Well Done Tyler Fishlock

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:23 pm
Post subject: Well Done Tyler FishlockReply with quote

5 year old blind Tyler starts school this week, His parants have elected to send him to a mainstream school. What a magnificent story. Good on you Tyler hope it all goes well mate!

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:44 pm

Who's Tyler Fishlock Joffa?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:06 pm

A kid who lost both eyes to cancer when he was about 3.

Seems like an energetic active little kid who's not sitting around feeling sorry for himself. Good on him. I hope the publicity he gets rubs off on all the other kids with sight impairment who go unnoticed.

Just with the normal school thing, how will that work? I understand that he needs to learn how to get by in normal society without vision and that socialising with sighted people in a normal environment is a big part of that, but wouldn't he need a full time integration aide?

I meean, Prep is one thing when they spend half their time playing wioth plasticine and listening to story's but as he progresses, isn't he going to need to learn how to read braille or something so he can keep up in class?

I know I'm displaying my ignorance of the topic, I'm a very visual person and can't comprehend how people get by without vision, I have the utmost admiration for them.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:45 pm

my god, i can't believe he's grown up so quickly. Surely he's not 5 years old already!

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:52 pm

Seems like an energetic active little kid who's not sitting around feeling sorry for himself. Good on him. I hope the publicity he gets rubs off on all the other kids with sight impairment who go unnoticed.

Just with the normal school thing, how will that work? I understand that he needs to learn how to get by in normal society without vision and that socialising with sighted people in a normal environment is a big part of that, but wouldn't he need a full time integration aide?

I meean, Prep is one thing when they spend half their time playing wioth plasticine and listening to story's but as he progresses, isn't he going to need to learn how to read braille or something so he can keep up in class?

I know I'm displaying my ignorance of the topic, I'm a very visual person and can't comprehend how people get by without vision, I have the utmost admiration for them.

That Kid, Good Luck at Normal School because you will need it, because kids will take advantage of him

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:13 pm

That Kid, Good Luck at Normal School because you will need it, because kids will take advantage of him

No they wont kids at that age show and display a lot of care towards each other they are a pleasure to watch. Good on his parants for giving Tyler the chance to have a crack at a normal lifestyle. It was hard not to shed a tear at how excited and positive young Tyler was, a ripper of a story.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:27 am

Warmed my heart to see the little tiger on the news last night. Little bravehearts like him help you to stop sooking over your own minor issues.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:19 pm

In prep, his peers will be pretty good but there will always be a minority of assholes, even of primary school age, who'll find an excuse to have a dig at him.