Vale #42 Darren Millane (1965-1991)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Sir Alan of Didak Virgo

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:05 am

RIP Darren and your footballing talents should never be forgotten by everyone who loves footy. You'll always be remembered as one of the toughest players to ever play the game and to be the man who held the ball when our 32 year premiership drought ended in 1990.

A great player who shall never be forgotten and I hope the whole club continues to personify how Darren used to play. If our whole team played like him, we'd be a very hard side to beat on any given day.

Thanks for the memories Darren and may your legacy live on!

There you go Bucks...how about making this very line by Jezza our mantra for the 2014 season and beyond?

collie dog 

RIP Shelby 11-10-13

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 6:56 pm

I was in shock that morning getting the news. Total shock. For those born since Millane's death it was like hearing that Swan and Pendlebury had been killed in a car crash. That's how much he meant to the Magpie faithful back then.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:54 pm

collie dog wrote:
I was in shock that morning getting the news. Total shock.

You said it CD, without doubt, one of the worst days of my life. Confused
His loss set the club back 5 years, and he was expected to be named captain in 1992.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:06 am

Same day Tony Francis won the Copeland. Every time Pants polled the men clapped and the women, and some men, cried. 2 fond memories of Pants. Entertained a young lady in the change rooms and came back to the group later and apologised and bought his shout at the social club and left with another chick. Another time West Coast pest runner Rob Wiley who coached on the field got in Tony Shaws way at Vic Park and the egirls player tackled him and got a free. Jamjar was ropeable and the law was changed later to penalise the runner. Pants told Wiley if he got in his way he would shirtfront him. Sure enough Wiley tried it on and Pants cleaned him up. Wiley got up bleating and the ump. 10 metres from us, said"You had it coming, he warned you, if it was up to me you would be sent from the ground, now piss off and let the players play Wiley". Wiley asked for an apology after the game and was told to Eff off.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:31 pm

collie dog wrote:
I was in shock that morning getting the news. Total shock. For those born since Millane's death it was like hearing that Swan and Pendlebury had been killed in a car crash. That's how much he meant to the Magpie faithful back then.

I remember being in shock, and then sad and then pissed off. This happened not long after i lost a friend in a drink driving crash. I really wish he had made a different decision that night. But I'm really glad he didn't take anyone with him. Very sad for his family. You never forget. Every time some one drunk kills someone, you remember again.

I remember how happy I was when he threw that footy up in the air at the end of the game. I wish that was my lasting memory. Such a waste of talent. Such a senseless thing.

Magpie Jack 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:27 am

His football accomplishments are well known. What I really admire about the bloke is his unwavering loyalty to his family, mates and footy club. When he got into trouble on and off the field it was him sticking up for other people. He didn't start it, but usually finished it. Eddie and Jim Main wrote the Darren Millane Story "Pants"....Great read. Hopefully one day I will get the opportunity to ram it down Derryn Hinch's throat.

RIP Darren Millane. A Real Collingwood Hero.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:16 pm
Post subject: Darren Millane: We'll never forgetReply with quote

https://www.facebook.com/1213772863/videos/10209955441782008/

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:51 pm

Mate reckon we give this thread another airing once October rocks around...
Hopefully the FB page has got some good traction by then....

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:31 am

Too Young to Remember but I hear amazing things about him
The Drooge 

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:00 pm
Post subject: MemoriesReply with quote

Although I was young I have great memories of a true champion. Bursting through half forward, taking a bounce and slotting it home at Vic Park. Most of all I remember when he passed and the jokes other supporters were making. This is when I learnt how much we are hated and solidified my love for the club. I know it's sacred but I would love to see the 42 out there again. 25 year anniversary seems a good a time as any.

Players on the list currently worthy? Maynard, Adams, Grundy, Ramsey. Or try a young kid? Wills, Sier.

RIP Pants.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:39 pm

He was destined to be our next captain and would have won us another 2-3 Flags. After Tuddy, he was the best on field leader I've ever seen at Collingwood. RIP Daz.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:32 pm

THE RAGING BULL FROM NOBLE PARK. one of the true magpies footy greats.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 5:18 pm

THE RAGING BULL FROM NOBLE PARK. one of the true magpies footy greats.

Treloar is also a Noble park boy. Used to love watching pants work his magic in the social club. He had plenty of female admirers and they were not shy. Pants had a tagger who followed him trying to get a few crumbs of what was an overladen dessert table. He was a young reporter from Channel 10. I wonder what became of him?

As a footy player there were very few in history who had his combination of skill, tenacity, strength and presence. He was the midfielder they are all looking for today'

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 6:52 pm

People who know me know to not drop tasteless Milkane jokes in my presence. I can go from jovial to death stare in an instant.

Would've been the difference in 1992.

Legend.

I'd love to see the 42 again though...maybe after 42 years perhaps?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 7:08 pm

The #42 should be back on the field.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Page 17 of 22