Post match. Pies sink Saints - all comments

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 12, 13, 14  Next
taff wa 

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:02 pm

so many people being negative here, this year is so opposite of last year.

towards end of 2010 we were falling away in games, last qtr against dockers, final home and away game v geelong, lucky in first final against west coast and in prelim.

i think we havent reached our peak this year (maybe due to the injuries) and if we can get our best team out there beware of the pie machine.
uuuuu..... The LoneSTAR 

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:48 pm

I reckon youg Elliot did the right thing, he had a shot, we got a point meaning we could not lose of they got a late goal, the kid did OK. !

i have no problem with what elliott did. he had the momentum and a clear passage. execution was shite but if he had've scored a goal, the game was beyond doubt; the other scenario being what pnc mentioned.

IMHO, the best move would've been to stop, steady, run down the clock a little & have a set shot. I can totally understand him making that decision in those final frantic minutes. However, I'm guessing he may act differently should similar circumstances arise.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:10 pm

Deja Vu wrote:
13 shots in a quarter for a 5.8 return is just woeful. Will we ever learn?

And as far as I'm concerned we needed to start playing our best footy last week, not next week. It's no use building for the finals. We should be close to our peak now.

I keep hearing from the coach and players that we haven't played our best foot yet. What are we waiting for?

Here's a sobering thought. Maybe we have played our best footy, and it was back in Round 8 against the Crows.

Injuries are no longer a legitimate excuse. We had our best team for the year on the field last night, dominated a quarter of footy, and then got our arses handed to us in the third.

Disappointing.

5 changes and you expect it all to just fall instantly into place... really?
JC Hartley Cancer

16 premierships now in the history books. Let's be the first club to 17 premierships.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:17 pm

You mean 2011 don't you taff.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:42 pm

warburton lad wrote:
Did Milne get reported for kicking Jolly??

Is there footage of it (no pun intended). Can someone post it.

Sad to say, but Riewoldt looks shot- a shadow of his former self.

He was a gun, but has never been the same since he tore the hamstring off the bone, or the impromptu photo-shoot.

Any win over this mob is cause for celebration.... They are my most-hated team by a country mile!!

I thought you would have hated Carlscum as much as St.Kilda Mr.Lad?

Is it the John Greening incident that stirs up this hatred?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:52 pm

Big T wrote:
Saints were terrific after half time and seemed to want it more.

We were lucky to win, I reckon this time we had 21 players out there. Umpires favoured us most of the night especially that last decision.

Saints were robbed. Don't care what anyone says.

In that case you're a wanker. We had 11 more scoring shots than them and if that's the maggots on our side then pity the day they are against us.So if you don't care you won't take offence.
warburton lad 

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:06 am

warburton lad wrote:

He was a gun, but has never been the same since he tore the hamstring off the bone, or the impromptu photo-shoot.

Any win over this mob is cause for celebration.... They are my most-hated team by a country mile!!

Good evening mr Jezza!!

In truth I hate all opponents, but have a soft spot for Adelaide as I have two children by a former lover who go for the Crows and Glenelg..

The Greening incident still makes me annoyed- when I came to this country, he was the player that was the pinnacle of talent and courage and to see a brilliant career snuffed out was truly sad.

It cost us the 1972' 1973' 1977 and possibly 1978 and 1979 flags- he was that good.

Of course, Carlton registers high on the dislike scale for several grand final losses and their trademark arrogance and hubris....

LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:04 am

From where I was sitting you could see Cloke was definitely labouring in the last quarter. I can't recall beforehand. Anyone else see this?
burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:40 am

LaurieHolden wrote:
From where I was sitting you could see Cloke was definitely labouring in the last quarter. I can't recall beforehand. Anyone else see this?

Heavy pockets?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:23 am

mudlark wrote:
Big T wrote:
Saints were terrific after half time and seemed to want it more.

We were lucky to win, I reckon this time we had 21 players out there. Umpires favoured us most of the night especially that last decision.

Saints were robbed. Don't care what anyone says.

In that case you're a wanker.

Big T didn't abuse you or anybody else, so how do you justify abusing him?

WTF do we have mods for if it isn't to stop this kind of posting?

BBHS Cancer

bbhs

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:37 am

I thought second quarter was as dominant display as we have done all year. Just didn't put it through the big sticks. Should have been a 10 goal quarter.
Two_Pies Capricorn

Dougie Barwick tough as nails !!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:37 pm

On a side note Maxy was copping a bit of attention off ball. True skipper kept his head and no retaliation. Couldn't see the incidents too well due to being so far behind play... St Vomit sucks !!
GoWoodsmen 

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:48 pm

Did anyone else notice the numerous 'wild' handballs that we shot off from the central corridor - usually just outside 50 - that went to absolutely no-one?? Initially I thought they made a mistake but the more it happened the more I wondered if this was a new string to our game-plan. Admittedly it failed every time but it looked like there was supposed to be someone running into the space.

It was just odd... it's one thing to try and get rid of the ball when under pressure, it's another to handball it 20-30 metres to the outside of the corridor, as opposed to trying to get it deeper in our forward line or more towards the centre when our backline.

Anyone else notice this? Really odd.

My two cents. We should have won by 6-7 goals. We should have been that far up at half time. Game would have been over. Sadly it wasn't due to the horrid 5-8. Still astounded at how long it took us to respond in the 3rd qtr. 10 scoring shots against in a quarter for the third time in four weeks.

Even in the last quarter you felt like we still could have won by 3-4 goals had we not stuffed so many shots.

Here's hoping the "good" side of us turns up this week.

taff wa 

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:18 pm

[quote="JC Hartley"]You mean 2011 don't you taff.[/quote]

yeah I did JC, thanks for picking that up. Wink
MattyD 

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:35 pm

warburton lad wrote:

I hate st kilda almost as much as carlscum.
In the third and last quarter on saturday I was having an alcohol-induced flashback to "that" H/A game in 2010 and GF1 2010... it wasn't pretty

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 13 of 14