R15: The Borough v COLLINGWOOD - TEAC Oval

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:38 pm
Post subject: R15: The Borough v COLLINGWOOD - TEAC OvalReply with quote

VFL Season 2010 - Round 15
Port Melbourne v COLLINGWOOD
Saturday July 31st 2:00pm - TEAC Oval

Selected side:

B Keeffe - Anthony - Francis
HB Cook - N. Brown - Hunter
C Barham - O'Bree - Buckley
HF McCarthy - Fraser - Rounds
F Reed - Medhurst - Rusling
R Wood - Lockyer - J. Thomas
Int (from) McNamara - Young - Frost - Colbert
K. Pendlebury (c) - Sinclair - Hunt - Carter

After a dissappointing loss to Casey last Sunday the VFL Magpies will be looking to bounce back and take back fourth place on the ladder from The Borough.

With finals assured for the Pies in both the AFL and VFL and it is now time to build for what will be a huge September for both teams.

Look for strong performances from Luke Rounds, Josh Thomas, John McCarthy and Paul Medhurst. Tarkyn Lockyer comes down from the AFL and Shane O'Bree, Jack Anthony, Cam Wood and Josh Fraser will be trying to impress the selectors with just four rounds to go and really need to start dominating these games if they are to be considered for a recall to the main 22.

Scott Reed returns to the forward line and has been in great form of late. He and the rejuvinated Sean Rusling will provide contests and plenty of hard running on a forward line that failed to function against Casey.

All in all it should be a good contest with everything to play for for both sides. Most people will be at the MCG for the game against Carlton, but if you can't get there come down to TEAC and support the Pies of tomorrow...and yesterday.

Carna' Woods!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:24 pm

Good Luck with that Shane - Will PM for Results Tommorow and I send the AFL Too You.

Hope we Smash Port

MOTR 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:32 pm

Anyone heard the score?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:39 pm

can't find it anywhere on the net.
MOTR 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:47 pm

The VFL site could be much better.
JAJH1 Libra

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:48 pm

2010 VFL Seniors
Port Melbourne 2.6 8.11 10.13 14.21 (105)
Collingwood 6.4 10.8 11.13 11.16 (82)

GOALS:
Port Melbourne: Galea 3 Sinclair 3 McMahon 3 Dwyer Dillon Cain Scipione Valenti
Collingwood: McCarthy 2 McNamara 2 Pendlebury Rounds Reed Rusling O'Bree Fraser Barham

BEST:
Port Melbourne: Pleming Dillon Fanning Galea Valenti Batsanis
Collingwood: Anthony Cook McCarthy Fraser Medhurst Buckley
MOTR 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:53 pm

Thanks. Shame about the score.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:05 pm

JAJH1 wrote:
2010 VFL Seniors

GOALS:
Collingwood: McCarthy 2 McNamara 2 Pendlebury Rounds Reed Rusling O'Bree Fraser Barham

BEST:

Jack BOG? Any feedback from him? Would be nice to see him tear it up in the VFL over coming weeks and puts a lot of pressure on the 1's.

Pebbles Rocks 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:49 pm

cant see jack coming back in the ones this year. Backline is full and medders is the next preferred forward.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 11:59 pm

Pebbles Rocks wrote:
cant see jack coming back in the ones this year. Backline is full and medders is the next preferred forward.

I want to see him putting pressure on and ready to go if we have a key injury either back or forward.

If you look at the 2's, he is one of our most versatile players in waiting.

cmfc_82 

'MON THE WOODS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 1:52 am

JAJH1 wrote:
2010 VFL Seniors

GOALS:

BEST:

WTF???

Shane you were there no doubt. Wtf happened? Where do you reckon we lost it? Thats 2 bad losses in a row now for the Woods! And we got Bendigo away next week!!! BTW, is that match up woop-woop, or at Windy Hill?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 9:26 am

Very bad last qtr by the looks of it. Would like to know more about this game...

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 2:15 pm

Dissapointing loss. We had a good opportunity to secure top 4 over the past two weeks.

2 games we could have won are down the drain, so hopefully we can get one next week over Bendigo and get one back on them for beating us in round 3.

I believe the game is at Windy Hill.

Its possible that we will play Bendigo in an Elimination Final. So this week is a massive game. Its a must win imo.

MOTR 

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 2:35 pm

Without disrespecting the VFL flag in its own right, its important that our reserves are playing right throughout the finals series.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:26 am

cmfc_82 wrote:
JAJH1 wrote:
2010 VFL Seniors

GOALS:

BEST:

WTF???

Shane you were there no doubt. Wtf happened? Where do you reckon we lost it? Thats 2 bad losses in a row now for the Woods! And we got Bendigo away next week!!! BTW, is that match up woop-woop, or at Windy Hill?

Fraser 1.4
Medhurst 0.3

We failed to put them away in the third with the wind and they punished us even though we managed to hold out for 10 minutes in the fourth which is a massive credit to Lachlan Keeffe, Jack Anthony, Ben Sinclair, Jack Carter and Tom Young...look at the age of that list...no wonder Port eventually broke us down.

Jack was not BOG. He was good for this level and did what his position required, but when he is in the VFL he is a senior player and should do more. Josh Fraser was no where near our top six and naming him there does the young blokes a disservice as some of the kids really busted a nut to try and win this one.

Sadly Tristan Francis had a shocker with some very costly defensive turnovers. He has struggled since his return and Rowdy's decision to leave him in the backline against Port's experienced forwards kicking with a stiff breaze was frankly very dissappointing. I have seen Tristan play some ripper footy before he was sidelined and I have always likened his work to Scott Burns or at very least a bigger version of Jarryd Blair. I still think he will come good...hopefully soon.

Tom Young had an uncharacteristic bad one too. Looked under the weather to me. He is very important to our ability to rebound and lacked penetration into the forward line when we needed it most. We also missed Jarrad Blight.

My best were:

3. McCarthy
2. Cook
1. Buckley
HM: Thomas, Pendlebury and Anthony (Good, but not best)

Yes, we have been shafted up to Warne Court, Strathfieldsaye outside Bendiwoopwoop this Saturday. At least the game has been brought forward to 12:00pm so we will be back in time for the game of the century.

PHOTOS FROM TEAC OVAL

MORE...