Dr Alf...the new Joffa???

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:55 am
Post subject: Dr Alf...the new Joffa???Reply with quote

Not only did we get a magnificent game yesterday (I hated the lastquarter, but also loved it), but the great ALF got his noggin (and the rest of him) onto Ch Nine's coverage in a quite significant way.

Eddie made a real point of labelling ALf as "Dr Alf Andrews, PhD - the leader of the chants".

Congrats, Alf.

Maybe you'll need to get a media-manager like Joffa's! (at the same rate, of course)

Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 5:31 am

Dr Alf, your head was something to be marveled at. It was a look of pure pleasure on Channel Ed last night. Fantastic stuff.

I need to ask though...late in the game there were muffles coming from the crowd....was it the slow Cooooolliiiinnwooood chant we could hear or was it something else. There was definately something slow and long being yelled by somebody.

My oxygen is Collingwood. Without it I die.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:16 am

When he flashed up on the tele, I announced to the pub that, "that's Alf", and no sooner did Eddie back me up. Thank's Eddie.

It must have been great to be there. I have heard from an Adelaide supporter who was at the game, and they said the cheersquad section was going off in the second quarter. Well done guys, hardly heard a squeak at of those 40,000 or so Cow supporters that were there. Only the black and white army. And I thought I heard the chant too.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!
MCG27 

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:28 am

u look alot older on tv m8. lol

"my religion is footy and my church is collingwood"

p.s. this is clokey

go the pies

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:28 am

... and behind Alf's right shoulder was Magpie Girl 19, waving something in glee. I did not see you stik35.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:32 am

I hope to see my head on the TV too when I get to watch the replay.
I was sitting in the front row of the Cheersquad.
Yes Blanch if you hear a chant it would have been us, we did do the slow Collingwood chant.
And yes Greg J it was fantastic to be there. We were going ballistic in the second quarter but when you looked around the stadium full of Crows supporters it was like looking at a still photograph ( or the "members" section at the MCG).
It was so funny!
The last quarter was disappointing as all the action was down the other end.
It was a bit of a nail biter and took some of the gloss off the win.
But a win is a win and I reckon we were heaps louder than the Crows supporters.
Also, they didn't play our song after the game but we sure sang it anyway.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 11:44 am

Didn't play the song??
Thats not right. the AFL needs to put these pricks in their place. To often the interstaters get away with blue murder in regards to this type of thing. If it had happened at the "G" after they had beaten us you would have heard the screams from Adelaide.
BTW, the Roos came onto Coronial yesterday to the tune of "Pride of South Australia"!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 1:11 pm

and Greg if you looked really hard you would have seen Terry and Patrick sitting in the Adelaide members near the Collingwood race. By that time i had left and was standing behind the goals with the boys just like at Colonial. If you look really hard you may see me.......lol Next time Greg you are coming with us.....no ifs buts or maybes!!!!!!! You are coming and thats that!!!

Let's get down to business
I don't got no time to play around, what is this?
Must be a circus in town, let's shut the shit down
on these clowns; can I get a witness? (HELL YEAH!)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 3:08 pm

G'day all,

Just got back from Crowland. Great to be back in Melbourne again, and it's even better to be able to bring the 4 premiership points home.

Not sure about the "new Joffa" jibe, Broadie. There's only one Joffa. I think they broke the mould when they made him. I haven't seen the replay yet but I always get a buzz if I see myself on the idiot box, so I'm looking forward to it.

No doubt the cameras will have made me look 10 years older and 10 kilograms fatter than I really am, MCG27. They're very unforgiving, those cameras. All us mega-media superstars know that. Unfortunately, I'm a very poor mega-media superstar ... fame: yes ... fortune: no. If I was rich like Sam Newman I'd get a facelift ... or three.

Maybe, as Broadie says, I need a manager. Any offers? I'm offering a very lucrative commission ... 25 per-cent of nothing. I'm much more generous than Joffa.

Blanch, yes you heard it right. We did do the long slow "Coll ing woo ood" chant. There wasn't really all that many of us, so I reckon it was a fair effort, considering the numbers. Also, remember that most of the Collingwood people there were Adelaide based fans who would have probably never done it before.

Also ... to my great surprise, there was a pretty impressive rendition of "You'll Never Walk Alone" at the end of the match. I'm not sure who started that up, but it sounded better than I've ever heard Collingwood fans do it before.

And ... to top off a wonderful afternoon ... (I'm sure those of you who couldn't make the trip will be pleased to know this) ... JLC and friends managed to get a pretty respectable Winner's Circle happening up the back on the way out. Again, there wasn't a lot of us ... but we were bloody loud. It was great to be able to keep that tradition going on foreign soil. It gave the demoralised locals something to rub it in a bit more.

floreat pica
My Ph.D. thesis, "Football: the People's Game?" is now available for viewing and/or downloading at http://alf.magpies.net
clokeforever34 

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 3:55 pm

just had to say it alfy

i cant beleive eddie knew u so well tho!!!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:04 pm

Yeah it was pretty good Alf. However it was only successful as you managed to round up some troops. I think the key is just starting the circle and when anyone within ear shot hears it they just join in and the circle grows and grows. Your rendidition of "Every where we go" is a tradition now so hopefully after victory against Geelong next week you will come down to the Ponny and lead us of in that chant. Also to the people who joined in for the first time this week i encourage everyone to join us this week after the Geelong game. This is something unique to Collingwood and its one of the reasons why we are the best supporters in the league.

Let's get down to business
I don't got no time to play around, what is this?
Must be a circus in town, let's shut the shit down
on these clowns; can I get a witness? (HELL YEAH!)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 2:38 pm

After a few hours of scrutiny I finally saw me just after half time. There were two S.A. girls sitting next to me who were about 15, the camera zoomed in on them chanting and I was in the picture. Those girls had a ball. They only get to go to probably 2 Collingwood games a year over there so they said they are moving to Melbourne as soon as they finish school!
Also, I was wrong. They DID play the song, you could only just hear it on TV. We couldn't hear it at the ground.
Alf, we were hoping you got out OK, as you know - we all had to be escorted by security.
Bummer, I missed the CIRCLE.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 5:07 pm

BUGGA .... missed the CIRCLE.... why didnt u let us know Alf or JLC????

That wouldve topped a good weekend....

BE LOUD...BE PROUD
(September.... we WILL be there)

[This message has been edited by cobood (edited 09 July 2002).]
RHYSTHEKING 

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 7:00 am

theres only one joffa. joffa is a true credit to this club and he will be for years 2 come, Joffa should be offerd a particular leaedership possition around the club (wink, wink )

NICK DAVIS IS KING #19

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 5:13 pm

The first Magpie game I went to was Adelaide V Us at Vic Park and about half way through the third quarter the adelaide cheer squad started chanting "you'll never walk alone," even though we were beating them. The reply from our crowd was a classic

"you'll always walk alone cause you're south australian"

magnificent memories!