1990 Premiership Season

Doska^32 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 10:26 am
Post subject: 1990 Premiership SeasonReply with quote

I'm not getting my hopes up for a premiership just yet, but I'll love to hear some stories about the 1990 Premiership Season, especially from the older posters that experienced something that we all dream to experience.
The build up, the match, the atmosphere, the celebrations. The day after and everything else surrounding it.
I was to young to enjoy or experience it, I have seen every game on tape because Sly's brother taped every single replay that season. Don't you all miss that 6'oclock AFL replay?
Anyway my favourite game that year was the St.Kilda game at the M.C.G infront of over 70,000 people where we won by one point. Lockett kicked seven goals that day and Manson sealed the game for us in the finals minutes of the game. Everytime I watch the game it sends shivers down my spine just like watching a close Collingwood game today.
Another one was the Carlton game in Round 2 at Waverly where Daicos kicked 6 goals in the last quarter watching Daicos weave his magic makes me always go back and watch tapes.
I'm am absolutely cursing that I wasn't around in Daicos's days.
Obviously everybodys favourite final was the Grand Final but I would be interested to hear people stories of that year and there favourite games.

Pants 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 11:57 am

Ahhhhhh, what a day it was!!... I was only 19 that year but went to most games and was lucky enough to score a seat as a season ticket holder. Went with 2 other mates. We met at the bar of the "Duke of Wellington" at 11am and we were so bloody nervious!! Essendon had been a strong team that year and even though we'd beat em in the semi they'd knocked us off twice in the home and away.....
We smuggled a half bottle of champas into the ground each and stashed them under our seats for later....
Had this old guy sitting next to me who'd actually seen their last one in 58. Poor old bugger was half dead but was so wrapped that after 32 years he was about to see them win it again.
As you know pretty crap match after we blitzed them in the 2nd quarter after the brawl but who cares, WHAT A BLOODY WIN!!
Sprayed our bubbly everywhere, went ab-so-lutely nuts when Leigh and Tony help up the cup and then headed down to Viccy park to celebrate and sing "Good Old Collingwood For Ever" a million times!!
I remember going back in to Viccy on the Monday to buy a print of Shawry with the cup, there was 11 pallets of beer stacked up outside the main office with an armed security guard standing there!
ONE OF THE GREATEST DAYS OF MY LIFE - 6TH OCTOBER, 1990.

iluvLONIE 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:09 pm

I may have been only 2 yrs old in 1990, but I can still remember my Dad dressing me up in Collingwood gear. The whole house was full of black and white balloons and we had our Essenscum friends come over hahahaha....Lets hope the pies do it again this year

ohh the Ryan Lonie ohh the Ryan Lonie ohh the Ryan Lonie and thats what its all about

Dgen 

Nick's BB Member #43

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:46 pm

I made a big choice on GF day in 1990. I was able to go but my mum wasn't. I decided to stay at home with her and watch it rather than going to the game. We did go to Vic Park that night though! My fave game of the year was probably the 2nd semi where we defeated Essendon by 63 points. I thinking after the game that we were going to win the GF. I had no doubt.
I also remember the feeling at the end of the drawn final. I was in the pocket that Sumich was kicking from and I thought we had lost for sure. When the siren went, nobody had any idea how to react. There was a weird feeling over everyone.
Interesting trivia is that we beat Essendon by 63 points to get into the GF and they defeated West Coast by 63 points to get into the GF

'caveat pica pica'

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:56 pm

oh what a day, I live up in Darwin so we only had it on tv, I can't remeber who was carring the footy back then I think it was the abc, anyway.. we had about 15 to 20 people around for the day as we did for every finals game and most of the season, all collingwood supporters. We had about 5 tv's set up and even had one in the dunny so no one would miss a kick every one who turned up had a slab of beer at least! It was a huge game and by the time lethal came down to the ground we where rocking! funily enough most of my memory of the day is lost in a haze, exept we partied long into the night and had ourselves a champions breakfast the next mornig . I can remember my best m8 thommo being drunk and falling over and passing out on the front lawn where we left him for the night
ahhhhhhh... great memories, now I might go watch the video of the game again!
Good old collingwood forever m8's, forever!

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:14 pm

Got quite a few memories of that day, unlike previous GF's, I didn't have a beer until after the final siren (had it lined up and went down in record time, never touched my throat), though I made up for it later on, was pretty confident, though more nervous than usual....Daics goals were special, first one after Bummers kicked out to an early lead was pretty important in the context of things, and Eddie going ape when Matthews ran down to the ground pumping the fists was just awesome, one gets teary eyed thinking about it...the punch up, Matthews having a go at Daniher going up the race at half time whilst holding Brownie, he yelled "He's coming back to get ya" etc, we were going beserk!..Brownie coming back on Barwicks goal, maddens miss..singing, great day, perfect weather....got a few other R rated stories from later that night, but best leave that for when we can all share a beer...eventually.

Guess what video I'm watching tonight..(again!)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:46 pm

I was also living in Darwin at this time, and magpiemad, Ch8 was showing the footy back then.

I had recently returned to Darwin after 18 months in S.A., and was thankful for not only Collingwood making it through to that one day in September - actually, it was the first weekend in October - but doubly pleased that two Victorian sides were playing in the very first AFL Grand Final, considering how dominant the Wet Goats had been the previous years.

Oh, how much I wanted to celebrate the win with a beer or 12, but other commitments - I was an official at the speedway - prevented me from doing so. However, I wore my #23 Collingwood jumper under my overalls with pride, and during the parade lap at the opening of the race meeting, I proudly displayed my allegiance to the Black And White.

Once the speedway meeting was over, I gave the green cans an almighty nudge, and before long, the night drifted into a blissful dream. That Saturday in October certainly holds fond memories for me, but the Sunday was another story.....

"Racetracks are for racing, roads are for getting there."
Lisey_JarrodMolloyrox 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 3:41 pm

I cannot remember at all! I was only 2 aswell! But all these stories is what i was talking about on my website! It was Magpie68's idea though!

*~LiSeY~*
*~Molloy is my baby and nobody else's! lol~*

Magpies_rule19 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 5:10 am

I was only 1 year of age when collingwood played the 1990 grandfinal, i still have photo's of me in a little collingwood top on that day!
It would be great to see my first grand final that collingwood wins really soon!
it would be even more fantastic if they could do it this year!

daicos4ever 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 6:21 am

I was only 7, but I remember it. I was at nan's, jumping around in my long sleeved Collingwood Jumper, with 35 on the back, and dad was sitting in his armchair crying (he's Essendon ). NOw whenever I go back into that room I remember, and whenever I watch the much I remember that room. It was a special day, but at the time I didn't really appreciate it. Now I do, but it was years ago. All I can ask for is a flag in the near future, so I CAN appreciate, so I CAN go to Vic Park and celebrate with all you fine people.

Goodbye Dolly I must leave you, though it breaks my heart to go,
Something tells me I am needed at the front to fight the foe,
See - the soldier boys are marching and I can no longer stay,
Hark - I hear the bugle calling, goodbye Dolly Gray.

GOOD OLD COLLINGWOOD FOREVER, WE KNOW HOW TO PLAY THE GAME,
SIDE BY SIDE WE STICK TOGETHER, TO UPHOLD THE MAGPIES NAME.
SEE THE BARRACKERS SHOUTING, AS ALL BARRACKERS SHOULD,
OH, THE PREMIERSHIP'S A CAKEWALK FOR THE GOOD OLD COLLINGWOOD
dillo_09 Cancer

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:34 am

Well where would you like me to start????
As secretary of the cheer squad, it began 2 weeks prior, immediately after the 2nd semi we were into planning and making the run-thru for the big day. It was a very busy 2 weeks organising everything from tickets to transport for everyone.
We had people at the Annexe (where we used to make the run thru) sleeping over every night guarding the run-thru 24/7.
The main stuff began on the friday with the cheer squad taking part in the players parade down bourke street. It was great to be walking down in front of their cars carrying and waving flags - the first and last time cheer squads were allowed to do this apparently.
Then down to the MCG for a bit of a walk around on the friday afternoon soaking up the atmosphere and imagining the scenes the following day. Watching the groundsmen paint the logo's on the ground with hardly a sound to be heard was very eiry but extremely exciting!!
We laughed watching the Essendon cheer squad decorating their change rooms and telling us they were going to beat us by 10+ goals - wamkers. No decorations in the Collingwood rooms as decreed by Leigh Matthews.
Then at 3pm approx I had to head into the ABC radio studio's to do a pre recorded interveiw with the Couldabeen's for their GF eve show. Lots of fun!
Then back down to Vic park to soak up a bit more atmosphere and watch mates of mine help unload all the beer - approx 4 semi loads. The visiting rooms, umpires rooms and any other spare space at VP was chockers with beer - never seen so much in my life!!
After a few cold ones in the social club, although still on a high from the days activities, I headed home to watch TV and listen to my radio interveiw.
Countdown Revolution had done a story on the cheer squads so I watched that after hearing the radio show.
Spent the next few hours pacing around the house totally restless. Got my clothes out - White tails and bow-tie and made sure all was ready!!!
Surprisingly I slept well from about midnight till 6am and the first thing I thought was "Bring it on!!!" Still get shivers!
Dressed and ready by 7 I walked to Rosanna railway station carrying my bag, with a change of clothes, and reminded my Essenscum supporting newsagent that he will owe me a systems 7 after the game!!
The early trains were already full of Collingwood supporters and as I got opff at Vic Park I could already smell victory in the air.
The place was abuzz as we loaded the falgs, floggers and run-thru into the truck. We dropped a few people at Flinders St station where the majority of the cheers squad were to meet and walk down to the G.
Headed into the G carrying our stuff, down to the seats shaking hands with everyone and getting all ready.
A couple of quiet beers while we waited for the early game to finish. The reserves are on - Its getting closer and you can hear the noise creep up.
The run thru was the best ever!! biggest crowd I had ever held one up in front of - awesome!! Until the players came out and our run tru poles both broke about 3 feet from the top at a join.
How ever raised that thjing is beyond me - swirling wind, no ropes and so much noise!! But we did it and the players got through without a hitch.
From there, most of the game is a bit of a blur actually. I think it because I have watched the video so much my memory of the actual game has been clouded. I do remember the fight but was too busy watch Bernie Quinlan, Gubby Alan and the Essenscum trainers fight that I didnt see Browny get hit.
Our hearts sunk with the news of who it was. But this was fixed by the 2nd qtr effort and at the half we all new the game was over but we refused to celebrate. Early in the last when Madden had missed those 2 shots we began the chant and the song. Never heard it sung so well, so often or by so many.
After all the presentations we loaded up the truck for the slow drive to VP. The radio is full of warnings that Johnstone st is closed because of the crowd.
Unload the truck, quick look at VP and the people, then a taxi ride to the official club function at the Southern Cross hotel. The free booze flowed freely and a nice dinner amongst all of the Collingwood players and high profile members and the committee. Tony Shaw even let me handle his premiership and norm smith medals!
Reports had been filtering through all night about the size of the crowd at VP. One report said that someone estimated 100,000, but we knew that wasnt true. Closer figure was 50,000.
Invited by Brian Taylor to get on the players bus for the trip to VP which was great to chat with all the players and see their medals. Free beer on the bus and Brian Taylor ate 4 of my cigarettes!! He used to do that when he was drunk. Weird!
As the bus got to Hoddle and Johnstone we felt like rock stars - police escort and people banging on the side of the bus!!
Off the bus and run up the police cordon and I stood at the back of the stage as the players sang Good old Collingwood Forever.
It was the most amazing scene I have ever been a part of.
The police then rushed us back to the buses and the crowd was pushing forward and threatening to get out of control. Again we felt like rock stars as the crowd slapped the bus and yelled and screamed!!!
Back at the Southern Cross we drank and drank and danced and sang and drank and partied like there was no tomorrow - I couldnt have cared less if the sun never rose the next day - I was one happy man!!!
Walked up to bourke st around 2am looking for a cab, flagged one down, then the three of us were accosted by 2 Essenscum fans who were claiming it as theirs which of course ended up in a blue. Prior to the cops coming and breaking it up we certainly let them have it. I had a bruised hand, sore ribs and a bruised knee but damn it was a good emotion release. The cops even gave us the cab cause we won!!!
The perfect day - Pies win the GF, free booze (get really drunk), treated like a rock star and win a fight!! Now all i needed as the icing on the cake was a thuck - alas it wasnt to be!!
Got back to VP just as the coppers were clearing everyone out so we settled in at the annexe for a few beers and sopme sleep - A long day!!!
Woke up the next morning, opened the door to the annexe and right in front of me was a semi load of VB - gave me a hell of a fright but its what I really needed - hair of the dog!!!
The next 5 days are a drunken haze so dont even ask me what I did - I dont want to know myself!!!

Hope you all werent too bored!!

PS I was 20 at the time

Dillo

greeny_in_melb 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 12:10 pm

Guys,

I was there for every game in 1990 (including 1 interstate).

Sat centre wing, 1st level up in AFL section (which was in MCC area that year).

Was on replay bowing to Daics after his second goal in a "Raiders Jacket". (see replay)

Can't remember much - still delerious every time I think about it! Best day of my life!!!

PS Daics was in the "chat room" last night!