Departed Premiers - 21 gone 2-2-5-3-0-5-0-1-1-2 - 2 left

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:39 am
Post subject: Departed Premiers - 21 gone 2-2-5-3-0-5-0-1-1-2 - 2 leftReply with quote

Age will not weary them, or the years condemn. You will always hold a special place in my heart.

Departed Premiers (23 players)

1. Leigh Brown (2011) - retired. It took fans a long time to appreciate the value of a guy like Leigh Brown to the pies (probably more embarassing posts on Nick's about Leigh Brown than any other player other than Leon Davis) Might have been Mick Malthouse's greatest accomplishment as a coach. A valuable member of our premiership 22. Vale Leigh Brown, you great man!

2. Leon Davis (2011) - not offered enough money prompting retirement. Another much maligned player who played his heart out for the pies. It was a case of "you don't miss them till they are gone." Its been years since we have someone with his run and expert ball skills out of defence. Vale Leon.

3. Sharrod Wellingham (2012) - requested a trade to his home state. Pies hierachy allege he is not committed enough to winning. Now an Eagle.

4. Chris Dawes (2012) - requested a trade after being told by Nathan Buckley that he isnt much use as a ruckman/tall forward if he cant ruck and he can't mark or kick goals. Now a Demon.

5. Ben Johnson (2013) - opted to retire midway through the season after repeated injuries and an aging body slowed him down to the point where he was unable to get into the best 22 on a weekly basis. Retires as one of the clubs great champions. Premiership Player, over 200 quality games. Vale BJ. Thanks for the memories!

6. Alan Didak (2013) - cut by Nathan Buckley immediately following our premature exit from the 2013 finals campaign. Part (and potentially the leader) of the infamous Collingwood Brat Pack, with ties to the underworld early in his career, Alan Didak provided true Collingwood fans with an unbeleivable number of highlights to cherish. Who could forget the shimmy during the glorious premiership run and his courage to play with a torn pectoral muscle.

7. Darren Jolly (2013) - another to be cut by Nathan Buckley following the 2013 finals campaign, he basically succumbed to bad knees in the end, forced to endure a less that ideal couple of seasons to finish his Collingwood career. Darren Jolly (together with Luke Ball), was probably the final key piece to our 2010 premiership puzzle. Recruited from Sydney after requesting a return to Melbourne to help his wife recover from PND, Collingwood snapped up the first true tap ruckman it had had since the great Damien Monkhorst. Very adept at sneaking forward to kick a goal or two and magnificent in the stoppages, Darren played the game the right way and really helped put Collingwood over the top in 2010. A very well liked member of the premiership team.

8 Dale Thomas (2013) - Daisy is now a Blue, and if i'm not mistaken, the first collingwood player ever to be lost to free agency. Pies chose not to match a very good (and guaranteed) offer from carlton and so Daisy opted to take the secure contract rather than roll the dice with his ankles. some wonder if there were personality issues at play adding to the obvious money issue. I will remember him as one of my favorite players with amazing ability to gut run like no other player i have seen. Also a player with the ability to influence the outcome of a game with 3 minutes of brilliance. Many who think he should have touched the footy more times per game, i disagree and believe his greatest value is actually what he used to do without the ball (especially in a team that is already full of possession accumulators). I will miss him (and will boo him mightily when we play Carlton in the future).

9 Heath Shaw (2013) - Player and club agreed that he needed to make a fresh start with a new team and that team was Greater Western Sydney. We will all remember "that" smother and many many years of joy watching maybe one of the best one on one defenders and one of the most attacking backmen the game has seen. Gameplans were built around dulling this man's influence on a game. Such was his brilliance, he is arguably the catalyst for the introduction of the forward tagger (a specialized position today).

10. Nick Mawell (2014) - Gave up the captaincy at the end of 2013 and then retired half way through the following season after a serious ankle injury made any further action in 2014 an impossiblity. It wasnt clear he would have been in our best 22 in 2015, so he sensibly stepped aside. A inspirational leader and the glue that held our backline together for many years even if his worth to the side was not quite as apparent to those who dont follow the game (or collingwood closely). A big part of our premeirship success.

11. Luke Ball (2014) - Obtained at just the right time in the pies premiership cycle, Luke Ball was (along with darren Jolly) the icing on the cake that helped to take us over the top in 2010. Few players play the game with his heart and passion. He brought a great deal of class to our team and although he only played with Collingwood for 5 years, he will always be remembered as a great Collingwood man.

12. Harry O'Brien (aka Heritier Lumumba) (2014) - He was Harry O during our premiership campaign and is simply H or Lumumba these days. One of the great success stories of the Collingwood organization (after all, the kid came to us off the street and asked if he could play for us and 5 or 6 years later he was a premiership player who provided at least one amazing and enduring memory for all of us in the 2010 Grand Final Replay! - does it get any better than that!). It seems like people are divided about him a little, given his apparent disagreements with pies hierarchy which ultimately led him to be traded to the Demons. No-one can deny however that he provided us with great excitement over the years, especially in our premiership year!

13. Dane Swan (2016)
14. Allan Toovey (2016)
15. Brent Macaffer (2016)
16. Nathan Brown (2016)
17. Travis Cloke (2106)
18. Jarryd Blair (2018)
19. Tyson Goldsack (2019)
20. Ben Ried (2020)
21. Dayne Beams (2014 and 2020)

This leaves the following Premiership players left at Collingwood (ranked in possible order of retirement)

Pendles, Sidey!

This thread will be bumped and updated over time. I think it will be interesting to see how the premiership 23 end up leaving us and when.

Sharrod-wellingham.jpg

Sharrod Wellingham - Collingwood Premeirship Player

Nick_Maxwell.jpg

Nick Maxwell - Collingwood Premiership Player (Captain)

Dale_thomas.jpg

Dale Thomas - Collingwood Premiership Player

Ben_johnson2.jpg

Ben Johnson - Collingwood Premiership Player

Heath-Shaw.jpg

Heath Shaw - Collingwood Premeirship Player

darren-jolly.jpg

Darren Jolly - Collingwood Premiership Player

alan_didak.jpg

Alan Didak - Collingwood Premiership Player

Chris-dawes.jpg

Chris Dawes - Collingwood Premiership Player

leon-davis.jpg

Leon Davis - Collingwood Premiership Player

brown.jpg

Leigh Brown - Collingwood Premiership Player!

Last edited by E on Sun Dec 27, 2020 9:12 am; edited 25 times in total

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:46 am

Leon Davis, which premiership did he play in?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:22 am

Pa Marmo wrote:

the one he got a premiership medallion for playing in. You know the one, the one that his miraculous goal at a crucial time gave us a chance to win in the second half.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:47 am

Oh, you mean the token ring from being there the week before Confused

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:34 am

yes, the token "medallion" (he plays australian sports, not US sports mate) he got for playing in a grand final during a premiership year. You know, the same medallion that every player gets when they play in a grand final in a premiership year.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:46 am

Not as smart as you think you are <snip>, they all got premiership rings in 2010 as well, mate, and after having a quick chat with mr Davis, I reckon he places as much relevance on it as I do.
stoliboy Cancer

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:09 am

Pa Marmo wrote:

the one he got a premiership medallion for playing in. You know the one, the one that his miraculous goal at a crucial time gave us a chance to win in the second half.

Yup this one! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_XAxzCS7rQ

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:24 am

Pa Marmo wrote:

Oh, you mean the token ring from being there the week before Confused

yes, the token "medallion" (he plays australian sports, not US sports mate) he got for playing in a grand final during a premiership year. You know, the same medallion that every player gets when they play in a grand final in a premiership year.

Not as smart as you think you are <snip>, they all got premiership rings in 2010 as well, mate, and after having a quick chat with mr Davis, I reckon he places as much relevance on it as I do.

And here was me thinking we were having a light hearted banter......

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:34 am

<snip>
regan is true fullback 

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:42 am

Leon Davis, Chris Tarrant and the late John McCarthy all played in the NAB Cup premiership of 2011.

To my mind this would make that group pretty special.

It is sad that there can never be a reunion of these men. Like 1990 there will be someone missing.

NAB Cup premierships aren't worth as much as the big one, but this game, along with the giant flag at the Carlton game is a sweet reminder of a time when we were truly "Kings of the World"

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:59 am

Without Leon there would be a color DVD of a Saints flag. And Barry Breen would faded into obscurity.

Wouldn't want that now, would we?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:06 am

Without Leon there would be a color DVD of a Saints flag. And Barry Breen would faded into obscurity.

Wouldn't want that now, would we?

Very True words king of the mal maninga!

Kingswood 

//

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:08 am

I like the concept of this thread.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:43 am

Pa Marmo wrote:

<snip>

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:14 am

<snip>

<snip>

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 1 of 13