Post match. Pies blitz Bombers - all comments

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:09 pm

From the pre-game thread:

Presti35 wrote:
All I want to say is, Collingwood.... this is an opportunity like never before.

A loss to Collingwood, the team they so desperatly want to be, will hit them so hard and it will stay with them for some time.

Collingwood, you need to bury this team. Its time to step up and teach them a lesson.

Lesson learnt. My message to Essendon; Dont EVER question the integrity of this team! We are Collingwood. We are fair. We are honest. We play for eachother. We work hard. You were humiliated by a team that truly knows how to play honestly and fairly. This loss will stick with you for a long time and your supporters, as blind as they are, deserve better.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:10 pm

4 quarters of 100% effort, first time this year.

We're getting players back and into form at the right time of the year, anything could happen over the next 2 months.

Great win, loved it. Very Happy

Agree - When we play 4 QTRS Makes massive Difference. We do that and we are 1 of the best teams in the Comp

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:10 pm

Great win by the boys. Played like they meant it.
I was hoping our banner wasn't a sign of things to come, didn't stand up to well to the rain! Very Happy

Hopefully with the crowd a smidgen under 70K, it will make the AFL realise this timeslot is just dumb. Even with the weather a Saturday afternoon/night game would have seen 80K attend. As it was not being on FTA probably bumped the crowd higher.

Last edited by AnthonyC on Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Dave O'D 1910 

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:11 pm

mattys123 wrote:
Yes our intensity was up tonight but the fact we had probably the best group of 21 (leaving JT out as he was the sub) made a massive difference.

Even if everyone was fit I reckon only Toovey, Daisy and maybe Young would get a game in that side tonight, even Fasolo and Jolly are no certainties anymore.

We will give the Swans and Hawks a good old shake now, and we are the one team no one wants to play in an elimination final in week 1.

Great win tonight, so happy.

Seedsman!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:12 pm

sidey wrote:
.. Our 2nd game ruckman holds his own.

DTM... you were right

Not saying that the brand new much, much more mobile ruck combination was the difference but.... What a difference

Glad you love him Very Happy

Dave O'D 1910 

Albert Parker wrote:
Keefe and Reid as key backs - tick
Cloke with Reid and Lynch as 3rd option - tick
Goldsack as an option either end tall or mid - tick
Marley and Sinkers as hard at it backs - tick
Harry with dash - tick
Ball in an under with spread from Swanny, Pendles and Beams - tick

Best 4 quarter effort, plenty of pressure and took our chances. Like it when this team turns up. Nice to get some continuity into Sack, Keefe, Ball etc.

Does that then turn N Brown into a key forward?

Great wine, great effort, well done boys, that is the way we want to play football.

4 sustained quarters of quality intensity.

Enjoy the moment

season now hangs on doing that for the rest of the year

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Also from the pre game thread:

Presti35 wrote:
So, which team do YOU think will turn up folks. ?? I reckon we just might get moody and nasty on show, at LONG last. !!!!

Well...

It will be our best game for the year.

Usually not the type to say I told you so but whatever! Razz

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:26 pm

rand corp wrote:
Great wine, great effort, well done boys, that is the way we want to play football.

4 sustained quarters of quality intensity.

Enjoy the moment

season now hangs on doing that for the rest of the year

A great "wine" would make today perfect!

The weekend actually

Hawks lost, cats lost, boos lost, smashed the cheats, happy happy happy

Nothing to whinge about

And yes, I booed, and boy wasnt the boos for no. 4 loud!

Play like that, no one can beat us, pressure pressure pressure

Rick Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:34 pm

On the drive home Terry Wallace via SEN was still concerned with Keefe up against the likes of Franklin or Tippett when we come up against the top sides. I'm glad we finally got Brown, Reid and Keefe in the 22 because at least Keefe and Reid are versatile enough to switch forward and back if needed.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:35 pm

My Thoughts:

Finally Played 4 Qtrs
Grundy and Lynch together worked really well
Reid and Cloke did well up Forward. 8 Goal Between Them
Steele was Awsome
Ball Mark on Goddard was Great
N Brown had his best game of the Season
Harry O was Important
Keeffe did a Very Good Job

Rick Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:40 pm

My Thoughts:

Finally Played 4 Qtrs
Steele was Awsome
Harry O was Important

Clean hands and tackles that stuck by 22 players stood out for me.
MattyD 

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:42 pm

now THAT'S the way you play football!

My bag was soaked but I didn't give a sht.

As someone else said: order has been restored. We are above the Tigers on the ladder! hahaha

That was fun booing good ol' jobe.

And goddard, what a wanker!! Thought he could pull a luke ball but he will "NEVER win a premiership"! Very Happy

Harry O and Sidey stand outs. Reid and Cloke duo looking better all the time. Blair was ferocious.

That was exciting football. Best win this season, absolutely. Although the first win against the scum was pretty good too.

Can we back it up next week?? My little group nearly pulled the pin on the Sydney trip after the Gold Coast debacle, glad we didn't now! Laughing

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:46 pm

Rick wrote:
My Thoughts:

Finally Played 4 Qtrs
Steele was Awsome
Harry O was Important

Clean hands and tackles that stuck by 22 players stood out for me.

That was Also Good.

Also Attack on the Ball was Fantastic Tonight

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:47 pm

fantastic all round effort today by the team. played an intense and hard four quarters of footy that would have beaten anyone and of course we destroyed the drug cheats. poor crowd but i guess most would have been put off by the weather if not the time slot. i was impressed with everyone's game today, no one took the easy road. hit em hard from start to finish and that's what has been missing all year. hope this means we've switched on finally but the big test will be next week. go pies!

Page 5 of 10