Time to pull the plug on Port Power!

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:17 pm
Post subject: Time to pull the plug on Port Power!Reply with quote

Port Adelaide loses more than $3 million

PORT Adelaide has blamed poor crowds for another horror financial result.

Port today announced an operating profit of almost $888,000 for 2011.

But after an AFL emergency loan and another $2.5 million grant from the SANFL are taken out, the club finished more than $3 million in the red.

“We suffered in 2011 through lower-than-expected AFL home ground crowds, which were impacted on by some scheduling issues together with our team’s on-field results,” president Brett Duncanson said.

“It highlights the need for our members and supporters to get along to our home games and support the team and at the same time help our club’s bottom line.”

In the past two weeks Port has lost both its major sponsors.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/port-adelaide-loses-more-than-3-million/story-e6frf9jf-1226220122110

No doubt Collingwood will be asked to give up more of its share of the AFL revenue to keep this pitiful club afloat. Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:14 pm

Agreed.

Port and North should go immediately. After 4 years, GWS should also fall on their sword and a another club to balance the fixture. I'd be happy for one of Bulldogs, Hawks or Dees to go.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:31 pm
Post subject: YessReply with quote

How can that monopolistic socialist capitalist joke called the AFL create new clubs like the Gold Coast Scums and Greater Western Burka Sydney when there are other Clubs like Port Power, North Melbourne, Footscray, etc going bust? It just goes to show when you allow a monopoly like the AFL to rule unregulated, they will cock it up and ultimately wreck the game for all of us. And the media have much of the blame here too.

I say we had the best thing going when it was the VFL and it was run by Jack Hamilton and Fish Eyes!

themonk 

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:25 pm

Agreed.

Port and North should go immediately. After 4 years, GWS should also fall on their sword and a another club to balance the fixture. I'd be happy for one of Bulldogs, Hawks or Dees to go.

Hawks! I doubt that very much, Hawthorn are only just behind us, Carlton & Essendon. Along with Geelong they are probably the leaders in that 2nd tier of Melbourne power clubs, yes even bigger than Richmond.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:18 pm

Port is still paying for the way the SANFL made them set up.

The SANFL never wanted to join the AFL, Port pushed them into a corner. Then when Port was accepted, the SANFL £$%$ed them over with restrictions and basically crippled them from birth.

That, plus the fact that they still only appeal to a small part of the SA market means they're always in strife.

We need the second team in SA, the AFL just needs to remove the dead hand of the SANFL from the reigns and let them set up like a Victorian club instead of having artificial separations between the SANFL Port and the AFL Port.

Black_White Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:43 pm

If only Port had an instantly recognised jumper/colors..............

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:58 pm

port will be gone soon. if they can not gain money fast.
rocketronnie 

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:15 pm

Typical myopic dog whistling attitude from The estimable Mr Spain. I agree with Stui. The second Adelaide club is needed in the national competition. I guess they will have to be propped up while the cycle turns on field for them. As Stui says freeing them up to compete on a level playing field with the other clubs will also help.
rocketronnie 

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:16 pm
Post subject: Re: YessReply with quote

Hiss wrote:
How can that monopolistic socialist capitalist joke called the AFL create new clubs like the Gold Coast Scums and Greater Western Burka Sydney when there are other Clubs like Port Power, North Melbourne, Footscray, etc going bust? It just goes to show when you allow a monopoly like the AFL to rule unregulated, they will cock it up and ultimately wreck the game for all of us. And the media have much of the blame here too.

I say we had the best thing going when it was the VFL and it was run by Jack Hamilton and Fish Eyes!

Nasty.

Pied Piper Aries

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:45 pm

^ It is nasty, rocket, if you took it at face value. Then I read Hiss' rant about pokies and nearly fell off my chair laughing.

I'm starting to think Hiss is our version of John Clarke, which might make him the second best satirist in the world. Cool

Let's have another crack.... and discussions on poker machine revenue and whether or not you were a lesbian in a past life belong in VPT.

LD for the mods

Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:40 am

dead wrong again jerker! really original thread title as well - did you borrow it from the Herald Sun?

personally I'm happy with an 18 team comp, but would prefer a Tassie team and an extra WA team for balance - goodbye North (or move south) and goodbye Melbourne!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:14 am

Not a bad article written last year. Contains a bit of detail about the depth of the issues.

http://www.theroar.com.au/2011/08/23/what-needs-to-happen-at-port-adelaide/

regan is true fullback 

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:32 am

1. Port treat their kids well - $20 membership as opposed to $80 at Collingwood

2.The centre of power in the SANFL has switched from the Northern Suburbs (Port) to Elizabeth (Centrals). Sadly the catchment in Elizabeth don't like Port.

3.In parochial cities, power struggles will always be with us. See Tasmania. In Sydney and Brisbane they don't give a toss. This makes it hard for the Cardinals to manage established markets.

4.How many times were we going to wind up the Swans? The Showponies wanted to buy them at one stage.

5.Home games in Darwin - second market based on the successful Hawks in Tasmania

6. Port and Freo were partly introduced to stop the Weags and Crows from dominating the comp. It will happen if Adelaide becomes a one team town.
Deja Vu 

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:52 pm

You can't sell TV rights for $____ billion if you don't have footy on every weekend in every major city in the country.

For this to occur you need 2 teams in every state (sorry Tassie & NT). The AFL will continue to prop up Port for as long as it is expedient. If it becomes significantly cheaper to scrap Port and start again from the scratch with a new team then that's what they'll do.

But that won't happen because the move to Adelaide Oval has been approved and this will solve a lot of issues for Port.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:11 pm

John McCarthy probably agrees.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4