The obligatory Derby Day racing thread

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 8:45 am
Post subject: The obligatory Derby Day racing threadReply with quote

For the Derby:

1st: HELENUS
2nd: MASKERADO
3rd: HYDROMETER

But the Best Bet of the day ... in fact the Best Bet of the entire spring carnival is in the McKinnon Stakes.

Those who lost their money on LONHRO last week should win it back this week. He'll be very short, of course. But he is an absolute monty. A real no-risk proposition. Better than bank interest. In fact, this is one to sell the house for. Get on it.

Don't be a MUG any more

Ed from WA Sagittarius

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 9:53 am

helenus/diamond jake exacta for me alf.
a couple of horses have been set for particular races during the carnival,not just the derby or cup.mayfield smith is the one to follow,he is the master at setting a horse for a big race.
also royal code is set for a big race win during the carnival,as may be rubitano and mr lofty.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 10:37 am

Helenus or Davidoff my roughie being General Minolta

It is important to remember that last year Viscount and Ustinov were raging hot favourites but managed only 4th and 5th with Amalfi winning.

In the McKinnon Lohnro should win but ive been following Bedouin through its Sydney campaign and its run in Canberra Cup and its a pretty good horse.

All the races look fantastic tomororrw so it promises to be a great day of racing

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues
neutral_fan 

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:48 am

If I had a house I'd plonk it on. Just have to settle for a dollar.

Fradam Virgo

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 12:13 pm

Helenus to win the derby. For a roughie I think Ain't Here is an outside chance of winning.

My best bet for the day is Titanic Jack in the 2nd.

I don't think Lonhro is a monty all though he is the best horse in the McKinnon. I'm looking for a bit of value. I'm forgiving Dash For Cash for his shocker in the Caufield Cup and I think he'll win.

Fradam Wrote This

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 12:26 pm

I think the reason behind dash for cash flop in caufield cup was that sandmason kicked it in the barriers ??

my bet of the day is Hierogram

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 7:29 pm

Hey well done, Assasin !!!!!!!

GO THE MIGHTY WOODSMEN !! ALL THE WAY IN 2003 AND BEYOND !!!!
Bones 

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 7:33 pm

Nup don't like anything ceptin the top 2.

Numba 10 a roughie...

Race 4 Tickle My

Ed from WA Sagittarius

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 7:40 pm

yes assasin i tried the other day.
thompson had ridden a double and was on the fav in the next so i backed it and it ran 5th,and he stayed with a double.
and i gave up on that system there and then.

Ed from WA Sagittarius

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 7:45 pm

mate ive got more things to do besides watch races all week.sometimes i even go to work.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2002 7:00 pm

Well the big punters would have had a few heart attacks waiting for the Derby photo !!

Miss Zoe. What a run !! I rode it all the way down the straight. My daughters name (Zoe Rose).

GO THE MIGHTY WOODSMEN !! ALL THE WAY IN 2003 AND BEYOND !!!!
Bones 

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2002 8:15 pm

Jeez write down Charlie Bub in the pink book guys..

For those desperate for the Cup form..
http://www.ozeform.com/

Ed from WA Sagittarius

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:54 am

my sisters syndicate bet $450 on the quaddie and got it twice and lost $200
i bet $8 and got it once.
not to mention a nice bet on rubitano and almost pulled off a plunge on royal code but had the exacta as a saver.and to cap it off with a ripper of a win on blevvo in perth.
won his 5th in a row and paid $22.
are the bookies mad?you bet.
i dont bet in the cup,except for maybe a few mystery bets.
its the race a good punter should steer clear of,too hard to line up form.
but i had a dream that hatha anna won a race so maybe my missus can have a few bob on it.
my friends missus has $1 each way on the 24 horses and talks about backing the winner of the cup for the next year.
its a silly race.
try getting a bet on at 11am tuesday when a queue of once a year punters are lined up ahead of you.
thank GOD for internet betting.

Magpie_Dan Taurus

The KING And I

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2002 6:21 pm

Alf you are a weird man and you scare me, I have know you for a few years and we have spoken and stuff but some of the things you say and do SCARE THE LIFE OUT OF ME MAN and I wonder how you have got all these DEGREES or whatever they are called!

Go The Pies!

Dan

Go The richo!

UNLEASH THE VL TURBO!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 1:35 am

I scare the "life" out of you, do I?

Good.