Greek cheersquad maced

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:22 pm

FFS, if the plods are going to mace someone, they should use one of these!

Last edited by Dale61 on Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
BabyBry Cancer

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:11 pm

johncitizen wrote:
So what about the cricket supporters in bay 13 Babydry! Did they forget they are Australian too ? Think about what you write

Wasn't referring to and neither is this topic about Bay 13 and the lunacy that goes on there. It's about what happened yesterday, last year's event and a number of other sporting events that are attended by migrant australians. (which I am soon to be one myself)

But I'm not gonna run around causing drama with people who are from another nationality, that may have agrieved my former country at some point in history.

And that doesn't mean that I am not proud of my heritage.

http://sydneymagpies.magpies.net

Last edited by BabyBry on Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:28 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:19 pm

BabyBry wrote:
johncitizen wrote:
So what about the cricket supporters in bay 13 Babydry! Did they forget they are Australian too ? Think about what you write

Wasn't referring to and neither is this topic about Bay 13 and the lunacy that goes on there. It's about what happened yesterday, last year's event and a number of other sporting events that are attended by migrant australians. (which I am soon to be one myself)

But I'm not gonna run around causing drama with people who are from another nationality, that may have agrieved my former country at some point in history.

well said mate.

my fathers side emigrated from Macedonia, they never went around waving the flag and confronting the Greeks or whatever, they had some dignity - unlike the rubbish you see at some of the local soccer matches

One flag - One people!

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:27 pm

The majority of the tools who run around championing their ethnicity over others aren't even migrants, they're the children of migrants.

The ones who migrate here try to leave that crap behind and get on with things. The next generation (who in most cases have never even been "home") carry on with feuds they don't even understand.

Can't even deport the farkers. Wink

KYPREO Virgo

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:18 pm

BabyBry wrote:

..except that never happened yesterday.

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2008/01/15/1200159455316.html

The police say sections of the crowd were shouting offensive chants. The chants were apparently directed at Gonzalez, in Greek, which he couldn't have understood and the Chilean player said he had no problem with the crowd. Nothing about racial taunts, or taunts directed at other supporters. All that bit you inferred yourself. The only difference between yesterday and what happens in bay 13 is the bit you made up in your head, and that says a lot more about you and your prejudices than it does about the Greek fans.

The guy the police confronted wouldn't do what he was told, gave the police attitude, his mates stuck up for him, and the officer sprayed him (and 30 people around him), then ran off like a coward.

Even neutral bystanders back this version of events (eg refer Glenn in the article above).

If that happened every time someone at the footy called the umpire a wanker, well you'd want to bring a gas mask to the footy as joffa suggested.

Watch the video on youtube and what you'll see is far from a riot.

EDIT...also can everybody remind me which conflict between Greeks and Chileans was brought to this country?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:50 pm

Proud Pies wrote:
Watching the Australian Open the other day... I pretty much always support the Australian player, but the idiots in the stands were making that a little difficult on this occasion.

Why do our fans have to be such morons at times?

they weren't 'our' fans, they were fans of the Greek player and even if they were 5th generation australian, they took their greek heritage as their main nationality.

The guy who was playing was Paul Capdeville, not Greek but Chilean, and the chant (from memory) was referring to him as a wanker. Which seemed kind of unfair.

Added to that, there was the general 'aussie aussie aussie' stuff that just grates on the nerves after a while. God I hate this so-called patriotism which seems all the rage at the moment.

(edit: I'm not aware of the Gonzalez incident, which seems unrelated... these guys were most certainly part of the green and gold brigade)

Last edited by David on Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:56 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:52 pm

I did not even know that our fans have to be such morons at times do.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:03 pm

Police attempts to spray the crowd with capsicum were futile as the Greeks fired back with garlic and onion spray.
sherrife Scorpio

Victorian Socialists - people before profit

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:09 pm

More disgusting overreactions from the policeforce.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:16 pm

Idiots want to ignore the police then they get what they deserve

But when idiots complain about the use of capsicum spray then we better hope they dont whinge if a real riot breaks out and threatens them and their family and the police do nothing because they have been barred from touching anyone in case it brings more whingeing Rolling Eyes
OEP Pisces

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:30 am

Dale61 wrote:
FFS, if the plods are going to mace someone, they should use one of these!

Oh yeah, I'll take the third one Very Happy Very Happy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:36 am

Should have put a bullet in one of the *uckers then no one else would have complained about some spray in their eyes.
spoljar Libra

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:58 am

sherrife wrote:
More disgusting overreactions from the policeforce.

Sherrife, you must have a Christine Nixon Voodoo Doll that you carry around in your pocket. Laughing

You seem to have a real issue with the policeforce.
pica 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:38 am

spoljar wrote:
Sherrife, you must have a Christine Nixon Voodoo Doll that you carry around in your pocket. Laughing

Geez, it would want to be a very large pocket! Wink

spoljar Libra

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:47 am

pica wrote:
spoljar wrote:

Geez, it would want to be a very large pocket! Wink

You shouldn't make light of it Mate. She worked very hard to beat Anorexia! Wink
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 3 of 9