Things that make you go.......WTF?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 218, 219, 220 ... 275, 276, 277  Next

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:54 pm

Not sure if I told you all of it or not, maybe over a beer one day, but yeah I didn't give up.

I did resort to toughish love a few times, but that only worked because I'd managed to set a good foundation in early years.

I'm happy with how things are now. I get on well with both my kids, they come over most Sunday's for dinner and call me if they need help whether physical, instructions, advice or other.

I let them live their lives, I'm not a big part of it, but I am a part and that works for all of us. They know I'm there if they need me, I don't need to be in their face all the time.

Big difference between tough love and moving house while they are in jail!!

Why move house when you can change the barrels in the locks. Wink

My battery is nearly flat, I was speed reading, saw barrel and thought you were advocating for new gun laws!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:57 pm

Tell me about, my daughter was Jekyl and Hide from 14 and a half until 17-18!

Obviously, you were doing it wrong. You ought to have a chat to my folks about it. Ask them how they brought me up. I assure you, at that age I was not Jekyll and Hyde. Not me. I was Hyde all the way.

Hmm I always assumed Jekyll was the bad guy, it just sounds like it!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:21 am

^ It's a shocking idea, but just as human beings need to be brought up free from abuse and violence to function well later in life, they also need very clear authority to realise their potential. That does not mean authoritarianism, but it does mean a very clear and minimally-negotiable set of boundaries established from an early age to provide security, certainty, and a pattern of responsibility. This little charmer presumably missed out on that step, as so many do, in this age of perennial adolescence.

The world is paradoxical, and one of its many paradoxes is that true freedom depends to a large extent on acceptance of constraints and an authority greater than the self. Unfortunately parents - both of them often stretched thin by working - get very little help from the wider society in establishing that. So we reap what we sow in crime, in health care, in social work, and in education.

The biggest mess IMHO is in the gender bias.

Single mums who don't work get paid from centrelink, maintenance, and community support.

Single Dads who work full time get zero support and still get hit for maintenance. Fkn hard work.

Even the ones with custody? That's ridiculous

Pretty sure there's no official gender discrimination like that nowadays, but I have no doubt that single mothers tend to get more sympathy in general than single fathers, and that can affect the support they get from friends, family and the general community, and sometimes make its way into stuff like family law.

That's just how our culture sees it: women are to be protected, men can look after themselves. Not saying that women have it better in general (men probably do on the whole), but in this area being male certainly has its disadvantages.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:49 am

Depends on your point of view I guess, I'd say the opposite! I'd think a single father with custody would get more sympathy, because he's not 'equipped' (Stui that's not what I think!!) to deal with the situation.

I'm talking single fathers with majority custody.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:06 am

I guess if you mean sympathy arising from a presumption of ineptitude, then they certainly get that! But that's still prejudicial, of course, and the kind of sympathy that sees a father's children wrongfully taken away from him isn't a great deal of use.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:35 pm

where do these people come from?
how does this happen? i dont like your opinion on the war, the footy, that womens breasts, so hereya, we are just going to turn this into a flame thrower, and spend 2 hours burning you? WTF!

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-16/torture-accused-burnt-man-with-aerosol-used-like-a-flamethrower/8446416

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:25 pm

Proposed law in Texas to fine men $100 every time they masturbate.

http://edition.cnn.com/2017/03/13/health/abortion-texas-lawmaker-trnd/

Don't move to Texas DTM. Razz

I sort of get the symbolism of what she's trying to do, but..........fail

Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:24 am

Proposed law in Texas to fine men $100 every time they masturbate.

http://edition.cnn.com/2017/03/13/health/abortion-texas-lawmaker-trnd/

Don't move to Texas DTM. Razz

I sort of get the symbolism of what she's trying to do, but..........fail

Blimey Shocked Big brother really IS watching Laughing

MM

Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:32 pm

No quite a WTF but.....

Random people who insist on talking to me.
On public transport, in the shops.
I must have a friendly face plus I try not to be rude and play along with a bit of conversation.

Today at Carnegie waiting for the lift, bloke starts talking to me about how good Aldi is. Despite the fact I had my headphones in listening to the radio!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:59 pm

Yeah I'm a talker and I have that face too so it works out!!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:15 pm

Dark Beanie wrote:
No quite a WTF but.....

I must have a friendly face plus I try not to be rude and play along with a bit of conversation.

Today at Carnegie waiting for the lift, bloke starts talking to me about how good Aldi is. Despite the fact I had my headphones in listening to the radio!

This is also my lot in life. To be fair, though, sometimes I've actually ended up enjoying it – you meet some really interesting people that way.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:45 am

Dark Beanie wrote:
No quite a WTF but.....

To be fair except for the Rosstown there is a not a lot else around there to talk about. They voted against the strip joint.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:57 pm

Too many 'depressing messages' in VCE books drives push for trigger warnings

Trigger warnings should be introduced for English texts to notify students of distressing themes, traumatised VCE students say.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/too-many-depressing-messages-in-vce-books-drives-push-for-trigger-warnings-20170427-gvtybq.html?rand=1493287992116

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:59 pm

ronrat wrote:
Dark Beanie wrote:
No quite a WTF but.....

To be fair except for the Rosstown there is a not a lot else around there to talk about. They voted against the strip joint.

Mate, Koornang road is a foodies delight. Great Asian foods these days. In Neerim road just south of Koornang road there's a great tiny cafe - great coffee with a terrific small menu.

Mixed asian groceries & my old butcher is still there - our first house was there (in the 17% interest days)

Bicycle shops galore on Dandenong Road.

Thank god "kittens" wasn't allowed there. Who needs grubby males hangin' around. The one in Elsternwick was fire bombed by a bikie gang - lucky no one was injured. Fortunately the fire didn't spread to nearby houses.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:38 am

Morrigu wrote:
Too many 'depressing messages' in VCE books drives push for trigger warnings

Trigger warnings should be introduced for English texts to notify students of distressing themes, traumatised VCE students say.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/too-many-depressing-messages-in-vce-books-drives-push-for-trigger-warnings-20170427-gvtybq.html?rand=1493287992116

This just reinforces the idea that much of this young generation is full of snowflakes! Laughing

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 218, 219, 220 ... 275, 276, 277  Next
Page 219 of 277