Pre Prelim - Pies v. Swans - all comments.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:14 am

Wonder what effect JMac's funeral on the Thursday will have on our players.

It is not only the emotional drain they face, it is also the additional travel to Sorrento and back, and the disruption to their normal preparation for an Interstate game.
jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:21 am

Jolly Good wrote:

It is not only the emotional drain they face, it is also the additional travel to Sorrento and back, and the disruption to their normal preparation for an Interstate game.

Correct. But it will test our premiership credentials. Win next Friday night and the grand final will seem like a walk in the park - seriously.

You know our deeply loved past player John McCarthy might just have gifted us a flag. Something has happened to the playing group this week. Like the alchemists of old they have taken the tragic emotions of the week and turned them into pure gold. Repeat that dose next week and look out Hawthorn.

They have belief again. Besides Tarrant deserves that elusive flag.
jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:24 am

tomoleary wrote:
I can tell already that it's gonna be the Sydney Swans, 3 Umpires, a Sydney home crowd, the AFL and the rest of Australia vs Collingwood.

Isn't it that way every week? Shocked

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:25 am

Jolly Good wrote:

Going to be really tough on our lads.
They are going from the funeral straight to the airport & have to play the next night. It's going to be even more difficult for them than this week I reckon. Not a lot of time to get focused. Good luck boys.
Diamonds 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:32 pm

Does anybody have a link or know how many tickets can be purchased per membership this week. We are going up tomorrow and a mate wants me to get him a ticket.
Grassy13 Aquarius

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:54 pm

I reckon if dawesy is out bring in wood and put jolly at full forward for a rest when wood rucks
Adz 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:59 pm

Going to be a wet game by the look of the 7 day forecast. Rain predicted for basically the entire week.
TimetoFly 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:36 pm

So we play Friday night and hawks Saturday twilight

So if we win we get an extra day break

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:50 pm

The Reid on Reid clash could be huge!
Holbrook Bloke Aries

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:51 pm

Amazing to think this will be the fourth time we've had the Pies in Sydney (inc preseason). Pretty rare! This will be an awesome game of footy and Sydney look to have the box seat with a week off and the emotion of Jude Bolton playing his 300th.

Due to the conflict with the NRL playing at ANZ on Saturday, we get one less day to recover from what was a hugely physical and emotional game (the sight of Welly, Blairy & Beamsey in the rooms after was shattered). We've got the wood over them and if it's a tight game, that can't help but play on the Swans minds.

The only question is Wood or Witts - a big call either way. Pies by 1-19pts.

Camelia Grove Hotel - The best AFL pub in Sydney all season, not just the finals.
Grassy13 Aquarius

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:09 pm

Pies by 10 points
Grassy13 Aquarius

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:12 pm

think better wrote:

Yep I reckon Reid will win that Laughing

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:13 pm

It will be a massive blow to us if we lose Dawes and Dids, but not insurmountable.

If that's the case, however, I would bring in Paine and Sinclair. Jolly will just have to ruck one out, with only minimal support from Goldy and Cloke. At least Sinclair will bring speed and tackling pressure. I would have Toovey tag Jetta as he did last time and have Taz play on Goodes. If our mids in Pendles, Beams, Swan, Blair, Wellingham, Daisy and Sidey can all play well again we will beat the Swans.

I would actually love us to debut Witts or Josh Thomas, but i can't see it happening.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:26 pm

Grassy13 wrote:
think better wrote:

Yep I reckon Reid will win that Laughing

Unless Reid gets the better of him.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:28 pm

I will mention that to my , think better.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 3 of 15