has voss's stuff ups taken the heat off rossy?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:17 am
Post subject: has voss's stuff ups taken the heat off rossy?Reply with quote

not a lot of talk about ross lately, lets rewind a bit shall we, was offered (apparently) pick 30 and one of goldsack or wellingham for luke ball, decided nothing was more "equitable", traded pick 16? for lovett and we all know how that turned out.

i remember the hatred i felt for lyon after the fiasco, i remember praying ww would play off against them in the GF and luke ball won the norm smith, the money says this is "almost" certain to happen now, well, more certain than any other combination anyway, just thought id give you guys a reminder, i know its been talked about to death, but we may be only 3 weeks away from this being a reality, wouldnt it be so sweet, possibly the sweetest of all.

i honestly believe that pick 30 and one of wellers or goldy was more than fair, considering we paid pick 14 and 46 for jolly, glad it didnt happen obviously, thank you mr lyon.

02 round 8, opening poetry.
for to long there has been silence, barely a murmer, rarely a rumble, nothing but silence, but listen, closely, you can hear it, at first a tremour, but now abundent if force, the black and white army (dormant for to long) is on the march again, once feared, once again fearsome, it'll take the best ther is to stop it, because these magpies are now ready to be heard!!

Last edited by Bob Sugar on Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:16 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:31 am

water under the bridge. we were the big winners, end of.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:35 am

jmcp wrote:

mate, they make movies about such things (dont get any ideas joffa Very Happy ), make no mistake about it, if we play off against them it will be huge, of course it would be huge anyway but has there ever been a set of cirumstances like this coming to a head in the GF? the saints have become enemy no1 IMO, for a lot of people anyway.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:28 pm

Dont think there's much pressure on Lyon. Given all that's happened with the Aints this year, they'vd done well to be in the same position as us -Prelim final and week off
GoWoodsmen 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:27 pm

Don't laugh too hard yet. As much as I couldn't wipe the smile off my face when it all the Saints are primed for an assault on the premiership without Lovett, without Ball, and plenty of other dramas. I hate em, I really do but until that last Saturday in September we can't be too smug.

But let me say if we go further than them or beat them in the granny I'll be the first to say thanks to Rossy for Luke Ball....

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:57 pm

???

You lost me at (apparently).

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:04 pm

Donny wrote:
???

You lost me at (apparently).

well pick 30 was obviously offered but i havnt heard any club officials state wellers and goldy were offered, i believe they were offered but im not 100% sure, hence (apparently)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:46 pm

With the Saints in a Prelim final, I don't think there's much pressure on Ross.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:46 pm

jmcp wrote:

I agree. Had St Kilda been underperforming then the knives would have been out & pressure applied.

They've been able to 'neutralize" & distance themselves from the Lovett issue & now thay have a much easier prelim than we are likely to have. Avvordingly I don't think Ross Lyon was under that much pressure regarding his obvious intransigence & mistake laden choices during trade week & the draft last year.

Deja Vu 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:43 pm

Threads like this are pointless IMO and tempting fate. Keep your powder dry.

I hate RL and that whole joke of a club but until it works out in our favor I'll be a bit more circumspect about the whole thing

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:35 pm

Of all the coaches to have heat on them right now, I reckon rossy would be one of the last mentioned. In fact, most of the talk I've heard is praise, for getting to this stage with all the off field stuff going on and losing their skipper for half of the year. Of course that could all change if we beat 'em in the granny!
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:53 pm

jmcp wrote:

mate, they make movies about such things (dont get any ideas joffa Very Happy ), make no mistake about it, if we play off against them it will be huge, of course it would be huge anyway but has there ever been a set of cirumstances like this coming to a head in the GF? the saints have become enemy no1 IMO, for a lot of people anyway.

Ross Lyons "Aints" have enough egg on their ugly mugs for their handling of Luke Ball, why worry about it?

Oh and, Yes, The 2002 Grand Final.
Jarrod Molloy for Mal Michael.
Like Ball, Mal Michael wasn't wanted by the Club.
Unlike StKilda, we had the good sense to let him go!

The Aints are the victims of their own stubbornness!
We offered, they refused to deal.
We got Ball for naught.
For that, (& only that).....I love'em !

"The Filth" are, and will always be,... Public Enemy Number One!

Ppttttttth!
fence-banger Aries

Zito Kypro

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:22 pm

Well, I wanna say something about the other part of the Thread title, Voss & his stuff-ups ... whoops, can't stop Laughing bwahahaaa Laughing
Scotch 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:53 pm

But think, if we had given them either Wellers or Goldy we wouldn't be laughing, I'd almost rather retain them than get Ball (as much as I admire him).

Let's just be content we got the best end of the deal Smile.

Oh and that the Aints will rot into the soil they were spawned from come the Grand Final.

jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:30 pm

Just saw Voss interviewed on The Footy Show. Said a lot that amounted to nothing. The man's a male bimbo.

Fev is vehemently denying the allegations, but this sounds like a hatchet job.

These idiots recruited Fev in the first place. Every single recruiting decision has blown up in their faces. They are a shite club and deserve to DIE!

Just imagine the Lions - gone to the wall twice. First with Fitzroy and then with Brisbane.

They should sack Voss for bringing the coaching caper into disrepute. The man's a moron.

Can we strip this club of the 2002 and 2003 premierships? Laughing