Luke Ball Retires

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:44 pm

Beast wrote:
woftam wrote:
Did Luke retire or was he retired by the club? Requires back surgery but is playing tomorrow night? Just strange after he had come out & said he wanted to play on next year.

Admire the man immensely. Thanks Bally.

Clearly pushed, Bucks seems to think we have an abundance of leaders at the Club :/

On top of being a Champion player Luke is a top bloke irl.

Thanks heaps for everything mate.

You can’t say 100% he was Pushed

something "fishy" at the club. he was on radio other day and said he could go on, and few days later has to have "back surgery" yet is still going to play in last game.

thanks bally for a champion player
Leggie Aries

Bucks for PM.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:53 pm

Nothing fishy mate.
The want and desire to play is different to the physically being able to sustain it for another season.

Out and out champion.
Sadly missed but great memories.
As said by many, he will go down as a great for the club.
A friggin warrior.

All the best Lukey Ball.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:30 pm

A career well played sir.

Thanks for all you done and i hope to see you take a prominent spot in the AFL where we at least will get a fair go.

VicParkTragic 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:32 pm

Have to be one of the best trades into collingwood ever. Seemed to epitomise what quality footballers should be like as soon as he arrived. And he could play!!
Yes a true champion both of the club and game.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:39 pm

Been carrying a back injury for for quite a few weeks, it's why he missed games recently. Surgery is definitely news.

Very sad to see the demise of such a legend, would have been fantastic to have him go round 1 more year but he struggled this season with the pace of the game, can't see it improving in 2015. Bally has taken (another) 1 for the long term benefit of the team.
winpies Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:01 am

Congratulations Bally. You have done yourself proud both at the 'aints and specifically at the Pies as a premiership player. They cannot take that away from you.

You have been a role model for our boys, put your heart and soul into your footy and got the best out of yourself. I hope you are as proud of what you have achieved as I am of you.

Enjoy your retirement.

Last edited by winpies on Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:51 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:46 am

If Rossy had played him in the last quarter of '09 he would've been a Saints premiership player and wouldn't have gone anywhere. Thank Rossy for giving us a Collingwood champion, premiership player, hard nut and good bloke.

I think he had one more year, it was the Saints thinking he was done that got him to us, now we're the ones underestimating him. Thanks for the Premiership and 5 years as the Pies extractor!
Dr Pie 

Dr Pie

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:48 am

A quality player and a quality person.

He gave so much to Collingwood and also to the game in his role with the players association.

I heard him doing guest comments a couple of times on 774. He would make a very good coach.

Thanks Luke for your role in our most recent premiership and for five years of inspiring entertainment.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:56 am

Definitely pushed, its a shame as I am sure he could be of great value next year even if it was mostly in the VFL helping the younger players

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:32 am

I copped quite a bit of flak from some of my fellow Nicksters mid season when I stated that Ball's time was now up and that Adams was now our first choice inside mid. Fortunately both Ball and the club share that view. I'm glad Ball gets to finish his career in the seniors, instead of running around in the ressies which he would have done had he played on next year. He was a courageous and supremely professional player who always gave 100 %. He retires as a Collingwood Premiership player. We'll done Luke.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:05 am

Flashman wrote:
Bally's class towards his old club after the victory in the replay is a shining example of what sportsmanship is all about and shows just what a tremendous human being he is.

All the best champ.

Indeed, it was a moment of sublime decency and sportsmanship. If only there were more like him in the competition.

Clifton Hill-Billy 

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:41 am

Thanks for the 2010 premiership Bally (also 2011 prelim was pretty good), loved the way the demented panther went about it, pity the umpires considered the did not have a neck for the majority of the time he played for us. A true champion in every sense of the word.
collie dog 

RIP Shelby 11-10-13

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:04 am

Another one forced out by Buckley, just when we need some wise old heads around the club. I tell you Buckley is threatened by people wth a bit of experience at this caper.

Well done Luke Ball you champion and wonderful bloke. Very Happy

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:12 am

I doubt he was forced out - the only thing forcing the issue was his body... when you are so tough and harsh on your own safety as Ball has been over the years the body pays the price!

A premiership player who managed almost 5 years with the pies after he was off-loaded by the saints! Will always be in Lyon's nightmares - good on ya Ball!!! Smile

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:34 am

Yeah I don't think he was forced out. Bucks would have had a realistic chat with him but ultimately would have left it up to Ball. A champion player and bloke.

Hopefully the club keep him around in some capacity.

Still fondly remember his goal in the 2011 prelim just as the Dawks fans were laughing at us after Buddies arse goal and thinking they were home.

Page 5 of 8