Places to live in Victoria

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:00 pm
Post subject: Places to live in VictoriaReply with quote

We've been told that the house we are living in will be renovated so we need to find a new place to live. At the moment there are not very many places in our price range here in Tassie, unless we wanted to live in Queenstown...so I got the idea that we should sell up and move to Melbourne...

I was wondering what areas (cheap..) are good to live? I've found a few cheap places one was in Frankston North, Geelong, Ballarat, Elmore(where the heck is that?!) what we are looking for is a 4 bedroom place maximum of $200 a week for now....and just looking to get back into Melbourne.

I thought since I have no idea about the suburbs of Melbourne I would post and see if people knew of some good areas that were cheap.

Cheers.

Edit: Maybe that'd be better then Melbourne? Embarassed

Last edited by The Prototype on Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:07 pm

Elmore is up near Echuca Proto, couple of hours away, it's in the country on the midland highway. Sort of between Echuca and Bendigo. Unless you want to live in the country, then Elmore isn't the go. Ballarat is a great place, was born there myself. Cold in winter, but I like that, so was ok for me.

Don't know anything much about living in Frankston, only what you read in the press, but i am sure there are lovely areas of Franga. Geelong, similar to Ballarat, as in, it's about an hour away from Melbourne, but a big city.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:12 pm

Ooooh okay I'll strike Elmore from my list of possibilities I thought it may have been in the country though for my parents it might not be so bad for the twins and for me it wouldn't be too nice. Wink

I saw a house in Pakenham though it's too close to someone I do not wish to go near so I might stay away from there Wink So maybe Ballarat or Geelong will be it.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:16 pm

Smile What movie was it?
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:34 pm

The Prototype wrote:
Ooooh okay I'll strike Elmore from my list of possibilities I thought it may have been in the country though for my parents it might not be so bad for the twins and for me it wouldn't be too nice. Wink

I saw a house in Pakenham though it's too close to someone I do not wish to go near so I might stay away from there Wink So maybe Ballarat or Geelong will be it.

some beautiful properties out pakenham way. But I am talking big ones, where you have horses and stuff. Friend of mine has a stud out there, rolling hills, green grass...beautiful.

You could do worse than Geelong or Ballarat. Both easy to get to on train and an hour or so drive. I work with heaps of people who commute from Geelong and Ballarat each day.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:38 pm

Some of the houses I saw looked rather nice as well, better then what I am living in at the moment here in Tassie. Major problem that faces us at the moment is moving some stuff from here to there though there are some very good reasons to move to there and start new.

More job prospects being one of them there really isn't much here, and my reason for being worried about moving from Tasmania would be then gone because my family would be there as well.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:41 pm

Mate, bendido and Geelong are basically country too.

$200 per week for a 4 bedroom house? Sorry, but you are going to be seriously struggling to find anything decent in a half reasonable area.

If you want to head to the country areas, you may have more luck. There's some cheap property in Gippsland but it would be closer to Melbourne to head north toward Shepparton.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:49 pm

You can tell I have no idea about Melbourne can't you? Wink The cheapest to rent in Tassie has been Queenstown which is very country and no where near anything I mean to go shopping you are looking at a 2 hour trip to Burnie...and to even get there you have to climb Mt Aerosmith to get there which is going to take at least 4 or more hours to get to.

Then there is Somerset out near Launceston that's a bit closer to something, but I was thinking that since someone at one point said Geelong had some cheap housing that would be a place to go.

It's tough right now since we have no real money and need to move out so..I am just thinking of places where we could go.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:49 pm

i thought you already moved here *confused*

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:52 pm

Proud Pies wrote:
i thought you already moved here *confused*

I was staying with a friend who went off to Queensland for 4 days and I had no where else to go so I went home to Tasmania. A mate of mine who I've known for 8 years bailed on me and I really had no other options.

Since the person who I was staying with has a room mate I don't think she would have liked me staying there. My trip to Melbourne was suppose to be a permanent move, but I guess putting all your trust in a guy that drinks every chance he gets was a silly move.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:11 pm

Trusting people is always an issue.

If you're happy to move country, then you'll definitely get cheaper rent. Main issue is, apart from the facilities, employment opportunities.

Bendigo has call centres from memory, as does Ballarat. Both about an hour north westish.

Gippsland would be cheaper, but there's F all work.

heading north thru Seymour (an hour to 1 1/2 depending which part of Melbourne you're heading to) again, cheapish rent available but work opportunities vary.

One of the problems with cheap rent is that there's usually a reason it's cheap.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:18 pm

Gippsland almost sounds like Queenstown, when my dad was about to retire we were looking at buying a house and saw that Queenstown had houses selling very cheaply there's no work there unless you wanna work in the mines which for me that's not a thing I ever want to do.

It was strange that a person I've known since September gave me somewhere to stay, even put my plane ticket back home on her credit card and even offered me a place to stay when I go back to Melbourne...yet someone I've known for years just meh...

One reason I would really love to live in Victoria is too see Collingwood play, as much as I love my local side it'll never be like seeing a game of AFL involving Collingwood.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:16 pm

Hmmm how close to the city do you want to be?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:19 pm

It's not really a big deal about being close to the city as long as it's a cheap place to live. Wink

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:24 pm

Now that was something I didn't think of I know a mate that wants to move so if we did that he would have a place away from where he lives.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5