Promote Karnezis ...to the senior team

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:44 am

Collingwood Crackerjack wrote:
There's a bit of Andrew Tranquilli about this boy and make no mistake; throw him in and let him show ya what he can do!

WTF. All this over a player who might only play 12 games for us.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:28 pm

I didn't see the VFL and he's not named in the best. But I see 4 goals. That's enough for me. Time to unleash Special K and give him a few weeks to show what he can do.

He seems to kick bags of goals most weeks. He may as well get fit kicking them in the seniors than kicking them in the ressies.
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:14 pm

There's a bit of Andrew Tranquilli about this boy and make no mistake; throw him in and let him show ya what he can do!

Bradley Plain kicked 7 in the reserves one day!! Laughing Laughing

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:31 pm

King Monkey wrote:

Bradley Plain kicked 7 in the reserves one day!! Laughing Laughing

And also kicked the winning goal against the Bombers in a preseason game if my memory serves....

Make of that what you will Very Happy

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:41 pm

He's a spunk,bring him in! Smile

And if he kicks a few goals,then that would be good too.
Az 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:44 pm

Looks a no go for selection this week according to Bucks. Needs to work on consistency and fitness apparently. Two weeks of 4 qtr performances should have him match somewhat match fit shouldn't it? Considering Maxy just came in and played one 4qtr game and is match fit ready for the seniors.

Consistency? Despite his injury time he's been one of our most consistent performers in the VFL has he not? I smell bullshit Bucks.
MJ23 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:24 pm

There's no chance he'd be fit enough for seniors.

He has done no pre-season.
Had a handful of VFL games and as his intensity built he did a hammy - no more running

Back to just the 2 VFL games without any fitness base

I think its great he is able to do so well at VFL level without the K's into his legs and this is what looks promising for the future however you couldn't event start him as a sub as he would not give you the run you needed in the last quarter and the last thing he needs right now is only 1 qtr of footy.

IF he can get through another 4 - 5 games of VFL without any issues then he MIGHT get a game as a forward in the seniors however that would depend on his defensive efforts as well as goal kicking

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:38 pm

What is this comment based on?

Just interested to know.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:41 pm

He will not be selected this round. MJ23 is on the money.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:41 pm

With Elliot to miss - We have to play Karnezis
mavs5 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 5:02 pm

Enough of this BS.
Just play him.
We need another forward option.
Not fit enough? Who gives a rats.
When will we play him? Round 22 when the season is over.
Time to take a risk and play him.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 5:20 pm

mavs5 wrote:
Enough of this BS.
Just play him.
We need another forward option.
Not fit enough? Who gives a rats.
When will we play him? Round 22 when the season is over.
Time to take a risk and play him.

Could not say it better myself Mate Very Happy

Podpicken Cancer

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:12 pm

Yep, I agree. Play him. Sub him off he can't get through the game. Get him up forward with the aim of at least three quarters. He's obviously got the talent.
DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:14 pm

Im in the 'play him' bandwagon...but that said wouldn't blame the club for playing it safe.

He was on the verge of selection a month of so ago and broke down at training.

He is only 2 weeks back now and has only picked up 10 possessions or so each game. Yes he has kicked goals, but it would also be great to see him covering more ground and getting more involved.

Obviously I'll take the 4 goals...but you have to work a bit harder for your goals at AFL level...and his opponents will work off him a lot harder.

So if his fitness isn't up to scratch, he is going to struggle to make an impact.

The only question is whether its a risk worth taking.

At the moment I vote yes.

Goldsack and Blair aren't offering anything offensively. I'd keep Goldsack for his pressure, but I would replace Blair for a more attacking player. Blair is only getting 14 odd disposals a game anyway, and his tackle pressure is not that great. His work ethic is his strength, but I reckon a lot of it is unrewarded.

I also see Martin is training today, so he'd surely come into the frame as well, His form has been strong enough to not needed to have played VFL last week to earn selection.

At least we have guys in our side who can actually kick goals.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:50 pm

MJ23 wrote:
There's no chance he'd be fit enough for seniors.

He has done no pre-season.
Had a handful of VFL games and as his intensity built he did a hammy - no more running

Back to just the 2 VFL games without any fitness base

I think its great he is able to do so well at VFL level without the K's into his legs and this is what looks promising for the future however you couldn't event start him as a sub as he would not give you the run you needed in the last quarter and the last thing he needs right now is only 1 qtr of footy.

IF he can get through another 4 - 5 games of VFL without any issues then he MIGHT get a game as a forward in the seniors however that would depend on his defensive efforts as well as goal kicking

I beg to differ. I reckon he'll be a big chance this week and if not to say he needs another 4-5 is way too conservative. He'll be in sooner rather than later if he stays fit and keeps kicking goals. Hopefully this week.

Page 7 of 10