Abbott's Cringeworthy ABC Outburst

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:00 pm

Wokko wrote:
........, but the ABC is the sole provider to a niche market and I don't see how changing it's funding model from public to private would change it's core demographic.

Not quite.

The Australian Broadcasting Authority is just that: Australian.

There is Continent wide TV, Radio & Internet amongst other things.

We can hear & watch AFL, VFL Rugby, League, Cricket so on & so forth.

It caters for much more than the term "niche" might suggest.

THIS!!!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:12 pm

Yet far more people watch 7 and 9 news than the ABC.

http://m.smh.com.au/entertainment/blogs/the-tribal-mind/the-ratings-race-and-that-was-the-summer-silly-season-20131231-304ed.html?skin=iphone

Combined, nearly 3 times as many people.

Shit, more people watch ACA and TT than the ABC news.

Yes and a majority would watch public torture & hanging. A majority would watch Jerry Springer, indeed the Jerry Springer folk would watch Jerry Springer.

That however, does not make it "niche"

Well, if it caters to a minority audience, what is it except "niche"?

By not broadcasting the "lowest common denominator" television in this instance does not make it niche. (sorry about the double negatives).

We call it discerning, (& as Stuart Wagstaff used to say) "& isn't that all the time" ? Wink Razz

For example: "The footy show" caters for a less discerning niche market, we commonly refer to as bogans or boganly refer to as common. Wink Razz Razz

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:30 pm

HAL wrote:
What makes it right?

Ptiddy said so.

Left and right is perspective based. The ABC, despite being staffed by mainly lefties, is pretty centre with a mild left wing bias. So lefties consider it to be centre right but balanced, righties consider it left.

Perspective all depends on the view.

It's not perspective at all; it's there for you to see and count according to common definitions (most of which only rarely represent my views on anything).

You're being disingenuous if you're claiming you haven't noticed the ABC now loads up its program with whatever far right opinions are laying around at the time, delivered by whatever unemployed shock jocks happen to be laying around at the time.

Go through every single news/information/opinion program and you'll see it; that I began noticing I was sitting through the same annoying dumb level of reasoning on every single channel first alerted me to the problem. If you're honest and put in a good day at the TV studying the main shows, you'll see it clearly for yourself and be able to rid yourself of this perspective furphy.

Now, answer me this: If the ABC is as left as you claim, why wasn't Howard able to do anything about it despite his extensive efforts?

The answer is twofold. On the one hand, he was able to do something about it, hence thinking people have been sent to the Internet to find out anything meaningful about the world, and all sorts of far right whackos inhabit ABC land. Second, because the ABC presents sober news; and sober information, as necessary but boring as it is, tends progressive. Not because I want sober information to be progressive, but because conservatism rests on manufactured nonsense and shrill advertising tactics cobbled together to support whatever view Old Capital has at the time. That makes sober news seem leftist, when it's simply, well, sober.

Last edited by pietillidie on Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:34 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:34 pm

Left and right is perspective based. The ABC, despite being staffed by mainly lefties, is pretty centre with a mild left wing bias.

Bullshit. Palpable bullshit. The ABC plays host to a whole gaggle of high-profile hard-right presenters, with lots of centrists but practically no-one from the left to provide balance. Kohler's business show has a couple of centrists (notably Kohler himself) and a whole swag of right-wing types, including the very hard-line Gotleibson. nearly every talking head show that considers anything even remotely political has an IPA stooge. Vanstone is prominently placed. And so on. And on. And on.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:35 pm

Pietillidie, that was a great post. Spot on Sir!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:39 pm

^And then there's Landline. It represents the right on almost everything, as you would expect, but there's a catch the superficial Fox News viewer would never notice. The far right in the bush often supports things like a carbon tax, NBN and environmentally-friendly land management because it's in their interests.

How dare Landline air such rational views from bush conservatives! Those folk are only supposed to be wheeled out when you need someone to beat up on the gay or Aboriginal communities!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:49 pm

Now let's look at the other side of the coin, the disgraceful state of the commercial media - this is the crap, remember, that Stui and Wokko reckon we should all have to watch and listen to.

A reader's comment in today's Age illustrates just how bad the bias is. He presents convicted bribe-taker Alan "cash for comment" Jones' side of a recent interview with the appalling Christopher Pyne on Abbott's favourite radio station, 2GB.

ALAN JONES: Yeah thats right.
ALAN JONES: Yep.
ALAN JONES: Yeah.
ALAN JONES: So good on you, now thats a thousand per cent correct, okay.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] correct.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] absolutely right.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] correct, absolutely right, thats the crisis.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] yeah.
ALAN JONES: Yep.
ALAN JONES: Good on you.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] absolutely right.
ALAN JONES: Yeah absolutely.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] yeah, yeah thats it.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] yeah.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] How do you do it?
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] yeah thats a great idea.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] good idea.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] definitely.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] there you are thats right because...
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] absolutely.
ALAN JONES: [Laughs] yes.
ALAN JONES: [Interrupts] now windup because Im the speaker Im giving you the windup here.
ALAN JONES: Alright, big issue. Good to talk to you, well talk again often.
ALAN JONES: Thank you for your time. Half past seven, Christopher Pyne.

This is what Abbott wants, what Abbott calls "supporting the home side". This is the fearless investigative journalism Abbott plans to make compulsory.

CP 

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:13 pm

Wokko wrote:
Their left of center editorial views become most noticeable in their panel and opinion shows such as the Drum

Seriously, you are off the effing planet! You practically never see that sort of show go to air without either far-right IPA representatives or else extremist right-wing Murdoch stooges like Piers Ackerman dominating proceedings, and most of the time there is no-one whatsoever representing the left-wing view. Only the centre, the right, and the extreme right ever get a hearing.

And why are you surprised? After John Howard's relentless stacking of the ABC Board and senior management with one hard-line rightist after another, what else did you expect? Howard got what he wanted, and the ABC and all of Australia is the poorer for it.

Not that you needed to declare your hand any further, but pretending that right wing extremists account for the only people who get a hearing on the ABC is just,well, quite frankly, insane.

The ABC, in all of their programming on tv or radio, do not have one conservative host on any of their shows. Not one.

Stop dragging debate down rabbit holes that are completely irrelevant.

For example, the issue of viewership was raised and you shifted the context to trust; a complete red herring.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:27 pm

If you watched the episode of Q&A with Peter Hitchens he was constantly interrupted, insulted and shouted over while a gaggle of leftists were given total free reign to be vile, crude and nasty to a man who was nothing but polite. Meanwhile Tony Jones had a shit eating grin on his face while his guest was eviscerated and then interrupted Hitchens' answers to have other questions taken. The ABCs presenters are overwhelmingly left and having an outnumbered token from the other side is the best I ever see. Vanstone FWIW generally destroys those who try and debate her. Quite a formidable woman, not sure why she left politics (cushy Ambassador roles would do that I guess).

The only people who would see the ABC as centrist are on the left themselves. Just like I personally see The Australian as centrist but I know that it is centrist only in that it's much closer to my political perspective than say the Age. I could point to Philip Adams (if he still writes for them, I haven't bought a paper in a while and The Australian went behind a paywall) and say the Australian was filled with rabid lefties but I know that's not the case, it's in isolation.

Also a niche market doesn't imply that there is small market reach. There are kinky online sex shops that cater to an Australian wide audience with many different products available but they are still a niche market provider.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:33 pm

^ Same old tired lies.

Without even thinking about it - and defining "conservative" as you do - i.e., hard right bordering on extreme, Vanstone and McNamara stand out as obvious high-profile examples. Meanwhile, you won't find any left-wing ABC hosts at all. At least if there is one, I'd be very pleased to hear about him or her, 'coz genuine left-wing views haven't had a proper hearing on the ABC for a very long time.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:44 pm

^ Same old tired lies.

Without even thinking about it - and defining "conservative" as you do - i.e., hard right bordering on extreme, Vanstone and McNamara stand out as obvious high-profile examples. Meanwhile, you won't find any left-wing ABC hosts at all. At least if there is one, I'd be very pleased to hear about him or her, 'coz genuine left-wing views haven't had a proper hearing on the ABC for a very long time.

The left is now dominated by social justice warriors, red/greens and chardonnay socialists. You wont find too many workers rights, strong union, protectionist style lefties anywhere and mores the pity. I respect and admire the 'old left' like Simon Crean and even Mark Latham who was unfairly destroyed by the 'new left' in the media.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/oct/30/labor-australia-not-dead-yet

A good article by Latham ^^

I was heavily Labor until Beazley got rolled for the second time and nothing from the left recently has me clamouring to return.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:58 pm

Wokko wrote:
The left is now dominated by social justice warriors, red/greens and chardonnay socialists. You wont find too many workers rights, strong union, protectionist style lefties anywhere and mores the pity. I respect and admire the 'old left' like Simon Crean and even Mark Latham who was unfairly destroyed by the 'new left' in the media.

One minute the unions are being howled down and dismissed, and the next they're being pined for! Meanwhile, literate people with opinions are "chardonnay socialists" when, if you actually read the quality works of the people you're unfairly depicting, they're not saying anything like what you imagine. Poststructuralism is awfully close to Libertarianism in many aspects, and many of the chardonnay set are postructuralists not Marxian leftists, which is really what "leftist" means.

One of the biggest problems with your supposed Libertarianism is that we rarely see it! Libertarianism doesn't mean "opposing the left". At minimum, it demands independent thought, not reflexively oppositional thought.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:01 am

Wokko wrote:
I was heavily Labor until Beazley got rolled for the second time and nothing from the left recently has me clamouring to return.

You can't have been heavily Labour and supported Beazley; he's the cowardly prick who sold the ALP out to Howard's Children Overboard hate vote lies, forever casting the ALP from the moral high ground and condemning the country to pitiful, mean-spirited, soul-destroying politics. Keating warned him, and yet again Keating was right.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:05 am

pietillidie wrote:
Wokko wrote:

You can't have been heavily Labour and supported Beazley; he's the cowardly prick who sold the ALP out to Howard's Children Overboard hate vote lies, forever casting the ALP from the moral high ground and condemning the country to pitiful, mean-spirited, soul-destroying politics. Keating warned him, and yet again Keating was right.

Yeah, he screwed up, but what came after him (populist Sunrise douchebag Rudd) was just sickening. I was a true believer from Crean to Latham and I still believed that Beazely, while a bit wishy washy was still on the right track. Then came Rudd... then Gillard.... then Rudd. The Labor party lost its way, and I really don't think Shorten is the answer. Abbott seemed promising but I'm beginning to feel... uneasy.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:08 am

Latham? Farnarkle me, Mark Latham made Rudd look sane.

Page 5 of 6