Round 20 vs Port

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> SA Magpies Supporters Group

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:34 pm
Post subject: Round 20 vs PortReply with quote

have you guys got anything lined up for this game? sounds like there will be a few of us from vic dropping in.
SA Magpies 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:10 am

Hi Jock,

We wanted to hold a function this year, but a few things worked against us.
- It's a Friday night game and most SA Magpies will be working that day and going to the game directly from work.
- Also, there are no funcion venues available near the ground so arranging a function would require us to arrange transport as well in the limited time available, so logisitcally there were problems.
- Then there is the way the Supporter Groups and CFC have functioned this year. We fell into line and followed CFC's instructions for our SG this year, but unfortunately it has been difficult to co-ordinate much with CFC as communication has been very limited. eg, it's R15 and I'm still waitiing to see a list of who our members are. I did ask if there would be anyone availabe for a Breakfast Function on the Saturday morning, but did not get any feedback, so it won't happen. They have changed personnel again but I haven't been contacted by the new guy. Jess Shearing from Marketing has been great though.

However, there will be a heap of us attending the game and I expect we'll kick on for a few beers afterwards at the 5th Quarter (on the other side of the shopping centre) to celebrate a victory.

Regarding the CFC and Supporter Groups, I think this year is a write-off and hopefully we'll regroup at the end of the season, improve the understanding and communication and tackle 2009 cohesively.

Our pub is the Brecknock Hotel, which is an Irish pub at the South end of the city on the corner of Gilbert St and King William Road. The City-Glenelg tram runs by the front door and is free between North and South Terrace. They have various types of bands most nights, a good range of beers and wines and quality and value meals on the bar and restaurant menus. Drop in if you get the chance.

Go 'Pies

Marty
SA Magpies

Website "http://samagpies.magpies.net/".
The Collingwood Turtle Libra

Side by Side, through good times & bad

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:57 pm

I'll be coming over for this game Marty.

I'd like to meet up with the crew over there.

Disappointing to read about your problems with the club this year. Crikey when will they get it right. These issues need to be tabled at the AGM this year. If you want a conduit, I am more than happy to assist.

TCT (aka David)
fan4collingwood Aries

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:53 am

I am all for a Lunchtime gathering in Rundle Mall on the Friday for those that are in Adelaide at that time!

How about by the balls at midday?

SA Magpies 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:15 am

Good Work Kaylene!

I'll get there if I can.

Marty

j@. Aries

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 12:51 am

I'll be coming with the two kids, when booking seats which area should we ask for to be close to Pie supporters?
SA Magpies 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:54 pm

Hi J@,

We've asked CFC SAM Members to be seated together but we don't yet know what section we'll be in. We're waiting for our tickets to be sent to us.

If I had to guess, I'd pick the ground layer in the SE Pocket of the ground.

If you contact the Club, they may be able to tell you where we will be. I'll ask them too.

Good Luck. I hope to see you there!

Marty
SA Magpies

j@. Aries

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:12 am

Thanks for that I will call tomrrow and yeah, maybe we can catch up there.
Cangaru Cancer

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:15 pm

fan4collingwood wrote:
I am all for a Lunchtime gathering in Rundle Mall on the Friday for those that are in Adelaide at that time!

How about by the balls at midday?

Hello I'll be in Adelaide at 0950 Friday morning as the only flight available was 0900 from here on virgin. Leaving 1930 Saturday as nothing earlier. So need to know where to go and what to till the games on and after of course also were we all general stay and meet may go to the Casino if anyone interested after game also.
Canga

fan4collingwood Aries

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:48 am

Cangaru, if you send a pm to fence-banger, she will be able to tell you where the cheersquad are staying. I know a few stay at a backpackers called the Blue Galah which is very central to our town.
http://www.bluegalah.com.au/

We have public transport fromthe airport, about $4 for the ticket.

I will be at the malls Balls in Rundle Mall at midday, as will be some of the Cheer Squad, looking to take the rest of the day off I reckon! Hope to meet you and say G'day!!

Cangaru Cancer

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 1:30 pm

fan4collingwood wrote:
Cangaru, if you send a pm to fence-banger, she will be able to tell you where the cheersquad are staying. I know a few stay at a backpackers called the Blue Galah which is very central to our town.
http://www.bluegalah.com.au/

We have public transport fromthe airport, about $4 for the ticket.

I will be at the malls Balls in Rundle Mall at midday, as will be some of the Cheer Squad, looking to take the rest of the day off I reckon! Hope to meet you and say G'day!!

OK will book in there for sure and will be in the mall at around 1200 ok. Thanks fanforpies!!!
Cya
Canga
Ok booked there if anyone else is going to be there I am will be there like 1100 and leave at 1700 next day Saturday.
Canga

j@. Aries

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:48 pm

I was told today that section 140 at AAMI is the go, can anyone confirm?
Cangaru Cancer

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:51 pm

j@. wrote:
I was told today that section 140 at AAMI is the go, can anyone confirm?

No idea will tell when I pick up my ticket from the club this week.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:00 pm

despite the turmoil of recent days and weeks i'm looking forward to getting over there and meeting a few sa pies fans. see you at the shiny things in the mall.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:43 pm

see yaz over there.

staying in some hotel in the rundle mall. should be intresting stay over there for 4 nites
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> SA Magpies Supporters Group All times are GMT + 11 Hours