Post match. NAB. Pies walloped - all comments

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:37 am

its seems easier to pick apart all the negatives about the game but why bother.
when you've got two teams at two different levels of attitude playing in a
practice match and one of the teams hampered by the most ignorant blatant
umpiring possible, its no wonder theres complacency.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:44 am

burnsy17 wrote:
No injuries..... Tick box and move along.... Nothing else to see here!

This.

I reckon after injuries to Broomhead and Freeman last week the instructions were this is a practice match, so treat it as such. No injuries is a win, and Reid has proven he will be a force up forward in 2014.

I'm happy.
perthmagpie Aries

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:45 am

I agree Bruce, except Scharenberg may not play any part this year. Having two of your four sesamoid bones removed is quite a big deal for a running athlete. It could take three or four months to be pain free after this op and leaves him only running fully in June or even July. I am expecting nothing from him this year and that includes the foot problem even being completely fixed. He is not going to know till June when does a lot of running if it is.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:50 am

Under what circumstances?
collie dog 

RIP Shelby 11-10-13

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:50 am

The Weed wrote:
collie dog wrote:
I think we should start a book now on just how close (or far) we'll get to Hawthorn this season. They are absolutely flying and don't treat the NAB Challenge as a waste of time. Did someone say Collingwood is a 9-15 side? Actually that sounds about right. If we get to within 9-15 goals of Hawthorn in our matches this year we will be doing well. They looked sharp against a hapless Brisbane in week 1, but totally awesome in destroying North yesterday. Meanwhile we rock up like a limp lettuce and always have the excuse, "It's only a practice match." No wonder we will struggle to make the eight. Sorry but today's performance totally deflated my hopes for this season. It's hard to believe we won a flag three years ago and were almost unbeatable in 2011.

BTW have the last two games by Scott Pendlebury since being appointed captain been the worst two games he has ever played for the club? I struggle to think of any.

Wow you sound like you love the hawks as much as jack pain did. You can change your name but you can't change the fact you are a world class toseer.

I take it you did not watch the Hawthorn wins against Brisbane and North. It's all about the way they move the ball. We are light years behind them at the moment. I hope to God they don't win the flag again (I think Sydney is a lock on that this season), but if you think that we can finish anywhere near the top sides on the form we have shown so far you are smoking some very very potent weed!

Give us a reason to be positive Collingwood. The last two years have been the most disappointing I can remember since Tony Shaw was coach. The level of self-delusion on Nick's at the moment is greater than on any footy site anywhere in the world. As I said, give us a reason to be positive Collingwood.

Boot 

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:52 am

A couple of things I took out of last nights shambles;
1. Disposal is still a real problem for Collingwood. Frost looks promising but how many times when he is not even under pressure does he cough it up to the opposition!! Dane Swan is a champion, but he has to get twice as many disposals as anyone else to make up for the fact that 50% of his kicks miss targets. The club knows that disposal is a key in the modern game and hence they have recruted the likes of Young, Jordan Russell last year and Tony Armstrong this year. Unfortunately ability to win the ball one-on-one is a failing of these type of players. Jury still out on Young and when he does get free his disposal is elite.

2. Our defense is shaky at best. Keefe & Brown can compete but don't provide the drive that Ben Reid does (or did) when he was playing there. Marly Williams is a tragedy if he goes to gaol. His one-on-one skill, speed and disposal are crucial to Collingwood and if we are without him the loss of Heater will come back to bite us severly.
I think the option of Ried in the forward line is a luxury we can't afford. with Cloke and White there is enough height there already so unless the defense of Maxwell, Toovey, Williams (?), Keefe and Lumumba stand up then Reid should start in defense and move forward as a swing man if required.

3. Center clearance. Grundy should be OK but its a huge ask to put on a 2nd year player to carry our rucks all year. He has shown great promise but consistency is tough for young rucks. I think we need to allow for a 2nd specialist Ruckman in the team to ensure that we don't ruin the potetnial of Grundy and Witts by limiting the team to just one of them. I know it throws the balance out but center domination is a key to winning games and we have seen that with a great on-ball team of Swan, Pendells, Ball, Beams, Adams etc that we can still loose the center clearance battle if our ruck is loosing.

4. Game plan. Too many times we get caught out with the opposition being loose in their forward line as they come out of defence for easy goals and likewise we appear to get to the center line too often to find no-one in the forward line to kick to so we have to waste time by going sideways across the ground. In those situations I would like to see if Mooney's speed can be a weapon by simply boot long into the open forward line and let him run onto the open ball to kick the goal. I have a lot of faith in Mooney if we can get his strengths into the game.

5. I look forward to the return of Beams, Adams, Dwyer. Toovey and hopefully Williams. Also I feel the side would be stronger with Hudson or Witts (when fit) rather than Lynch as the 2nd ruck.

Never give up hope, never surrender and always hate Carlton!!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:55 am

The only guys playing for anything are those not guaranteed of a round one start.

Richmond had to win after their members starting jumping off after getting done by the Dees [i work with a stack of them, should have heard the doom and gloom].

Wang oval is Etihad size, which gives us problems as well.

ANNNND that was a VFL standard backline representing us..

ANNND despite all those excuses we are no lock for top 8 methinks.

But not because of that game, because of our inexperience and massive holes that Shaw and Jolly, yes Jolly, will leave.

Let's face it, we have replaced some fine people with a mosquito fleet of kennedy, elliott, dwyer and thomas. Add them to Blair and Fasolo, and well yeah. Don't think we can afford more than say three of them in the one team, but will probably have to play most of them early.

We will go ok if Karnezis and Sharenberg can get up and about and play a role, but early I guess our backline might be Williams, Brown, Toovey, Young, Keefe, Maxwell, which won't be that bad provided Williams can play, Young doesn't get injured and Toovey returns ok. Looks like Maxy will continue to get a regular game as we won't be able to do without him.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 am

simon tonna wrote:
its seems easier to pick apart all the negatives about the game but why bother.
when you've got two teams at two different levels of attitude playing in a
practice match
and one of the teams hampered by the most ignorant blatant
umpiring possible, its no wonder theres complacency.

But why? Hawthorn and Fremantle could be expected to be a few weeks behind given they started pre-season training weeks later than us. I would have thought given our disastrous end to 2013, we'd be breathing fire, not plodding along thinking we can just switch it on.

If the Port final taught us anything, it's that we don't have a magical extra gear like we did during most of 2011. We need to work harder than our opponents.

We should have players beating down the door wanting to get into the best 22, but based on yesterday, we have second tier guys who are years away from being top flight AFL players.

The result in pre-season is irrelevant (although as Clint Eastwood said, winning is a good habit), but the process is not. We looked lazy and that is a biggest concern for me.

collie dog 

RIP Shelby 11-10-13

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:04 am

Boot wrote:
A couple of things I took out of last nights shambles;
1. Disposal is still a real problem for Collingwood. Frost looks promising but how many times when he is not even under pressure does he cough it up to the opposition!! Dane Swan is a champion, but he has to get twice as many disposals as anyone else to make up for the fact that 50% of his kicks miss targets. The club knows that disposal is a key in the modern game and hence they have recruted the likes of Young, Jordan Russell last year and Tony Armstrong this year. Unfortunately ability to win the ball one-on-one is a failing of these type of players. Jury still out on Young and when he does get free his disposal is elite.

2. Our defense is shaky at best. Keefe & Brown can compete but don't provide the drive that Ben Reid does (or did) when he was playing there. Marly Williams is a tragedy if he goes to gaol. His one-on-one skill, speed and disposal are crucial to Collingwood and if we are without him the loss of Heater will come back to bite us severly.
I think the option of Ried in the forward line is a luxury we can't afford. with Cloke and White there is enough height there already so unless the defense of Maxwell, Toovey, Williams (?), Keefe and Lumumba stand up then Reid should start in defense and move forward as a swing man if required.

3. Center clearance. Grundy should be OK but its a huge ask to put on a 2nd year player to carry our rucks all year. He has shown great promise but consistency is tough for young rucks. I think we need to allow for a 2nd specialist Ruckman in the team to ensure that we don't ruin the potetnial of Grundy and Witts by limiting the team to just one of them. I know it throws the balance out but center domination is a key to winning games and we have seen that with a great on-ball team of Swan, Pendells, Ball, Beams, Adams etc that we can still loose the center clearance battle if our ruck is loosing.

4. Game plan. Too many times we get caught out with the opposition being loose in their forward line as they come out of defence for easy goals and likewise we appear to get to the center line too often to find no-one in the forward line to kick to so we have to waste time by going sideways across the ground. In those situations I would like to see if Mooney's speed can be a weapon by simply boot long into the open forward line and let him run onto the open ball to kick the goal. I have a lot of faith in Mooney if we can get his strengths into the game.

5. I look forward to the return of Beams, Adams, Dwyer. Toovey and hopefully Williams. Also I feel the side would be stronger with Hudson or Witts (when fit) rather than Lynch as the 2nd ruck.

Never give up hope, never surrender and always hate Carlton!!

Looks like that was your first post mate. I agree with almost every word. Well said. We all want our Pies to show some premiership mettle, but 2010 is getting to be a long time ago now and losing breeds bad habits (e.g. in the VFL side). Just look at the way Paul Roos has already lifted Melbourne a few notches this season. Winners breed grinners. Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:10 am

Last week was a great effort with plenty to look forward too.

This week was just another practice match, "nothing to see here". Laughing

You take what you want out of these games.

Yeah, we'll be better than that but you can't tell me that it wasn't anything short of a piss poor effort. I won't be writing the season off yet but it's becoming increasingly clear that we can't rely on a 19 yr old kid to carry the ruck all year and our defence doesn't look capable of holding up against quick ball movement. Plenty to do

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:02 am

Albert Parker wrote:
I must confess, I am at a loss to know why Hawks come out to play these past 2 weeks and we were insipid with our attitude today.

They are keen to avoid a repeat of their 2009 season. They are coming out hard to help avoid a premiership hangover.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:22 am

We did that in 2011 and contributed to our burn out.

Must say I'd prefer Sydney to win the flag rather than the hawks. It will at least contribute to the removal of COLA.
sixpoints 

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:35 am

Relax. It was a practice match in Wangaratta.
NAB Cup counts for nothing. eg Jesse White kicks 5 against Geelong, that's great. Next game don't play him near the goals, let's see what Reid can do down there. Hey he kicks four.
Hell last years NAB Cup Grand Final was between Brisbane & Carlton!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:47 am

HOW many on here can recall the NAB Cup year, was it 05 ?-when Caaaaarlton won the useless thing, thought they were KIng Dick, then went onto win the WOODEN SPOON THE SAME SEASON ??

NAB Cup is meaningless tripe, glorified practice games for skint clubs who need the dosh, move on to the REAL stuff. !

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:07 pm

No injuries is the best result we could ask for.

Page 5 of 8