Collingwoods Top 10 Players ???

lones 

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 6:52 am
Post subject: Collingwoods Top 10 Players ???Reply with quote

I was interested in finding out everyones opinion on who the PIES top 10 players are ???
It was a really tough choice coz they R all heaps good, but I reckon....
BUCKS
BURNSY
TAZZA
NICKY DAVIS
MCGOUGH
TARKS
NEON LEON
CLOKEY
LONES
PEBBLES
As I said..very tough choice

OHHHHHH the Ryan Lonie OHHHHHH the Ryan Lonie OHHHHHH the Ryan Lonie and thats what its all about

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 7:12 am

1. Stunning Steve McKee!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2. Andrew Dimmatina
3. Ben Kinnear
4. Glen Freeborn
5. Mark Richardson
6. Ben "Druggie" Johnnson
7. Ruuuupert Betheras
8. Heath Scotland
9. Simon Prestigiacomo
10. Shane Wakelin

oops, didn't you say "most maligned"? sorry I'm confused, will try again later

"..we flew at them as a hawk to his prey, passed through them in the disordered state in which they were, separated them into two distinct parts and then tacked upon their largest division.." -- Captain Cuthbert Collingwood, 1797

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 7:17 am

based on current performance:

1. Scott Burns
2. Nathan Buckley
3. Tarkyn Lockyer
4. Anthony Rocca
5. Paul Licuria
6. Josh Fraser
7. Chris Tarrant
8. James Clement
9. Jason Cloke
10. Nick Davis

"..we flew at them as a hawk to his prey, passed through them in the disordered state in which they were, separated them into two distinct parts and then tacked upon their largest division.." -- Captain Cuthbert Collingwood, 1797

[This message has been edited by junkboy75 (edited 09 May 2002).]

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 7:49 am

Are you saying CURRENT players or players over all,because if you are saying players overall and from bygone years,there would be Ray Gabbelick,Peter McKenna,Len Thompson,Bob Rose,Rene Kink,Peter Daicos etc.etc.etc,and you couyld then include Bucks.

PeterWH
PIES FOR PREMIERS 2002
bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 7:57 am

At the moment I would say

1. Buck's
2. Licca
3. Pebbles
4 Tarks.
5 Monty.
6 N.Davis
7 Clement.
8 Cloke.
9 Tarrant
10. Fraser

If your not bleeding Black and White, you don't truly support Collingwood!!!!!
Kristin5 Taurus

Fiery Redhead

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 8:04 am

1. Nath!
2. Nick Davis
3. Scott Burns
4. Chris Tarrant
5. Anthony Rocca
6. Josh Fraser
7. Paul Licuria
8. Jason Cloke
9. Tarkyn Lockyer
10. James Clement

"I'm sure people see me as a screaming redhead with a big pair of boobs, but I like to think I've got things to say." Geri Halliwell, former member of the Spice Girls

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 11:13 am

Ok here is my Top 10

1. Nathan Buckley (All class and a great leader through example)

2. SSB Scott Burns Monty Another Burns Victim - The unsung hero and a real inspiration to the team and gels the backline together. One of the most courageous players going around and has a real team ethic. Ok i better move on now.

3. Shane Obree. The beard merely adds to his brownlow polling potential. Shane Obree is the engine room of the midfield and when he warms up opposition teams better look out.

4. Anthony Rocca. May get criticised for huffing and puffing but what people forget is that he can blow your house down. A great mark and his consistnecy is improving and has been rock solid while Cummings Tarrant and Molloy have almost missed through injury.

5. Josh Fraser. Has had a few niggling injuries but still is a class player with the football world in front of him. Has a good head on his shoulders and is going along nicely.

6. Nick Davis. All class and is getting better after a slowish start to the season. Very versatile and adds a touch of class to the team.

7. Chris Tarrant. Great kick and quick off the mark perhaps could be a bit better in marking but still a fantastic player who hopefully will reach his full potential.

8. Tarkyn Lockyer. A very quiet achiever who is a superb kick and is so courageous and really does the team things.

9. Jarrod Molloy. The real tough man of the team. Very intimidating to opposition teams and holds the ball in our forward line and is also very team orientated.

10. Paul Licuria. Sometimes i love him and sometimes i get mad....lol But overall he is a tough nut and a ball magnet and is a great handballer. Still a vital member of the team.

thank you for your time

I am the game, you don't wanna play me
I am control, no way you can change me
I am have heavy debts, no way you can pay me
I am the pain, and I know you can't take me

Look over your shoulder, ready to run
Like a good little bitch, from a smoking gun
I am the game, and I make the rules
So move on out, and you can die like a fool
Play the game, you're gonna be the same
You're gonna change your name, you're gonna die in flames
Hahahahaha
Time to play the game!

[This message has been edited by JLC (edited 09 May 2002).]

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 11:44 am

in terms of importance for our club(as i see it), not just pure skill level.
1. Bucks
2. Burns
3. Rocca
4. Fraser
5. Clement
6. Licuria
7. Presti
8. Neon
9. Molloy
10.Tarks

plenty of others(nicky d, tazza, obree etc etc went close)

jabso#5 

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 1:53 pm

1. Nathan Buckley - because he is Buckley
2. Scott Burns - couragous player...never beaten
3. Christopher Tarrant - great forward player who makes it look easy
4. Jarrod Molloy - the best crash and bash player going around also can run up field
5. Nicholous Davis - puts some class in our team and run
6. James Clement - i love this player! he can spot a player 60 metres to the left of him almost with only peripheral vision and hit him on the chest. Along with burnsy really blocks out those smaller forwards but can also take on bigger forwards
7. Tarkyn Lockyer - Part of the midfield engine and run from backline
8. Shane O'Bree - vital cog in the midfield engine
9. Anthony Rocca - Most underated player in the leauge.... basiclly becuase people say hes overated...if you know what I mean, but he really dominates in the ruck in his day and provides a great option up forward
10 (tie). Paul Licuria - Along with lockyer provides run from backline and usually plays a tagging role in the midfield while picking up a lazy 30 possies. He does not have much confidence in his kicking. I should really knock him up higher.
10 (tie) Joshua Fraser - I'd love to knock him up further, but really his form is down a fair but. But he still provides a valuable effort in a game, even when he isn't performing that well.

Anyways, this was done in a bit of a rush so most of the players are not in the right order.

Collingwood:
Loyalty
Commitment
Tradition
Passion
Strength
FOREVER

[This message has been edited by jabso#5 (edited 09 May 2002).]
Hiya-and-Higher 

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2002 6:11 pm

1992. 10 years ago, the top 10 were:

Mick McGuane
Gary Pert
Scott Russell
Damien Monkhurst
Michael Gayfer
Alan Richardson
Peter Daicos
Gavin Brown
Graham Wright
Tony Shaw

A pretty fine crew of long term champs.
Considering how fresh our 2002 team is, I can see them becoming the cement of our dynasty.

*Very* Rough matchups - just to see how the names grab you.

Bucks ~ Gavin Brown
Obree ~ McGuane
Wakelin ~ Pert
Licuria ~ Russell
Fraser ~ Monkhurst
Leon Davis ~ Daicos
Clement ~ Gayfer
Lockyer ~ Richardson
Nick Davis ~ Wright
Molly ~ Craig Kelly
Tarrant ~ Stracevich
Ant Rocca ~ Sav Rocca
Burns ~ Crosisca
Didak ~ Shaw
Cloke ~ Shane Morwood
McGough ~ Tony Francis
McKee ~ Manson
Loney ~ Williams

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2002 7:33 am

nice analogy hiya. youve paired them up well. was actually having a conversation with my old man over the phone last week and he was saying mcgough reminded him of tony francis so youre spot on. seeing the names of gayfer, pert, monkey, morwood...ahh, it brings back sweet memories. clement has always reminded my of denis banks actually. anyway, lets hope this current crop of kids can produce what those famous names did.

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2002 8:16 am

I don't rate players. I've said it before and I say it again. While I know some are better than others, I don't find a need to put some above others. It's a team game, it's how the team works together.

@shLicuria 

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2002 4:00 pm

1. Paulie
1. Paulie
1. Paulie
1. Paulie
1. Paulie
1. Paulie
1. Paulie
2. Nicki D
3. Tarky
4. Dids
5. Mark McG
6. Benny K
7. Roids (Benny Johno)
8. Clokey
9. Scottie Burns
10. Macca

if i could go on..
11. Rupert Betheras
12. Carl Steino
13. Jimmy Clement
14. Pebs
15. Freebs
16. Presti
17. Heathy Scotto
18. Ry Lones
19. Leon
20. Fraser

etc etc etc
wanna spot the main difference between mine and others? lol lets see if ne1 can spot it
Luv me who luvs paul.

RODE + #45 4 EVA!
#21 4 EVA GO BRENT!
always legends,will stay legends
wait for tuckey and nicki stone
to kick our butts:
COLL VS WEST COAST/COLL VS HAWTHORN

[This message has been edited by @shLicuria (edited 10 May 2002).]
paulie 

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2002 5:00 pm

Gee thanks I'M so embarassed.Thank you @shlicuria.

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 7:29 am

After I go thru my AFL/VFL book I shall give you a LIST of the 10 greatest (who I think any way) players who put on a PIES footy jumper.Give me 24 hours (this time tomorrow) and we should have a list

PeterWH
PIES FOR PREMIERS 2002