Round 18 - Collingwood vs Essendon at Victoria Park

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:32 am
Post subject: Round 18 - Collingwood vs Essendon at Victoria ParkReply with quote

Where and When:
1:10pm this Saturday at the best football ground in the nation, the one true home of the Mighty Magpies!

Broadcast:
TV - ABC1 in Victoria from 1:00pm. Replayed nationally at 2:30am on Thursday August 14th. Available on iView from Sunday.

Radio - Streamed live via the Collingwood FC smartphone app (for iPhone and Android). Also being streamed via collingwoodfc.com.au ( http://streaming.gohosting.com.au/bpmmedia4.m3u ).

Internet - LiveChat at collingwood.fc.com.au; score updates in this thread.

Where They Sit:
Collingwood: 7th (9 wins, 6 losses, 109.93%)
Essendon: 11th (6 wins, 8 losses, 1 draw, 94.28%)

Team:
B: Seedsman Scharenberg Ramsay
HB: Armstrong Yagmoor Marsh
C: Langdon Martin Young
HF: Ball Karnezis Mooney
F: Lynch Gault Dwyer
R: Grundy Thomas Kennedy
Int: Gray Hellier Sinclair J. Williams Matheson Moloney Wallace Allan Moore* Riddle Ferguson Turner Greenhough

Last Time They Met:
Round 4, 2014 at Windy Hill
Essendon 13.9.87, def by
Collingwood 17.10.112

Head to Head:
Played: 2 (since 2013)
Collingwood: 2
Essendon: 0

How They Fared Last Week:
Collingwood 13.14.92, def
Box Hill 12.9.81

Williamstown 20.12.132, def
Essendon 8.13.61

NOTE:
This is our last home game of the season. So, if you're in Melbourne and you've got nothing to do this Saturday afternoon, or if you're not making the trip across the Nullabor and need to watch a footy game in Melbourne where one of the participating teams is Collingwood, do yourself a favour and get down to Victoria Park. Entry is free to all comers...

Over to you...

Last edited by MagpieBat on Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:02 am; edited 3 times in total

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:58 pm

The reserves squad...

Collingwood
Int: Gray Hellier Sinclair J. Williams Matheson Moloney Wallace Allan Moore* Riddle Ferguson Turner Greenhough

The Magnificent Vessel of Greatness that is The Seed has returned. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

But may I direct you attention to the extended interchange where, for the first time since the Malcolm Fraser years, a Moore has been named to play for Collingwood. Truly, a momentous occasion... Cool

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=3251515

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:09 pm

The reserves squad...

Collingwood

The Magnificent Vessel of Greatness that is The Seed has returned. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

But may I direct you attention to the extended interchange where, for the first time since the Malcolm Fraser years, a Moore has been named to play for Collingwood. Truly, a momentous occasion... Cool

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=3251515

Welcome to Moore, defense could certainly use an extra tall.

Still no Freeman, maybe next week.

Senior I/C players bolded and we'll obviously lose 4-5 of them but still a strong squad.

Disappointed Martin hasn't been given more time to establish himself in the seniors but he definitely bolsters the 2nds.

Good to have the Seed back, hopefully a senior recall isn't too far away.

Last edited by jackcass on Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
perthmagpie Aries

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:16 pm

That team looks strong even allowing for the fact four will go out and possibly one other will fly to Perth. How our VFL team performs seems to greatly depend on how many of our emerging ball winners are in the team. When we have Martin, Dwyer, Kennedy and Thomas in we are strong. With Ball likely to be in the seniors this week and possibly the other three players being Langdon, Young and Armstrong then that strong midfield core should bring us a win.

I went to the previous Windy Hill game and we had all these guys from memory and Adams and Hudson so we were good in the middle that day.

I hope Karnezis and Sinclair can work into some form. Great to see Moorey's son playing this week. God I'd love to be there but the next best thing is that it is on the ABC.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:12 pm

Welcome to Moore, defense could certainly use an extra tall.

Hmm.

Looking at the named Essendon side, I can definitely see 3 tall or tall-ish players who will need a tall back. Pears (playing forward these days?), Kefford and one of Bellchambers/Tagliabue.

Riddle and Marsh you'd reckon get Kefford and Pears. The resting ruckman will require a man, so Moore could do it, or maybe Scharenberg. Tim Allan has played key defence for us before, done okay, so I reckon he probably gets a key defensive job....

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:11 pm

But I am super excited to see Moore play and Also great to see Scharanberg named on the Ground though I doubt he will play Full Back.

I be going down for sure, just have to check if there is any TrainLine work on the Frankston line like last week

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:11 pm

We'll possibly see the beginning of two of our most significant backline players for the next 10 years.

Scharenberg and Moore.

Very exciting.

Could also through in Langdon and Seeds too.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:11 pm

We'll possibly see the beginning of two of our most significant backline players for the next 10 years.

Scharenberg and Moore.

Very exciting.

Could also through in Langdon and Seeds too.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:18 pm

melliot wrote:

Scharenberg and Moore.

Very exciting.

Or, we could be seeing our next Barry Price and Peter McKenna... Wink

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:36 pm

I'd rather Moore become a forward.
sixpoints 

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 11:05 pm

Blah!
I posted in the main thread about turning up this Saturday, not realizing you guys were already all over it.
I just hope we get a good turn up and it would be good to meet fellow Nicksters at the ground that most likely had such an affect on us being true believers.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:15 am

Come visit the Victoria Park Shop under the Sherrin Stand behind Collingwood's change rooms tomorrow for our end of season clearance.

Posters, framed photos, Mugs, Pens, Stickers, Can/Stubby Holders and more. Strictly limited stock. When sold out there is no more.

Money raised goes towards funding the Victoria Park Heritage Committee activities and preserving the 135 year history of the home of the Mighty Magpies.

COLLINGWOOD v ESSENDON
1:10pm Saturday August 9th
VICTORIA PARK

http://victoriapark.net.au/vic_park_shop_87.html

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:36 am

sixpoints wrote:
Blah!
I posted in the main thread about turning up this Saturday, not realizing you guys were already all over it.
I just hope we get a good turn up and it would be good to meet fellow Nicksters at the ground that most likely had such an affect on us being true believers.

No worries, six.

In fact, the more publicity we can generate, the better. Not that many Nicksters actually venture in here, so if we can spread the word in General, well, all the better.

Last home game of the year, so unless we can maybe snare a home final (which is unlikely), then we won't get to see the black and white back on our one true home ground until pre-season next year. That thought makes me sad... Sad

...so, best enjoy it while we can! Very Happy

Last night on Fox Footy, Eddie made reference to next week's looming battle in the Federal Court for that odious excuse for a football club, and how their loss to the Tigers will upset them behind close doors. He called it a "bit of a dagger".

Let's twist that blade a bit deeper, Collingwood, make this weekend an even worse one for that wretched institution and get our weekend off to a flier as we hit the final straight in the run to September.

Cement our spot in the VFL top 8 and maybe, just MAYBE, we can keep that slim hope for a top 4 spot alive...

(Yes, I am a little bit pumped up for this game. Wink )

C'ARN THE PIES!

Very Happy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 10:40 am

I'd rather Moore become a forward.

2nd That and I think he plays better up Forward

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 10:54 am

Expect a big game from Martin; he wouldn't be happy with his game last week, and I reckon the Bombers might pay the price

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 1 of 12