And we still give them the Queens Birthday gate ?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:17 am
Post subject: And we still give them the Queens Birthday gate ?Reply with quote

Lyon addressed 170 supporters at a "150 Foundation Heroes" dinner, telling them that they were involved in the most important night in the Melbourne Football Club's history.
GARRY Lyon could not resist the symbolism of Collingwood's woes last night as he heralded the rebirth of his struggling club.
The Collingwood footy club is going down the plughole as the Melbourne footy club re-establishes itself as a power."

Magpie_Dan Taurus

The KING And I

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:32 am

They will go bust very soon and its a crying shame that they will play this Friday to mark the 150th year. I know these were the first 2 teams to play a match but the thing is, they should just give this game to us because they owe us lol!!!
PAUL MEDHURST'S #1 FAN
NATHAN BUCKLEY- 280 Games 284 Goals
Bucks You Are THE KING

AT COLLINGWOOD, YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE
Tanks1966 Leo

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:58 am

Hopefully Eddie reads Lyons garbage and does a North Melbourne on them and insists we have a home game on Queens Birthday for once.
That would shut that arsehole Lyons gobb up!!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:32 am

where were all these before? surely they weren't stubborn enough to keep their hands in their pockets when gardiner was in charge?
The_Staunton Virgo

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:10 am

They shouldn't throw stones yet, Brock McLean and Colin Sylvia still have to get through another off season... Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:21 am

Revenge is a dish best served cold, store this one but brothers and sisters. These Squibs will pay!

STOKA35 Capricorn

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:21 am

with the north melbourne and now melbourne incident, I think colling wood should look after themselves not worry about the other teams in helping proping them up. Those teams are good to take a swipe at us when we are down if they think they can do it alone lets let them show us.
IF you are 5mil in debt who paid for the melbourne celebration last night are'nt you trading as insolvent.
Bruno 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:00 am

Relax everyone.

Gary Lyon had to give the Melbourne faithful something to cheer about / something to rouse them etc.

I don't for a second think that Lyon thinks Collingwood are gone.

I am sure he and Eddie are still friends / mutual respect etc.

It's just a bit of pantomime.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:04 pm

As I said store this one up Lyon you are in my sights - give them no more home games Ed make North and the dreamons play on Queens Bday.

Ed lose this 'scaly' mate!

ktszyu1 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:09 pm

Don't bite the hand that feeds you, you rabble.

We'll happily play Geelong or Hawthorn on QB.

OEP Pisces

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:52 pm

Couldn't care less what melbourne or lyons think about Collingwood, what I do want is equity with regards to the Queens Birthday game.
My understanding is that every year this game is classed as a melbourne home game, which is unfair.
Irregardless of a clubs financial position (as ultimately clubs control their own destiny) this game should be split 50/50. One year melbourne get the home ground and the takings, the next year Collingwood and so on.
Neither club is overly advantaged or disadvataged.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:57 pm

They enjoy having a swipe at our club putting the boots in so to speak but a different story occurs when asking the AFL for favours involving home games against Collingwood .
Equally insulting was the North Melb article having a go at our predictament yesterday most probably given media clearance by the self proclaimed CEO of the century who once stated he stood with his brothers on one eyed hill.

Next year on Queens Birthday we'll make a bloody banner with a huge picture of a Black and White cash register with the words..THIEVES!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:01 pm

They enjoy having a swipe at our club putting the boots in so to speak but a different story occurs when asking the AFL for favours involving home games against Collingwood .
Equally insulting was the North Melb article having a go at our predictament yesterday most probably given media clearance by the self proclaimed CEO of the century who once stated he stood with his brothers on one eyed hill.

Next year on Queens Birthday we'll make a bloody banner with a huge picture of a Black and White cash register with the words..THIEVES!!

love it. without wanting to denigrate the good work done by the various charities, we could have a banner with the charities logos on it and have the melbournefc emblem in amongst it. a bit of free exposure for the charities too. Wink
though, it'd probably end in uproar.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:03 pm

Bruno wrote:
It's just a bit of pantomime.

That pretty much sums up the whole AFL my friend.

Over priced panto, with over paid hacks for actors.

Oh yeh, by the way, get of our ground Melbourne.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:21 pm

I reckon we should suggest North and Melbourne should play the Queen's Birthday game!

We look good by sharing the blockbuster games with a needy club, and we get the joy of seeing the big day turn into a fizzle in front $25K supporters. Win/win!