiring the bobby Rose statue.

Not sure if he was getting Chicken Parma or having a meeting. But the inclination was the the Pies are a chance at getting him.

Perfect Ruck/Forward

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:41 pm

A swap involving O'Brien perhaps.

http://afltables.com/afl/stats/players/M/Mitch_Clark.html

Az 

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:44 pm

A straight swap for Heretier is looking likely I would imagine. Would have preferred a H coupled with a 2nd rounder for one of their first round picks, but I'd be happy with a straight swap.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum All times are GMT + 11 Hours