Oh how i wish!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:07 am

King Monkey wrote:
Would love more time to elaborate on these points..........

Anyways -

This whole "entertainment" thing has got to stop!!
It is bloody frustrating, and it absolutely kills the atmosphere leading into every quarter. The start of every quarter is flat as a tack at the moment. Take note if you haven't already noticed people.
The stupid loud pop-music leading up to each siren - where is the roar of the crowd?? Half the people don't even realise the game is on until 20 seconds into each quarter. I've looked up from a conversation a couple of times to see the ball on the wing or half forward flank.

Kiss cam?? REALLY?? REALLY?? Enough said.

This absolutely absurd dance troupe.
Has this brought 1 extra person to the football?? I think not.
And it is a disgrace that the focus is attempted to be taken away from the little league kids during the half-time break for this rubbish.

The seating arrangements in the Ponsford are not working at the moment.
Great idea in theory to look after paid up reserved seat members in the prime spots, but the no-shows kill the atmosphere at 60-70% of home games.
An option worth discussing is a check-box on the membership form to gauge if members are likely to attend most games, with those attending more often to be given M31, M32, M33 bays. These are the ones front-and-centre on television too. This can be referenced against previous years' attendance in this day of electronic barcodes etc as a means of confirmation.
(Obviously those who wait for N level, and those that prefer to sit at the Punt Rd end not relevant to this particular discussion.)

........ and time slips away...........

You bet it kills the passion..Its our fortress and so many empty seats..I saw it last year..Its all about entertainment now King Malta at the expense of what football is really about..and we're losing it, if it becomes lost it will never be regained..My God what has happened to us ?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:52 pm

They might have more passion but they also have more violence to go with it.

Anyway Ed has to cop some criticism for cleaning out the CS a few years back doesn't he?

Personally I'm constantly disappointed by my fellow Collingwood supporters every time I'm at the G with there lack of willingness to get involved in chants and the like.

I'm not sure if we bring out the best in opposition supporters but to often I feel they do a better job of supporting there team than we do.

As I've stated before we need a secondary CS up on level 4 of the ponny to help get more of the stand involved.

Make it happen Joffa!

Sorry Swoop with the many A League matches i have been to as well as all them EPL games it may shock you to hear me say i have never witnessed one incident of violence Smile But agree with everything else you say Smile

A Pommie guy I used to know thru my Art class, told me that there are Pubs near their footy grounds, in the UK, that are totally out of bounds to Opposition fans, or all hell breaks loose. LIke, if say Liverpool fans try to enter an Arsenal pub, known to be an Arsenal pub, its on for one and all, even knives come out, knuckledusters etc. He reckons its very, very territorial, and fans don't socialise with other die hard fans, the violence can get way outa control, especially certain pissed elements. On the other hand, fans mix pretty well from all my times going to the Cricketers Arms etc, post game, bit of friendly banter and stirring, but I have never witnessed an all in blue or donnybrook. not once. As I say, im only going by what my Pommie friend told me, he swears its the truth, I think he barracks for Westham. Confused

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:04 pm

They might have more passion but they also have more violence to go with it.

Anyway Ed has to cop some criticism for cleaning out the CS a few years back doesn't he?

Personally I'm constantly disappointed by my fellow Collingwood supporters every time I'm at the G with there lack of willingness to get involved in chants and the like.

I'm not sure if we bring out the best in opposition supporters but to often I feel they do a better job of supporting there team than we do.

As I've stated before we need a secondary CS up on level 4 of the ponny to help get more of the stand involved.

Make it happen Joffa!

Sorry Swoop with the many A League matches i have been to as well as all them EPL games it may shock you to hear me say i have never witnessed one incident of violence Smile But agree with everything else you say Smile

A Pommie guy I used to know thru my Art class, told me that there are Pubs near their footy grounds, in the UK, that are totally out of bounds to Opposition fans, or all hell breaks loose. LIke, if say Liverpool fans try to enter an Arsenal pub, known to be an Arsenal pub, its on for one and all, even knives come out, knuckledusters etc. He reckons its very, very territorial, and fans don't socialise with other die hard fans, the violence can get way outa control, especially certain pissed elements. On the other hand, fans mix pretty well from all my times going to the Cricketers Arms etc, post game, bit of friendly banter and stirring, but I have never witnessed an all in blue or donnybrook. not once. As I say, im only going by what my Pommie friend told me, he swears its the truth, I think he barracks for Westham. Confused

It's the same in other parts of Europe too. In Germany there are supporter pubs that are no go zones pre/post game for opposition supporters for obvious reasons, but you can also squat a pub too. This literally involves taking over a pub for as long as you like providing you pay for all your beer. The doors are generally locked and you'd stick a flag up to say it's yours, and bar tenders are cool with it providing you let the old drunks stay. But show up at a supporters pub in opposition colours or at any other pub within the vicinity of that supporters pub in opposition colours and it's game on!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:05 pm

Why didn't Joffa want to go to the footy last week and prefer to watch it on TV?
Because the footy for the spectator at the ground has become boring, lonely, regulated, corporatised, predictable, lacking passion and devoid of the one thing that makes the footy worthwhile!
That is the tribal factor!
Lets face it, 36 adults running around a paddock trying to kick some leather thru 2 big sticks is pretty bizarre.
But it makes sense only if you tie yourself to a tribe and for us, it is the black and white tribe!
Humans are tribal by nature and in modern society we need some tribe to attach ourselves to.
And the place where the most important tribal event occurs is at the game!
Vic Park was the ultimate experience for our tribe, a day at Vic park was a religious experience - as an atheist that's where I want my ashes to be scattered.
People got there at 9 in the morning and watched 3 Collingwood games.
There was complete and utter tribal immersion that finally finished at 5pm
No kiss cam! No ads on the score board! No corporates! Full strength beer!
No signs saying text anti social behaviour to! No over zealous secruity!
PLenty of yelling and screaming! Plenty of banners and floggers! Plenty of torn paper flying about! We had a tribal experience that was satisfying even though there were negatives such as plenty of fights.
We have thrown out all the good things to overcome some negatives and we now have a sterile and mostly unsatisfying crowd experience that leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.
A 6 pack in front of the tv seems to be the only option.
Even then the silly missus threatens to ring the police because i am usually yelling too much!
This really is a serious issue because if footy just becomes a tv sport then it is doomed in the long run.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:12 pm

WarrenerraW wrote:
It's the same in other parts of Europe too. In Germany there are supporter pubs that are no go zones pre/post game for opposition supporters for obvious reasons, but you can also squat a pub too. This literally involves taking over a pub for as long as you like providing you pay for all your beer. The doors are generally locked and you'd stick a flag up to say it's yours, and bar tenders are cool with it providing you let the old drunks stay. But show up at a supporters pub in opposition colours or at any other pub within the vicinity of that supporters pub in opposition colours and it's game on!

I reckon that is so sad. Can't some people in these parts get a life that revolves around the reality that extreme passion for a team does NOT have to equate to mindless violence and crime against other supporters? Can't the football authorities change such hostile attitudes, like they are trying to change racist chants? I mean geez, I absolutely bloody hate Carlscum pricks but not nearly enough to bloody murder them Shocked

Like I said, so sad that some feral elements act like barbarians and imbeciles towards others Crying or Very sad

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:20 pm

WarrenerraW wrote:

I reckon that is so sad. Can't some people in these parts get a life that revolves around the reality that extreme passion for a team does NOT have to equate to mindless violence and crime against other supporters? Can't the football authorities change such hostile attitudes, like they are trying to change racist chants? I mean geez, I absolutely bloody hate Carlscum pricks but not nearly enough to bloody murder them Shocked

Like I said, so sad that some feral elements act like barbarians and imbeciles towards others Crying or Very sad

Agree with your comments
Except
for that bloody brisbane supporter who turned up at Vic Park in his brisbane jumper after the Lions thrashed us in GF 2004.
I really wanted blood then!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:43 pm

Why didn't Joffa want to go to the footy last week and prefer to watch it on TV?
Because the footy for the spectator at the ground has become boring, lonely, regulated, corporatised, predictable, lacking passion and devoid of the one thing that makes the footy worthwhile!
That is the tribal factor!
Lets face it, 36 adults running around a paddock trying to kick some leather thru 2 big sticks is pretty bizarre.
But it makes sense only if you tie yourself to a tribe and for us, it is the black and white tribe!
Humans are tribal by nature and in modern society we need some tribe to attach ourselves to.
And the place where the most important tribal event occurs is at the game!
Vic Park was the ultimate experience for our tribe, a day at Vic park was a religious experience - as an atheist that's where I want my ashes to be scattered.
People got there at 9 in the morning and watched 3 Collingwood games.
There was complete and utter tribal immersion that finally finished at 5pm
No kiss cam! No ads on the score board! No corporates! Full strength beer!
No signs saying text anti social behaviour to! No over zealous secruity!
PLenty of yelling and screaming! Plenty of banners and floggers! Plenty of torn paper flying about! We had a tribal experience that was satisfying even though there were negatives such as plenty of fights.
We have thrown out all the good things to overcome some negatives and we now have a sterile and mostly unsatisfying crowd experience that leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.
A 6 pack in front of the tv seems to be the only option.
Even then the silly missus threatens to ring the police because i am usually yelling too much!
This really is a serious issue because if footy just becomes a tv sport then it is doomed in the long run.

Spot on mate, agree with all you say, I was there the day the Dons floggers were set ablaze at Vic park, nobody was hurt, but by god, it was fun. Laughing Vic Park had it all, l loved my young years there, passion personified, as I said in an earlier post on here. I once got a freebie to Etihad in the Corporate area, cant recall its name, something like the Gold class room or something, and it was just sterile, bland, and shit, I recall thinking to myself "Steve, this isn't for you, this is not you, you don't belong here mate, its all fake, full of awful people, these aren't real footy fans ". I have never been back. The Ponny is sterile, sanitized even, oh I still enjoy the footy, but all this loud purile music, morons coming on the big screen at halftime, the forced comedy routines, the outrageous food and drink prices, its knocked me around a fair bit. Oh for the days of the reserves, when you could watch future champs, now its just one game, and bloody boredom before they run out. And I don't smoke, but really, making people sitting in the open have to go right outside the G for a puff, is a bit harsh really, cant they just have a puff in the stairwells ?. Yep, the footy has lost some real tangibles for me, and how the hell we get em back, I just don't know. Hope we can, as down the track , I want to take my two new grandsons down the track, hope it can be rejuvenated. Exclamation Idea

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:45 pm

WarrenerraW wrote:

Agree with your comments
Except
for that bloody brisbane supporter who turned up at Vic Park in his brisbane jumper after the Lions thrashed us in GF 2004.
I really wanted blood then!

Laughing

Yeah, I have wanted to deck a few Carlscum/Essenscum/St Kilda/Rich (and in a few particular cases, some bloody feral Collingwood) fans in my time as well but I guess we know where to draw the line. Exclamation
I found it best not to associate with the feral elements rather than to get down to their gutter levels.
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:46 pm

Thanks for the reply Joffa, but you've got your royalty mixed up!! I ain't Maltese........ Wink
Laughing Laughing

Someone from the club has to take note of some of these points; surely??

Instead of trying to attract the "theatre goer" type that will attend the footy if there isn't much else to do, how about listening to the very valid opinions of those that would miss their mothers' funeral if it clashed with a Collingwood game.

Once you've lost us - it will be forever.
But don't worry, in our places will be those that only go to a few games a year, and only if we're winning.......

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:57 pm

King Monkey wrote:
Thanks for the reply Joffa, but you've got your royalty mixed up!! I ain't Maltese........ Wink
Laughing Laughing

Someone from the club has to take note of some of these points; surely??

Instead of trying to attract the "theatre goer" type that will attend the footy if there isn't much else to do, how about listening to the very valid opinions of those that would miss their mothers' funeral if it clashed with a Collingwood game.

Once you've lost us - it will be forever.
But don't worry, in our places will be those that only go to a few games a year, and only if we're winning.......

WHAT?? Richmond fans.... Shocked Shocked
robfyffe 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:12 pm

Hi All,
Haven't posted much/for a while, but regularly read Nick's
My brother and I went to the Geelong game and did standing room in the Ponsford Stand.

I really got into the game - yelling and cheering the team on.
The standing room seemed to have a bit of the old passion.

In the 80's me and my brother had seats in the back row of the Sherrin, and everytime the pies kicked a goal, we would bash the tin wall behind us.

If we went to the Western oval - (lived in Williamstown) - and got there early enough for a front row, we would lean over the fence and bash the hoardings when the pies kicked a goal.

Loved going onto the ground at the breaks and kicking the footy - still love going to the VFL.

My kids are Collingwood but not mad footy fans. They like the VFL better because you can break up the game with kick to kick at the breaks, and at the end, if you want an autograph the players are right there.

I know its nostalgia, but I reckon it was better.

I agree with the posters before who have said that in trying to get rid of the bad behaviour, the overkill has wrecked the atmosphere.

I agree with the poster who said how shite it is that instead of seeing a replay you see some tool taking a selfie after a free/goal/stoppage.

On top of the Essendon shite where it seems anyone on the dollar from AFL being successful - including Eddie - seem to be saying that because EFC have "lost" the records of what went into players that no one should get infractions, I'm losing interest.

I'm going this weekend with a North mate - Saturday afternoon, MCG, footy with an opposition supporting mate, beers. Let's hope it's a good game (or north gets thrashed). Let's hear the crowd ROAR and be excited. Let's get the passion going for this weekend

Rob

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:19 pm

Agree with Rob you could have more Passion at VFL Games then AFL Games.

If you show passion at AFL Games you could get Kicked out of the Ground

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:34 am

In my very humble opinion, I think it is certainly time for footy fans to unite and get a better deal before Pigboy & his mates sell the entire game to their corporate, chardonnay-sipping, caviar-munching, game-not-watching buddies.

There is a lot we as supporters can do to affect how we are treated by the governing body, and the first step is showing the AFL we are prepared to unite and not take poor decisions sitting on our arses.

When it comes to Soccer-like passion I'm a little less sure, after all it is a bloody silly game and about as exciting as watching paint grow!

The thing about passion is that it causes people to get passionate, and when people start getting passionate and have a passionate oppo supporter sitting next to them, suddenly the urge to smack the idiot one tends to bubble to the passionate surface.

In short: Passion has a negative side. Passiona on the other hand has no negatives at all, I love the taste of freshly carbonated passion fruits.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:19 am

if you want some of the old-school feel you MUST come to a VFL game at Vic Park if u haven't already.

have a couple of cans (full strength), hear the players, smell the grass, kick the footy with your mates. its great.

this Sat 11am vs Coburg. park your car and catch train to Jolimont for North game.
the pie guy 

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:08 pm

I agree the passion seems to be down on past years. I think part of the problem is that we (magpie fans are spread all over the ground) and that our end of the MCG is half empty, most games. It seems that too many people buy season tickets and then just turn up sometimes. The best way to get the passion back is for all magpie supporters to be together, just being with your own in itself will bring out the passion. I would not want this to lead to an English football type segregation but I personally feel better and become more vocal and passionate when with my own.

Page 4 of 7