If Molloy has another bad season...

Ruddeger Virgo

The world's best sister act

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 3:49 pm
Post subject: If Molloy has another bad season...Reply with quote

...will we have any choice but to trade him (if anyone will go for a trade)?

I know he was injured last year so I'm confident of him getting back to the form that placed him 2nd in the Copeland in 01.

Another season similar to last year will see us be the big losers in this trade.

RIP FTO
Stan Magro 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 3:55 pm

Would anyone take him? Mind you a fit Molloy will do wonders to our side he gives us the toughness we need around the gound and could be a big asset to the likes of Tarrant and Fraser with Molloy busting packs and doing all the heavy work much like Brereton did for Sav in 1995.

TRELOS 

TRELOS

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 3:57 pm

i recokn just his physical presence out on the field helps our...i mean i'd hate knowing the Molly is out there and could just topple me over with ease, if he gets back to his 2001 form with no injuries he'll become an important member of our team again

R.I.P
Tupac Shakur
1971-1996
2003-???
funkster05 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 4:56 pm

Any number of our players could have a really bad year.

Molloy is a valued member on the list, but he has some big deficiencies (e.g. kicking for goal from a set shot). It's great to have the bullocking and defensive work, but at the end of the day, a forward has to kick goals.

I just hope he gets a decent pre-season under his belt, because him and O'Bree were really found wanting during the season due to interrupted pre-seasons.

d9 tank 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 5:13 pm

Molloy is our real ace card this season.

We made it so far without him last season, so imagine what we could do if he fires again next season.

Sure he needs a good season, but he cant really be blamed for last year. Apparently he is looking ok at training and much more trim. With NDs depature there is a big gap left in the forward line, and if anyone on our list is capable of taking that spot its the d9. Good luck to him, he was becomeing a real cult figure at the end of 2001 (hence me taking his name, lets hope he can do it proud)

Trippy Pie Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 5:24 pm

Ofcourse Molloy will be back to his 2001 form.
Remember Stott Burns version 2001?
With a good strong preseason behind him, all I can say is bring on the fullbacks.

COLLINGWOOD RULES no one else matters!!!!!

piepower 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 5:33 pm

All he needs is a preseason under his belt, a bit of luck and injury free year and the D9 Tank will be back.

Pies Kick Arse In 2003

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 5:47 pm

Molloy not only gives us more physical presence up forward but also gives us great flexibility, he can wrestle in the goalsquare, lead, or play CHF well down the ground, assuming he's fit. If he' snot fit, he's not worth it usually. But a fit Molloy is a great asset. And an injured Molloy - well I doubt there'd be any clubs willing to trade anything good.

But I reckon he'll be very useful, especially if Fraser assumes more of the ruck duties.

Molloy and Tarrant in the goal square, both fit, with Fraser drifting forward occasiobnally, is quite a prospect for any opposition.

I think I'm a little too excited, but I can't WAIT for the season

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 5:56 pm

Major concerns for Molloy at this stage seem to be his aerobic/endurance fitness and his kicking. After a badly broken toe, (which has probably set badly after having been played on for many weeks), his already woeful kicking has reportedly deteriorated.

Agree that if he can find form like 2001, he will prove to be a strong and valuable asset. However, footy can be a fickle game at times and he needs a good year this year.

We were on recon in a steaming Mekong delta, a momentary lapse of concentration allowed Charlie to get the drop on us. I spent the next three years in a POW camp, forced to subsist on a thin stew of four kinds of rice. I came close to madness trying to find it here in the States, but they just cant get the spices right...
Pies Premiers 2003 Aquarius

KEEP SEPTEMBER FREE

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 6:24 am

Dont forget Molloy is still quite young....he has been around for ages but youngish nevertheless....

He is the Key to our forward line this year....

If we can get 17 plus games out of him we will be top two...

He does get injured...but thats because he puts his body on the line...you can never have enoough of these sorts of players

THE PIES GO MARCHING ON
Pies Premiers 2003 Aquarius

KEEP SEPTEMBER FREE

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 6:30 am

His kicking does not matter all that much...its the goals he creates rather then kicks himself that is important

THE PIES GO MARCHING ON

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 7:00 am

Lets cross that bridge when we come to it ??

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues
chalky 

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 8:08 am

With our increased depth this season, the topic does have some general merit. A related query is, how long can a team carry unproductive players? ( excluding rookies, project players )I'm certainly not suggesting Molloy is on his last chance, in fact far from it.IMO Molloy is in the same catagory as Burns - he will deliver big time when right.In his first game with us I couldn't believe this was the same player who waddled with the Bears. He had speed and endurance, remember those cameos he played at the centre bounces. Imagine a fit Molloy as a part of the fiercest,hardworking midfield combo in the league.Molloy is definitely worth persevering with. Not too sure about Kinnear, shaw and Holland - who really has to consistently perform at high level to get into midfeild rotation otherwise no spot this year. Merely speculation of course.Interesting exercise. Cheers

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 10:32 am

OMG! dont jinx it! i will kill you lol!

Jarrod will be excellent dis year, i have a feeling

*~Jarrod Molloy's #1 Fan~* *~Jarrod 4 Copeland 2003!~*

My SoNg Of ThE wEeK

"Lonely rivers flow 2 the sea, 2 the sea, 2 the open arms of the sea yeah, Lonely rivers side, Wait 4 me, Wait 4 me, I'll be coming home, Wait 4 me, Oh my luv, my darlin, I've hungered, hungered, 4 ur touch, A long lonely time"
*Unchained Melody- The Righteous Brothers*
One Of The Best Days Of My Life- December 17th, 2002! I love you Jarrod Molloy!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 11:54 am

Jarrod Molloy
Guernsey Number: 7
Height 189cm
Weight: 99kg
Recruited From: Northern U18/Box Hill/Fitzroy/Brisbane
Debut: 1994
Date of Birth: 12 May 1976

MAGPIE BIOGRAPHY
Endured a frustrating season that was plagued by injury. After finishing as
runner up in 2001 best and fairest, Molloy played only seven games. Played two finals,
including the grand final and will be looking for full preseason and return
to full fitness for 2003 season.

PLAYER HONOURS
Collingwood
RT Rush Trophy (2nd best and fairest) 2001
Darren Millane Trophy (best clubman) 2001

Brisbane
Leading goal kicker 1999

Representative honours
International Rules Series 1999 - 2 games

FACT FILE
Brownlow Medal
career votes - 16

AFL record
1994-96: Fitzroy - 59 games, 54 goals
1997-2000: Brisbane - 61 games, 104 goals
2001-02: Collingwood - 29 games, 24 goals

Draft history
Selected by Fitzroy under father/son rule 1993
Selected as merger pick by Brisbane 1996
Traded by Brisbane to Collingwood for Mal Michael and 22nd selection in
2000 national draft
---------------------------------------------------------------------

He's Still got a few years under the belt yet, his kicking for goal can be a worry ( but even bucks has his moment in front of the sticks ) but his ability to kick "the freakish" gaol can't be denied, I remember him kicking heaps of freak gaols for bris, but as most of you said its his presence out on the ground thats his biggest asset.... can't see MM getting rid of him to soon.

MagpieMad
http://magpiemad.magpies.net/