Why dont we support our VFL side ?

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:21 am
Post subject: Why dont we support our VFL side ?Reply with quote

Yesterday was a ripper day for footy. The ground is only ten mins from the city..But still we get the same old crowds.
So i pose the question why dont Collingwood people support our club in the VFL ?

leelee Scorpio

Live. Love. Race.

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:40 am

lack of awareness of when the games are on would be my excuse...

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:47 am

leelee wrote:

Seemed to be more support for Geelong yesterday!

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 11:17 am

leelee wrote:

Exactly.

The club are not promoting the games at all.
Admission is free for Collingwood members and there is plenty of free parking around so that is no excuse either.

One gets the feeling that the club is happy to play these games in relative obscurity to keep the dreaded 'nuff-nuff' Collingwood fan away from it's precious players.

Having said that. Burnsy, Pebbles, Goldy, Pendles, Tooves, Dicky, etc were all happy to have a quick chat, photo or just smile and say g'day. So I don't fully understand this. Is it something MM is enforcing on the club?

Closed training sessions all week too? Did us a fat lot of good.

Don't marginalise the people that put food on your plate Collingwood.

Remember, without the 41,000 supporters there goes 1/2 the revenue and the other half from the corporates is only there so long as there is a large group of fans to market to. Ie. No fans = No sponsors.

leelee Scorpio

Live. Love. Race.

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 1:20 pm

ok that was a poor choice of words by me...

Lack of advertising and PR from the club itself... its more along the lines of what i was thinking...

spoljar Libra

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 3:41 pm

Perhaps some of us don't want to dedicate an entire weekend to footy and like to use some of it towards family time.

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 4:13 pm

Live over an Hour a way and it's normally a Day after an AFL Game and I would like a Days Rest but I do Barrack for them by Following on the Net and Listening to the Radio. I watch on TV.

I still plain to come to some game during the year still Smile

Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 5:07 pm

The VFL lost me when they took our curtain raisers away. I was all excited about watching going to the 'G' to watch a double header, only for them to tear that away (and I cannot bring myself to set foot inside price-fixer oval).

And to rub salt in the wound, they later transferred some of the Geelong VFL games from Skilled to the MCG so we know that concern over the playing surface was not the reason.

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 8:10 pm

Seniors are playing shit which takes some of the enthusiaum away for some supporters, down at Willy the crowds were always bigger after the Pies had a win the day before

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:21 pm

Take away the family and friends of the players less than 1% of the club's membership attends these games. I don't think playing at Victoria Park would help either.

500 paying spectators paying $10 a ticket will bring in the grand sum of $5000 in gate receipts. That doesn't even cover Anthony Rocca's wage for the week.

GO RUPERT 10 

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:39 pm

one reason why

the venue,i refuse to go to that dog of a ground,

u remember the old days of playing the ressies at vic park joffa?you ,jlc,myself,chris robbo
those were great times when we would have such a great time,crack jokes,hang it on a opposition player,and kick the footy at half time

vic park was our spiritual home not this stinking hole of a ground

those days were just magic,ive never laughed so hard ever when we hung it on players like jamie shanahan,james cook and other AFL has beens
Magpie_Dan Taurus

The KING And I

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 1:33 pm

We done all that mate and more! We hung it on all the nuffies that were down from G-Town with the Blue Bus!!! LOL!!!
PAUL MEDHURST'S #1 FAN
NATHAN BUCKLEY- 280 Games 284 Goals
Bucks You Are THE KING

AT COLLINGWOOD, YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Should be plenty of interest this week as the game is on ABC-TV.

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 3:34 pm

...and there's no AFL, either.