So. What's for Dinner?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 85, 86, 87 ... 117, 118, 119  Next

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:09 pm

Went out tonight to a cool wine bar in North Fitzroy ( a short walk to my youngests rented place to catch up with my oldest 28th (25 Aug), my youngests 25th (31 July) and fathers day (I'll be in QLD for day 1 of the big ride)

http://neighbourhoodwine.com

https://docs.google.com/viewerng/viewer?url=https://www.dropbox.com/s/b3tsnlz8iyedqn8/FOOD%20MENU.pdf?dl=1

5 of us in total (youngest's boyfriend)

I broke my vegetarianism tonight and had a Cape Grin (Tasmanian steak sliced with horseradish) medium rare. Lots of other courses, sides and drinks.

I'll now go back to vegetarianism. Just had to do it. Lovely venue, nice meal and we rationalized the expence by saying we haven't done it for a long time. Busy lives to get us all out together.

Never eaten a Tasmanian... how was it?

One head tasted better than the other Confused Shocked

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:13 pm

Coated the brisket with some bbq rub, browned it in the fry pan then put it in the slow cooker on top of some sliced portabello mushies, tin of tomatoes, sliced onion, chopped garlic and put 2 cups of beef stock in, as well as some black peppercorns and a good dash of Worcestershire sauce.

Meal sounded great. What's the difference between chopped garlic and putting garlic through the hand press? I always do the latter. (no trick question here) and I mean with respect to taste.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:18 pm

Confession time Embarassed

On the bike ride I ate:

3 sausage sizzle sausages in white bread, onions and tomato sauce.
1 sausage roll all to support the CWA. I also supported a neighbourhood house in Atherton!!

At Port Douglas I ate a hamburger more or less with the lot.

Back in Melbourne I need to stick to being a vegetarian again (I still eat fish)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:21 pm

One what?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:00 pm

Coated the brisket with some bbq rub, browned it in the fry pan then put it in the slow cooker on top of some sliced portabello mushies, tin of tomatoes, sliced onion, chopped garlic and put 2 cups of beef stock in, as well as some black peppercorns and a good dash of Worcestershire sauce.

Meal sounded great. What's the difference between chopped garlic and putting garlic through the hand press? I always do the latter. (no trick question here) and I mean with respect to taste.

F all different in the taste, I've just got a technique worked out to skin the garic cloves which works so it's easier to peel them, crush them with the flat of the blade, then quickly chop them. Also 1 less thing to wash.

It's purely personal preference, unless you're doing a stir fry or something that cooks quickly. Then, crushing it would probably be better

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:36 pm

I buy peeled ones, I hate peeling them! Love roasted garlic!

WPT dont worry about the snags, there is no meat in them!

I did chicken breast dipped in sugar Ray sauce stuff, then crumbs, hand cut sweet potato chips dry fried, and stir fried veg.

Have you seen the Facebook recipe for one pot chicken breast, sliced and cooked in stock and a can of tomatoes and some wine? God its yum, and I mix it up every time, never tastes bad! I use Japanese noodles instead of spaghetti, 10 min to prepare and cooks in 30!

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:20 pm

Friday and Saturday night are finger food watching the footy.

Last night was buffalo chicken wings in the air fryer, with carrot and celery sticks, blue cheese sauce, garlic sauce and some cheese on the side. (vintage cheddar and Brie)

Tonight I'm going for confused Greek in Texas.

Slow cooked beef spare ribs

Lamb cutlets with garlic salt and lemon juice

Crusty bread with butter

I was thinking of doing some Saganaki as well, but I'll probably just go with some chilli Brie on the side instead.

Washed down with some red wine and Budweiser beer watching the Pies with the heater on nuke.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:08 pm

Tried the southern smoked sweet potato & black bean burgers from coles, OMG they are sooo good! The curried ones arnt bad but these are so tasty. (no, no labels, i havent stopped eating steak fish or chicken, im just cutting down on animal proteins for a few reasons). Also love their Falafel, three flavours all are really good.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:13 pm

Sometimes I think love is just a biological urge. Other times LOVE seems like a spiritual quality. Love, unlike energy or matter, seems limitless.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:35 pm

Nor did I! David hasn't commented since Feb 21. I hope not food poisoning.

That is concerning. Its a long time for him.

Hes taking a break from Facebook too, concentrating on work and life

Mugwump has not commented in the past month. Fasting in the desert? I hope there's nothing wrong.
Pi Gemini

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 9:56 pm

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-6214865/Hatfield-vegan-served-sad-looking-Pizza-Express-meal-kitchen-runs-vegan-cheese.html

lol Laughing

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:09 pm

LOL,

No vegans at my house. Tonight having beef brisket and pork shoulder, both cooked low and slow on the smoker.

the garden side salad has crumbled feta, the potato salad has egg and bacon in it.

Razz Cool

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:31 pm

I've gone across to the dark side.

I'm eating meat.

Mrs WPT continues to be a pescatarian

We're both doing the Low Carb High Fat diet (paleo more or less) both under medical supervision (through my Mum's GP funnily enough) not because we're crook but to prevent being crook.

Gunna try it for 6-12 months then see how we are through blood tests, weight loss etc.

(missing fruit, although one is allowed berries).

No bread, pasta, rice, legumes etc, no below ground veges but above ground veges.

Tonight Mrs WPT made stuffed mushrooms (friggin delicious) and baked fennel and brussel sprouts with balsamic and olive oil. Magnificant with a green salad.

I made lamb meaballs (browned then cooked in a tomato sauce) to have tomorrow with either cauliflower rice or zucchini pasta. Haven't made them in years & used to have them with rice. Always a winner.

Meatballs
500 grams of lamb mince
1 & half cup full of flat leafed parsely
1/2 cup if not more of fresh mint
2 large golden shallots
3 cloves of garlic
1.5 tsp of ground cumin and coriander
Powdered chiili to taste
3/4 tea spoon of smoked paprika
salt, pepper
2 tablesoons of extra virgin olive oil

Place everthing except meat & oil in a food processor
Pulse it till small bit not liquid (short time)
Add meat & oil to the food processor
Pulse again for a short time till combined

Empty into a bowl
have a bowl of water ready
Then make small balls or small patties using the water to keep the hands moist
(I used disposable gloves while making these)

Brown the patties in a nonstick pan with the olive oil - I used coconut oil

Sauce
2-3 tins 400 grams of diced tomatoes
fry one diced oinion
add cooked onion salt & pepper to sauce
place in a saucepan

Then as you cook the sauce add the meatballs to poach / cook in the sauce. Cook for a good while (let it reduce, It was a bit sweet and I'll be adding a bit of lemon zest) and lots of fresh parsely.

Easy to make and is a winner (not for vegetarians ) Wink

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:00 pm

Welcome to the dark side, we have Steaks. Wink Razz

Keep us informed of progress, if you can implement some sort of portion size control along with no carbs, you should be dropping weight in no time.

I think my body is just giving me the F U for the first 30 years of my life when I couldn't gain weight

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:10 pm

Heading up bush for a couple of days so need to cook some tucker to last the old girl a couple of days.

Jagged some snags at the local IGA, lamb mint and honey and chicken and chives, plus some rissoles.

Cook them on the corrugated grill plate on the gas, have that with some mashed spuds and steamed greens.

Leftovers will last her til I get back Sunday

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 85, 86, 87 ... 117, 118, 119  Next
Page 86 of 119