Speed Kills - Please slow down

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:53 pm
Post subject: Speed Kills - Please slow downReply with quote

Four teenagers dead in one car crash. No accident, they were drag racing and that crash now affects four families on Christmas. If you see some morons out of control, call the police. It may be a member of your family you save.

I had a goose pass me yesterday in his Skyline, no plates in and out of traffic and looking for an a crash to happen with him in it. I called 000 and he was pulled up further down the freeway. As a community we can all say enough is enough and to call 000 is free.

I have used the term "crash" as these are not accidents.

We can all be young and stupid, here is an example when one person screws up and he takes others with him.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22897034-661,00.html
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:18 pm

i lost 5 mates, 2 of them very close in an accident mid 80's. hotted up GTS, dirt road in the country, pulled out to pass a car in the dust, straight into an oncomming wheat truck. 5 dead on impact.

speed, dirt roads, car full of teens don't mix.

the thing is, these kids can't/won't be told. they're invincible.

i just hope theses ones were killed on impact as i'd hate to have had them suffer that sort of death. any death tragic, but this would be hell!

fan4collingwood Aries

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:23 pm

So very very young, and extrememly sad for all their family and friends.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:06 pm

I grew up in the country and I can think off the top of my head of 3 kids I knew personally who died in car accidents and another who spent 6 months in traction (sort of) for fractured vertebra.

I'll confess to doing some reasonably silly things when I was young as well, but it seems to be getting worse. Hopefully I've educated my Son enough so that when he gets his P's in January, he won't be a d1ckhead.

Fortunately, he's a very good driver ( I stated teaching him in a manual ute when he was 12). I just hope he doesn't get over confident.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:46 pm

They driver shouldn't been such a Smart Ass and Show Off.

Now He and His Mates are dead

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:02 pm

An old commodore, what a suprise, alot of crazy drivers love them

When thinking of all the stupid, dangerous things you see on the road, old commodores are quite common, probably 2nd worst offenders on the road

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:10 pm

So we blame the car eddie? Unsafe they may be, they don't drive into trees on their own

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:18 pm

from reading the news article there appears to be one fella who knows the truth. i wonder if he will tell the truth when asked? whatever happens he will be burdened with the incident for the rest of his life.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:29 pm

frankiboy wrote:
So we blame the car eddie? Unsafe they may be, they don't drive into trees on their own

No not the safety of the car, just saying they seem to attract the hooligans

Thats what I was saying, alot of the stupid things you see on the road are from people who drive old commodores, they seem very popular with the younger people who drive like maniacs, not quite as bad as motorcyclists but the car can obviously do more damage to others
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:29 pm

I'll confess to doing some reasonably silly things when I was young

i did too, but one thing with me, speed was never involved. did hand brakeys, doughnuts and all that shyte you do out in country paddocks and the like, but never hooned on the roads at speed. i looked up to my brother who was very sensible in the car, it rubbed off!

my first b/f was an idiot in the car, i hated getting in with him. it scared me enough to know not to do the speed shyte.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:37 pm

LOL, My first car was a HQ sedan, flat out at 150kmh and took about 3 k's to grind up to that. I couldn't go fast enough to get into real trouble.

Mind you, swinging round back dirt roads and farm tracks at 2 in the morning from one country town to another while (ever so slightly Embarassed ) enebriated, to avoid the main highway and the cops was great practice for driving in Melbourne traffic. Wink

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:48 pm

Also, alot of us that did do stupid things when we were younger, didn't have these high powered cars the young drivers of today have, nor were there as many cars on the road way back when.

I remember growing up, not everybody owned a car, nowadays there are 2 or 3 cars sitting in peoples driveways & garages.

These young hoons think it's cool do so many modifications to their cars, to make them go faster, why? Is it a status symbol or something?

We own a few cars as my husband is a muscle car collector, but would never dream of doing that to his cars.

As for these car manufacturers, why are your cars made to go so fast? Why can't the speedo stop at 110 for example? My Suzuki has 200kms on the speedo, why? Who in their right mind would push a car to that speed?

Most cars are made for families, not for doing 160 in a 60 zone!

Terrible, just terrible waste of young lives.

member34258 

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:55 pm

I had an EH as my first car. A bloody ripper of a car, but down on power and heavy as, due to being 99.9% steel.
My SRi Barina has more power than the EH and is half the weight.
Huge difference in perfoemance between the 2. Such is the modern car.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:38 pm

From what I understand, don't they have the technology now to make cars that cannot go faster than the posted speed limit?

If so, perhaps they should make such cars compulsory for P-Platers.

What I can't understand is the desire for faster cars, when you should never really have any reason to go faster than 120 km/h unless you're a professional racer.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:48 pm

We don't have complete free will, Tess. I can't break laws without expecting to face consequences.

Why should speeding be any different? There are laws against speeding, and there is no place I have ever driven in Australia where going 130 km/h isn't breaking the law. Why then should the option be there to go at that speed?