Cost of Living Comparison

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:32 am

Magpiemad....go piss in your own pocket.....Stay in QLD wher you belong.
If you remember correctly I started giving a rundown on Sydney prices,but its idiots that are around that take it the wrong way.Christ way back at the beginning of this post I started by giving housing costs,bread costs,petrol costs etc.etc.I suggest that you go back and check before blowing your bloody trumpet.
I think that as soon as I go on holidays,I shall just be a private PIES supporter,who has followed them for 40 odd years and I shall retire into the rural sector of NSW.I am going to put my pants on and leave now.

You people are a bunch of cranks....I just wish I had what you Mexicans had and Banana Benders had......I would like some!!!!!!!!!!

PeterWH
PIES FOR PREMIERS 2002.
We missed 2002 but theres always 2003

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:38 am

Haha...pretty uneven fight MagpieMad.
Reckon I'll have to report you to the RSPCA if you keep it up.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 1:18 pm

peterHW, LOL what are you doing with your pants off? I think you have totaly lost the plot m8 and are making quite a tool of yourself here. once again, this was a thread to find out the "cost of living" in the capital cities, which you have mistakenly taken it to be a "sydney is the best" thread and have written reems of crap to try and back up for feeble argument.
as for me belonging in QLD, well I have only just moved here and I don't really think I "belong here" as yet, I rather feel that I should be living in melbourne, somewhere nice and close to Collingwood, but that will probably only start you frothing at the mouth and start ranting on again.
I think matbe when you sit down to type your responses here, you should keep your pants on, as not only do you seem to have trouble typing with one hand it seems to cloud up your thinking somewhat aswell.
ok m8?
have a nice day

MagpieMad
http://magpiemad.magpies.net/

[This message has been edited by magpiemad (edited 16 February 2003).]
Get Smart 

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 2:30 pm

Wow, what a read.
I have lived in Sydney all my life so I can not compare the two cities.
I do know that Housing in Sydney costs more.
For other everyday expenses, well for the times I have been to Melbourne I don't think it is much different.
One thing that you Melbourne people have over us in Sydney is better public transport. On my visits to Melbourne I would choose to get around on PT rather than drive. In Sydney the car is more use. I am lucky I am walking distance from work.
I would hate to use PT in Sydney.
I love Collingwood and do wish I could get more chances to watch them. You are very lucky in Melbourne.
Sydney is a prettier city. Great harbour and great beaches. We do not have those ugly tram wires.
So lets not get so horrible with each. We live where we live, but we all agree in one thing---we all love Collingwood. We are the Collingwood Family.

[This message has been edited by Get Smart (edited 17 February 2003).]

ck_nd Pisces

Pie Minister

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 3:47 pm

Is it worth me putting some prices up on this post? Well ignoring the urinating contest that has been going on these prices come from the receipt from my shopping trip this week at my local supermarket (in Sydney.)

1 Litre milk (4% fat) $1.59 ($1.80 at the servo.)
15 pack eggs $4.84
(bake my own bread so don't have those prices.) Walked past the local bakery and the loaves averaged around $2.80-$3.00
almonds $15.98 / kg
fresh beans $8.99 / kg (fruit and vege are getting kinda pricey b/c of the drought. Beans at this time of the year would be around $5-6/ kg)
Rockmelon (whole) $2.99
Pantene shampoo $8.95 (conditioner $8.95)
Pack of tic tacs range from 0.80c-$1.50
Petrol (live down the road from a servo) this weeks prices have ranged from 90.9 - 102.9 cpl

Hope this helps the cost comparison topic.

Go Pies! You are doing us Proud.

Carol

May the Wings of the Magpie touch every corner of the Nation!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:04 pm

ck_nd, whats with the attempt to get this back on-topic?
To much entertainment to change it now!! haha!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:54 pm

Yeah, price list, good idea...

1 Litre milk (4% fat) dunno, a man comes around to deliver it

15 pack eggs - what sort, duck, quail, goose????

bread, must be less than a pound a loaf, but having a little frenchman cycle over a basket of baguettes from Brittany may cost a little more

almonds YUK, ck_nd, how can you eat those??, the smell of them makes me want to vomit! Pistachios are quite nice though.

fresh beans - Beans??? they only come as baked over here!
Rockmelon (whole) $2.99 they sell them here, but again, no idea what they cost
Pantene shampoo I give up
Pack of tic tacs no idea
Petrol about 80p a litre

6 pack of VB...£5 at supermarket
Pint of Extra Cold Guinness at the George V...£1.95
Bottle of slam it down fast Chianti, £3
Gauloises...around £4.50
Cognac...ranges in price, depending on how inebriated one is at time of purchase
Air Fare out of place..(particularly relevant if you lived in Syndey eh Peter, £1.50 plus tax to Dublin is one example.)
Price of cab home from city after insane evening of debauchery...irrelevant, keep on debauching until it's time to go back to work.

Now, Pete, have you found me that A$300,000 home in Clifton Gardens yet?

[This message has been edited by London Dave (edited 17 February 2003).]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 8:12 pm

Anyways sydneysiders are just sophisticated tasmanians with ties on

100,000 GOLD WIGS and a million shining eyes
This our country's one true game
And the footy ground's on fire
And collingwood's sons and daughter's, under wide Australian skies
Win or lose we're back again to claim the winner's prize.....

Go Pies you bloody beauties !! 'Caaarm Ornnn' kill the Bloody Bastards.

email..joffa@magpies.net
Get Smart 

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:12 am

Mr Joffa,
I have 1 head and I do not wear ties.

Murray 

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:33 am

Oui PeterWH, No racial tension in Frankston, we do not allow racists down here we beat em up and bury em up to their red necks on one of our lovely beaches (just behind Davies Pub near the sewer outlet).

Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother's eye. - The Old Testiment

Murray 

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:33 am

Oui PeterWH, No racial tension in Frankston, we do not allow racists down here we beat em up and bury em up to their red necks on one of our lovely beaches (just behind Davies Pub near the sewer outlet).

Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother's eye. - The Old Testiment

Murray 

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:44 am

Tessa honey, does it matter?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 4:50 am

Ahem.

The Possum Pies wrote:
quote:

I think the whole idea of comparisons is a smoke screen probably developed by someone who obviously isn't smart enough to follow the MAGPIES!!!

You can call me stupid if you like, BUT YOU BETTER BLOODY BELIEVE THAT I FOLLOW THE PIES!

That's downright insulting.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:40 am

Davies pub hell ive been pissed in there on many ocassions

100,000 GOLD WIGS and a million shining eyes
This our country's one true game
And the footy ground's on fire
And collingwood's sons and daughter's, under wide Australian skies
Win or lose we're back again to claim the winner's prize.....

Go Pies you bloody beauties !! 'Caaarm Ornnn' kill the Bloody Bastards.

email..joffa@magpies.net

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 6:25 am

I went to Davies last week. Too many old people there.

"We've never quit, and we won't."

Page 5 of 6