Pre Match - Pies v. Bulldogs. All comments please

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:49 pm

Fire Up wrote:
keeffe can be 2nd ruck. he started his football as a ruckman.

I reckon Keeffe might be Sub

I'm predicting Sinclair to be the sub.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:50 pm

If Jolly doesn't play, we have Wood play instead. Didn't Minson rack up 55 hitouts against Wood last year?

Pretty Sure he Did and we won in the Last QTR thanks to Leroy

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:51 pm

If Jolly doesn't play, we have Wood play instead. Didn't Minson rack up 55 hitouts against Wood last year?

We killed it in that last quarter. Leroy and Krak tore the Bulldogs to shreds. Smile

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 12:12 am

We killed it in that last quarter. Leroy and Krak tore the Bulldogs to shreds. Smile

Was Great to Watch. Was in Level 2 Seats for that Game

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 12:29 am

Fire Up wrote:

can't be sinclair. has to be a player named on the bench.

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 12:42 am

56, to be exact. Wood managed 29 that day.

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/2011/040720110501.html

I remember that day for 3 reasons. First, it was p-ssing down rain all day. Second, we were driving back from a weekend in Queenscliff (we crossed the bay on the ferry, a great experience), so we listened to the match on the radio. And third, I was ill the whole day on the Sunday, leading up to and throughout the whole game. Compounding all of that was the fact that the family weekend in Queenscliff forced me to miss the Saturday afternoon VFL match against the Roosters, where we got up by a point in a thriller, when we were expected to get flogged.

I thought the Dogs were going to snatch it when they drew level in the last, but then enter (stage left)... The Anvil. Four magnificent goals, with able support from the Krak and Steele. Magnificent stuff!

Clifton Hill-Billy 

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 7:39 am

I expect us to win and a margin of anything less than 5-6 goals will be disappointing. I think it will be similar to the Richmond game. Go pies!
jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 7:44 am

melliot wrote:
Dids is out obviously for team structure reasons.

Our team can't structure around guys who kick straight for goals.

Geez don't you guys know anything.

Let me bang on about this some more. WTF would you play Sinclair when Didak is available? And don't tell me he's still injured. He's been tearing it up in the VFL. Rolling Eyes

Has anyone ever been lucky enough to have such a charmed run to start their AFL career than Ben Sinclair? Until the kid learns to dispose of the footy he should play in the VFL.

Last edited by jack_spain on Fri May 04, 2012 7:49 am; edited 1 time in total
jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 7:45 am

There was more than one hero on Anzac Day, and Sinclair was one of them. He made some very important plays in the last couple of minutes, including setting up the winning goal.

BS!
cityslick1 

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 9:11 am

I count 11 defenders, give or take a midfielder or two. Is this the game that we see Ben Reid tested in the half forward line...

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 10:11 am

NO Didak,.................hmmmm, the plot thickens.

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 10:55 am

Fire Up wrote:

can't be sinclair. has to be a player named on the bench.

Willing to be corrected on this but my understanding is that anyone from the entire selected team can be picked as the sub, NOT necessarily from those picked on the bench. Can anyone please confirm or deny?

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 11:08 am

jack_spain wrote:
Let me bang on about this some more. WTF would you play Sinclair when Didak is available? And don't tell me he's still injured. He's been tearing it up in the VFL. Rolling Eyes

FWIW, I hope Bucks continues to play Dids in the seconds just to REALLY piss you off... Twisted Evil Razz Rolling Eyes

FFS, it is obvious that the club knows where Didak is at more than you do! I would much rather get him fully fit, in supreme form, great confidence and kicking multiple goals in the VFL rather than putting him in too early like MM did last year. And need I tell a supposedly seasoned fan like you that the season is a marathon, not a sprint? I'd rather get every one primed to play at their peak in September than bomb out like we did last year.

You and your even dumber mate Hiss might not agree but I reckon Buck's is doing a simply brilliant job with his player management and team selection this year. The planning is meticulous (that means "very good" for Hiss' comprehension!!!) Razz

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 11:40 am

jack_spain wrote:
melliot wrote:
Dids is out obviously for team structure reasons.

Our team can't structure around guys who kick straight for goals.

Geez don't you guys know anything.

Has anyone ever been lucky enough to have such a charmed run to start their AFL career than Ben Sinclair? Until the kid learns to dispose of the footy he should play in the VFL.

Maybe have sarcasum in your mind when you read my post and then re-evaluate! cheers.

HOWEVER...........

Sinclair does bring some intensity and hardness with his game. Skills are pretty shocking though. Hopefully, with more top level games this will develop more positively. BJ, Cloke, Toovey were all simlar with their skills to begin with. Give him 20 games and see if it improves.

He's probably never going to be a greatly skilled. But could become adequately skilled (like Tooves), and have intensity and hardness as his major asset for the team. If we had a team of Sinclairs, we'd get murdered. Same if we had a team of Didaks. Always got to have a mix.

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 11:51 am

mandy wrote:
eddiesmith wrote:
Or maybe they want Didak to show some form before being picked again, he hasnt shown any for about 2 years

Didak has done more than enough in the VFL the past few weeks to warrant selection.

Unlike Sinclair who has done more, so much more, than enough in the past few weeks to not warrant senior selection.

Do you just hate everyone that's good looking, eddie?

I dont hate Didak, I just think he should earn his spot back after struggling for the last 2 years when he has been rushed back in

Page 5 of 6