Union refused entry to fatal mine site

pies4ever Aquarius

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:00 pm
Post subject: Union refused entry to fatal mine siteReply with quote

Union refused entry to fatal mine site
January 18, 2008

MINING union leader Joe McDonald vowed that his officials will find a way to inspect safety at a West Australian mine owned by one of Australia's richest men where a worker died last week.

Mr McDonald's Construction Forestry Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU) claims it was illegally denied entry to the mine on Wednesday and has applied for an order allowing it to enter the site without notice to investigate suspected safety breaches.

Nigel Taylor, 26, of Mindarie in Perth's north, was killed while working as a contractor at Andrew Forrest's Fortescue Metals Group's Cloudbreak iron ore mine, north of Newman, on January 11.

Mr Taylor died while operating an elevated work platform during the construction of a processing plant at the mine.

His widow Lisa today issued a statement saying the loss of her husband of only two months should serve as a reminder of the importance of job safety.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23074352-5005961,00.html

Dr Pie 

Dr Pie

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:24 am

This is why the Government should repeal ALL of the Libs Workchoices legislation. No employer should have the right to stop Union Officials making safety inspections at workplaces.
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:43 am

Same happened up here yesterday I believe at Cannington mine. Police (there to escort body home) were not even allowed at body site. Strange and sad times indeed. Little info given at this stage.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:32 am

If there's safety concerns, why wouldn't someone call the WA equivilent of Worksafe? The state government safety inspectors? Surely they're a better option?
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:59 am

Further to the story above re BHP Cannington..
Australian Workers Union acting district secretary Rod Stockham said a representative had been sent to the mine, but was restricted to sitting in one area and was banned from any other access on the site.
Source: Townsville Bulletin 19/1/08
Mans name released Michael Auld. R.I.P

member34258 

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:57 pm

And here we have the perfect example of why Work(No)Choices was doomed from day one.
If the balance of power is shifted to far towards the employer he/she/the corporation WILL abuse it.
Access to the area that this corporate murder occurred should be granted to the police, the union and the states OH&S statuary body. The reason for this is simple. Education. The more that is known about how and why this occurred the more chances of it being avoided in the future and therefore somebody else will make it home to his/her family.

Vale Micheal Auld. You were just trying to make a living like the rest of us.
Dr Pie 

Dr Pie

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:43 pm

Excellent post, Member 34258.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:24 pm

member34258 wrote:
And here we have the perfect example of why Work(No)Choices was doomed from day one.
If the balance of power is shifted to far toward the employer he/she/the corporation WILL abuse it.
Access to the area that this corporate murder occurred should be granted to the police, the union and the states OH&S statuary body. The reason for this is simple. Education. The more that is known about how and why this occurred the more chances of it being avoided in the future and therefore somebody else will make it home to his/her family.

Vale Micheal Auld. You were just trying to make a living like the rest of us.

I completely agree about balance being required, I'd just prefer the balance to be provided for in the legislation. The statutory OH&S bodies you referred to exist and have done for some time. If there were issues with safety on the site, that is the body that should have been contacted either by the staff members or the union if they received complaints.

The union state that they received a large number of complaints from members about safety. If they didn't report these to the statutory body, they are as complicit in this death as the employer.

The Police will have had access to the site as would have the OH&S body, what real value would the union add?

And yes, the H&S legislation may exist because unions agitated for it, it doesn't mean they need to have a role in policing it. Leave that to people who know what they're doing.

member34258 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:13 am

So stui you don't believe that the union has a place in changing the laws and work practices for the people who pay them to do just that?
I'm not surprised you take the stand that you do. Anti-union at all levels. I am surprised that you believe a government authority can do the job, given your disapproval of the government body called Centrelink.
Bit of cake and eating it to.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:38 am

You sure you don't work in politics Member? You're very good at spinning things.

I didn't say I don't believe the unions have a role in changing laws and work practices. In fact, that exactly what I see as one of their main roles. As an important lobby group representing the views of workers.

I stand by my question and comment. Where a fatality occurs, what value to the union provide to anyone when Police and the statutory body both investigate the incident?

As far as Centrelink goes, their brief is obviously to make it as difficult as possible for anyone to access any form of benefit, and they do that exceptionally well. I'll be interested to see if that changes under Rudd.

Don't forget, in comparing centrelink to state OH&S authorities, you're comparing a federal gov department that's been controlled by the coalition to a state gov dept that's been controlled by Labour.

member34258 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:15 am

I work in the building industry and I can tell you now that most tradesmen would like to keep the local Worksafe inspectors away from their sites. Though they hate the unions, they hate the Worksafe authority and the power they wield.
In these cases they seem to work better with the unions to get resolution to change the way things are done.
Sorry to disagree with you, just using life experience as an argument.

I don't understand your "Lib vs Lab" comparison. All government departments take on a life of their own when achieving a certain size. And surely you know that it's the Public Servants who run these things. Watch Yes Minister for more detailed explanation........

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:16 pm

Building industry? You may know a friend of mine if you've had anything to do with a new estate recently built near the shep lake.

Your comments match my experience exactly, the tradies would much rather work with the union than worksafe. Some of the work practices I've seen guys do would reduce a worksafe inspector to tears.

And yes, I know that government departments take on a life of their own but they still tend to be more reflective of the ideology of the incumbant government in their approach than the reverse. My point was simply that you surely couldn't accuse a state labour government of having worksafe leigslation of practices that were too biased in favour of business over the employees safety.

member34258 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:06 pm

New estate near the Shepp Lake?
Not possible.

You may be thinking of the estate on the former Parkside Gardens site. Some of the water was kept for ornamental purposes. If this is the estate I hope your mate didn't sink in any cash as it is the biggest white elephant in town.
Cannot even sell 1 block! It backs on to DECA and the waste transfer station. As well as having the biggest slum/crime district just across the road.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:27 pm

He just told me it was near the lake, so that's as far as I go. He was the building contractor, in charge of getting them up so he didn't sink any cash into it. Just sunk a lot of cash into the local pubs/strip clubs and racetrack. Wink

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:31 pm

That remark was either too complex or too simple for me. We were talking about he or she'll reserve judgement on this part until we hear what he's done. Have you ever been to Europe?