Collingwood v Bendigo Bombers

burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:53 pm

I'd play Dawes and either McCarthy or McCaffer on Friday night.

I'd also give Johnno a rest and play Iles.

Everytime MM gives someone a debut, the side seems to lift and get excited by having another youngster in the line-up.

It cant hurt, right...?

loki04 Leo

Tiger Treloar lmfao NOPE.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:04 pm

2008 VFL Seniors
Collingwood 4.9 7.12 11.14 20.16 (136)
Bendigo Bombers 2.1 2.3 4.8 6.10 (46)

GOALS:
Collingwood: Dawes 3 McCarthy 3 Licuria 3 MacAffer 3 Holland 2 Casey-Leigh Egan Crow Lonie Fraser Barham
Bendigo Bombers: Weeks 5 Bellchambers

BEST:
Collingwood: Dawes Stanley Carmody McCarthy Iles Lonie
Bendigo Bombers: Weeks Hooker Dempsey Holmes Flaherty Young

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Collingwood: Nil
Bendigo Bombers: Nil

Dawes Best Again Very Happy

And Stanley in the best again.
Pies Passion 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:24 pm

Sam Iles was brilliant again today.
I've got no idea what he has to do to get a game.
He has had 20+ disposals pretty much every week this season and hasn't even been mentioned or looked at.
Something's not right there. At least give him the chance!
burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:48 pm

Iles and even Danny Stanley are both in far better form than some of the boys running around in the seniors...

I feel sorry for both of them - very good footballers who may look elsewhere next season for a regular gig.

Cakewalk 

For a minute there I lost myself , I lost myself

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:04 pm

Stanley will have to play next week , has been prolific and constructive in recent weeks , and is hard. He should be given at least 2 games in a row to adapt and see if he can cut it in the guts , whether he gets run down a few times like last time or not.
Dawes would also have to be close , he was dominant today , against admittedly weakened opposition . He can allow Travis to play that deeper forward role that he played yesterday , without throwing us out of whack as much.
I also reckon Barham's a better player than he is has been given credit for. He's not a great kick , but at the same time he's not as terrible as I think he has been made out to be. Is quick and has a natural inclination to take the game on. He just needs to build up his fitness base next year so he can get to more contests , and be ready to put his hand up at senior level.
Credit to Lonie today , he actually seemed to earn more of his kicks today , and was more direct when he got it. Also gave a mouthful to a group of pre-pubescent voiced Essendon supporters behind the goals , when he kicked one in the last.

DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:53 pm

How about Lonie guys...he has been quietly getting in our best the last few times i checked.

All he can do is play well...which he is. Surely his skills could be an asset. And dont tell me he cannot play defensive because i remember him doing fantastic shut down jobs on Goodes, Embley and Green. He may not be tough, but he's accountable.

Surely the guy deserves one last crack before we all give up on him.

Given Jonno's senior form, there is a spot now for him.

Kingswood 

//

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:58 pm

^agreed. in for johno

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:24 am

Spoke to Danny after the game and he has a glint in his eyes. He is ready this time after a couple of false starts and I tell you all he CAN play footy. Composed, prodigious kick, strong overhead, good size and hard at it. Great tackler too.

I think Hawthorn is the ideal opponent for Danny to show his stuff.

Chris Dawes was kicking threw the ball today and it is ironic because the ground was crap and the ball was very heavy.

Caff can't play without being elevated, but who knows. In my book he has been the team’s best overall player for some months now.

Some pics from today...

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:51 am

^^^^^^
Thanks for that.

Love the Last Pick - Boys walking off in the Gurneys

Podpicken Cancer

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:29 am

Bloody hell they're atrocious facilities. really need to have a better home ground for our VFL team.
virgomag 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:12 am

podpicken, he may have had three or four in a row now but that means nothing.

MM told Caff at the Frankston game if he continued with his work rate and consistency he'd be elevated............ that was on 20th April !!!

But jeez it's good to see some of the young fella's doing well; they're our future !!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:25 am

Wow, good day to step up...

Stanley, Lonie, Fraser and Dawes must all be close to getting a call-up.

Podpicken Cancer

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:44 am

virgomag wrote:
podpicken, he may have had three or four in a row now but that means nothing.

MM told Caff at the Frankston game if he continued with his work rate and consistency he'd be elevated............ that was on 20th April !!!

But jeez it's good to see some of the young fella's doing well; they're our future !!

Yep, it is great to see they're firing, mate.

But respectfully Virgomag, I can't see how three or four in a row can mean nothing when we're screaming for a big bodied forward and here we have Dawesy in the magoos, young and keen who can take a grab, can bust packs and can kick the ball accurately. If he's not worthy of a chance now, how hard would it be for him to break in for a go at it if Rusling, Rocca and Reid were all on the park?

jonesy86 Pisces

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:52 am

www.vflfooty.com

on the homepage there is 20+ minutes of highlights from yesterdays game

jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:59 am

Podpicken wrote:
it's not one performance. He's had three or four now. Throw Dawesy into the fray, I say. You never know ... he just might like the better delivery!
Great to see mccarthy bag a few and get in the best, that actually excites me more than anything. He's tough too.

Good point mate. Travis Cloke needs some big-bodied help up in the forward line. We know how physically massive the Hawks are. Now might be the time to roll the dice with Dawes. See how he handles the pressure - chances are we'll lose the game anyway. But, it might just come off.

Page 4 of 5